$467 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
297 reviews
AWESOME TRIP

We had a great time, the new years celebration was amazing, we will be back! See full review

  • Alan K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Awesome Diving Trip

The hotel was truly top notch in all respects. All inclusives can have a bad rap for low quality... See full review

  • Carmen
  • Feb 3, 2015
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersonixelectronix
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jun 14, 2009

Very good but not great

Very good resort, but not great. Overall, worth staying here, very clean, nice beach. Many more positives than negatives, but the negatives are worth mentioning - 1. Ants: we had ants in our room in the bathroom. We'd wake up in the morning and find ants in the sink. If you'd leave a drink or something in the bathroom, there'd be a hundred ants when you came back. This is a hotel-wide problem because cleaning staff had "Raid" on their cleaning carts. 2. Old-people resort: like I said, we had a good time, but this resort is very oriented toward older people based on the times services are offered - pool is open 7am to 8pm (what kind of person on holidays would get up at 6am to be at the pool at 7am?). At about 5pm, there's hardly anyone at the beach and 8pm the pool is closed. Breakfast in the main restaurant (the good breakfast) is over at 10am!!! So you better wake up at the crack of dawn if you want to have breakfast. Entertainment is done at 10:30pm. Again, I got nothing against people who go to bed at 10:30pm, but then there should be something else for other people to do other than sleeping. The buffet restaurant is closed at 10pm, so if you go into town and come back later in the evening, you're likely not to have dinner. This is disappointing as several all inclusives have 24-hr buffets. Here, they have so-called "24hr room service" which is horrible (food is really bad and limited). So, again, if you're old and wake up at 6 and are dead exhausted by 8pm, you'll have a good time, eat good food, etc. But if you're like most people under 40, you'll find yourself missing everything. 4. TV service - as this is an old person resort, and "entertainment" is done at 10:30pm (usually an amateurish-type stage show) the only thing left is to go to your room and watch TV. Since this is a nice hotel, you'll find a Sony Bravia flat panel TV, but they don't get digital service, so picture quality is awful (!) and the sound quality even worse. Some channels have this buzzing sound which is louder than the channel volume so you can't watch at all. It's too bad because there are a few movie channels and they were playing decent movies, but because picture and sound quality are so poor, it's virtually impossible to watch. So you find yourself in this 5 star resort watching "antenna-quality" TV on a flat panel Sony TV. Really stupid. 5. Shower - this was the worst part of our vacation. One of the advertising points the resort uses are their "jets in the tub" but the water pressure is so weak, it will take you forever to fill the tub! When you shower, it's like a drizzle coming out. As well (and this drove me crazy), the water goes between hot and cold all the time. If you put it to hot, it'll stay hot for about 10 seconds, then go to lukewarm, then cold, then hot again. I complained twice about it and they sent somebody, but nothing was fixed. 6. Sports Bar - this resort is very nice looking, with the exception of this so-called 24-hr sports bar. This is a dingy little room in a corner with low ceiling that stank awfully. The so-called snacks they offer are horrible, and consist of some kind of a leftover sandwich in the fridge, little boxes of pre-cut reused fruit (leftover from the buffet) and 7-Eleven type nachos with the plastic liquid "cheese" you pump out. It totally brings down the sophistication of the rest of the hotel. 7. Smell - this hotel has a smell about it. I think it's because they have two pubs in the lobby where they serve alcohol, so combined with the smell of booze and mustiness (the whole region is very humid), it spreads through the whole lobby. You will find the room and your sheets will smell musty, which is gross. But I dont think that's the hotel's fault, just a reality of this part of the world. 8. Service - I found that old people got such great service no matter the fact they didn't tip at all in some cases. The staff assume the older people have money and so they get great service. My girlfriend and...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chamix
Business
Medellín Colombia
Jan 9, 2011

Playa del carmen

The hotel is great. The pool and the beach front is great! The activities in the hotel aré restricted but we enjoy it a lot. If you get bored at the hotel playa del Carmen is a great party center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit Playa del Carmen Downtown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1stdiverdown
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Excellent Property, Outstanding Staff

Great stay. 2 specific observations to share and to help prepare: 1. The room phones do not have a answering service. It is difficult to communicate with other guests on property. 2. Housekeeping is inconsistent. Difficult to get extra towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Diner reservation process is tedious. Long lines for reservation. Arrive early. Restaurant Rank: Krystal (fusion), Japanese, Buffet, Chiles (steak), Brazilian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMHM
Business
Saint John, Indiana
Dec 11, 2011

RIU

Of all the all iclusives I have stayed in the food at this one was the best. Wish they had a little better control of the lttle bugs. I know it is impossible to keep all out of rooms but my husband got bit one night while sleeping and my son"s room had a bug each night they had to kill. Entertainment was also very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ulisa
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Family reunion.

Riu Palace is a good place to stay only if I would not see roaches, every night I found roaches in the bathroom, the bathtub was to high to get in and out, I found it dangerous for short people like me, I think they need to up grade it. In the room the Iron, iron boar and the remote control for the TV were missing, there is a lot of noise at midnight in the hallway, we were feeling bad about people smoking everywhere, they should apply some restrictions about smoking. The service was good, the employees at the front desk were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was very good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the United States. As a true 3 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 4 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estaban
Business
Ft. Lauderdale FL
Dec 27, 2011

great!!!

It was a little slow at the airport for the transportation. At the hotel we were met by a man named WILSON at The RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa de Carmen. He helped us with all of our transportation needs. Once he was involved our transportation was never late and gave us exceptional service!!!!! He was never late and kept his appointments!!!! When I return I want WILSON!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to the ruins Chiza Niza and do all shopping there!!! It is a long drive but you will learn educational history and the prices are great along with the selections!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjm416
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Great location to downtown

Good value for all-inclusive. Very beautiful grounds. Lots of families and kids everywhere, so good if you have kids not good if you want adults only. Food was good. Ate at mexican twice and japenese which were excellent. The steakhouse can be passed, was not so impressive. Ate breakfast and lunch buffet every day. Really good location to downtown, about a 15 min safe walk. Rooms were clean. Pools were nice. Always had chairs at the beach (didn;t have to save with towels.) Walls were thin so you can hear everything in your room (mostly in morning). CAn only get wifi in lobby and lobby bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorip
Business
Iowa
Jan 25, 2012

Great location, beach, staff!

Very nice resort, but there are others out there too. Pros: BEACH! Beautiful sand and ocean. Room & grounds very clean. Staff was super friendly. Food was very good everywhere we went. Location nice since you can walk to Playa del Carmen or get a taxi for $7 USD. Cons: Reservations at restaurants for dinner---had to waste beach time to wait in line to make reservations for the evenings, which was a real pain. They did not honor our room location request. In fact, we requested as close to the ocean as possible but our room was almost as far from the ocean as possible. We stayed right by the buffet restaurant and it was very loud until about 11:30 every night from the entertainment. Drink service was non-existent on the beach, which was unusual compared to other resorts we've stayed at. Overall, a very nice resort. Would maybe stay here again but there are other places that don't require dinner reservations and do provide great drink service on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly 77
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great hotel for a quiet vacation

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the amenities are great. The rooms are clean, the grounds and restaurants are immaculate, I can't say enough good things about them. The only place it falls down is in the evening entertainment. There are evening kids and adult shows but they are not very exciting and it finishes the day on kind of a quiet, almost boring note. Great for a quiet getaway but not if you are looking for lively nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top