$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Couples
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Washington, DC
Dec 1, 2009

Good place

Nice, clean hotel, great service in the restuarant and by the pool/beach. Could only eat dinner in the buffet restaurant b/c all other restaurants were booked for all 4 days we were there, which was very disapointing. The buffet was fine and had 1-2 main meals that were very good, rest of the food was fine to average. Plenty of chairs to choose from by the pool and beach, no need to stake-out a chair by 9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Canada
Nov 15, 2009

Fantastic Getaway

Great vacation, wonderful hotel and staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leeann Loves Mexico
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Nov 1, 2009

Perfect retreat for anyone

We have chosen to stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya three times now and we keep coming back because it is dependably perfect every time. We love the pool, enjoy the shows, couldn't ask for better service from the staff and feel like it is a great deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best restaurant on site is Krystal.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Birmingham, AL
Oct 29, 2009

Wonderful Stay!

Wonderful getaway for our anniversary! We stayed 6 nights and I cannot say anything negative about the hotel. We made reservations at 4 of the restaurants and Krystal was my favorite! Definitely worth making the reservation! We also took the Mayan adventure snorkeling tour and swam around sea turtles and through a cenote. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked about 20 minutes (cabs only $5) from the hotel to 5th Avenue. There's a lot of shops, clubs, and restaurants there. We ate at Los Rancheros and split the Mexican Platter. It came with chips, salsa, beans, kabobs, sausage, ribs, fajitas, and quesadillas. Well worth $50 USD!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
CT
Oct 22, 2009

A piece of heaven in a luxury setting

The hotel is beautifully designed and offers some of the best beach setting which I have seen in my travels. The outdoor bar by tht pool offered gorgeous view of the ocean. However, the staff were too influenced by tips and did not provide the service I had hoped for. The staff at the restauraunts, however, were excellent. Service was incredible when it came to the formal dining. My major complaint was with the room. The air conditioner functioned poorly, plumbing did not always work properly, and lights would shut off periodically. Overall, I would come back again if the price is right. It is not a five star hotel but come pretty close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
people lover
Couples
Detroit, Michigan
Oct 20, 2009

DREAM VACATION 009

The staff met your every need.Grounds well kept. The only bad experience was that one night a man was let into our room by mistake. I was so scared. I got my husband, and we called security. It took two phone calls. The man was drunk, and very very rude. Called my husband names, and wouldn't leave. We got him to leave just before security arrived.I insisted the bed be changed. It was just, thank God, a man let in by the maid, in the wrong room. Not a thief. Overall the trip was beautiful, restful, and we truly enjoyed the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

BRING LONG PANTS AND A DRESS SHIRT. For dinner, which I loved, the men needed to look business casual. No problem for the women, we always dress up.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Newton, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic getaway for the price

Great restaurants, excellent food, plenty of bars, great nightly entertainment, and the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the specialty restaurants, they are a must.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The A Team
Family
Northern VA
Oct 18, 2009

A nice place!

Great location and very friendly staff. Pool area is nice with music and free-flowing drinks! Beach area is nice too with sun and also shaded areas to lay in. Food was good, but watch your attire. They will ask you to leave and change if you are not suitably attired. Dinner seems to be the time they are most picky about how you are dressed! Be sure to book theme restaurants right at 12 Noon each day. Each seating (2) only takes about 40-50 people so space is limited. If you go to the Lobby bar about 11:45AM you will be one of the first in line. You can only book 2 nights at a time! Rooms are nice, but hallways being all tile do make them noisy if you are trying to sleep. Also, a room facing the courtyard could be noisy as they have music and other entertainment each night in the main courtyard. The beds were a bit too firm for us...AC and ceiling fan in room was just fine to keep us cool enough. Staff was very friendly, but brush up on your Spanish to make sure you can ask questions, etc. Front desk was fluent in English. TV in room has mostly spanish speaking channels, but you do get Miami TV and the others like CNN. We also got TNT which had movies back to back. Remember there is a nice gift shop/sundries shop located underneath the main entrance. You have to go out the front doors and down the driveway (either direction) to get to this shop. It is directly underneath the front doors. They have much more than the small Lobby shop. Starbucks is nearby for those of you who can't survive without it. Travel from airport to resort is slow and painful on Gray Line. We paid $40 US to get a lift from Cancun back to the resort. The Gray Line shuttle is a little cheaper RT, but you will have to stop 3-4 times along the way to pick up and drop off others. That's a pain, as none of the resorts are near the road. Double check to make sure your "departure tax" has been included in your airline ticket. If not - $55 per person at the airport to get out of Mexico. This is a great palce to stay. Clean and well maintained. We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Texas
Oct 4, 2009

September 2009

Great service by restaurant/bar staff. Poor service by front-desk staff. Very bad security; any body has complete access to your name and room number at any time. We had a suite with nice furniture and lay-out, but no hot water because the suites are furthest from the water-heaters and often don't get enough hot water. Maintenance mentioned to us that it has been a problem since opening day for the hotel. The floors of the hotel are extremely slick. We were all having trouble staying on our feet. Can be a real hazard. It was an issue every day. Food and food related services are superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue is great for shopping and dinning.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uaprincess
Couples
Coralville, IA
Sep 30, 2009

Romantic getaway

This is the best trip I have ever taken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top