RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
281 reviews
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty... See full review

  • Shann yshoo
  • Jul 30, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TOURKEY
Houston, TX
Sep 14, 2009

Absolutely Incredible

We relaxed. The hotel staff made sure we relaxed. the facilities were amazing. I am not a big fan of All inclusive vacations, as it usually invites an over-consuming, loud and onbonoxious crowd where you have to fight for cheap liquor and run of the mill buffets. RIU PALACE changed my perspective with a classy European crowd, top shelf liquor that actually was served to you constantly, great shows at night and many different ala carte restaurants aside from the buffet and an incredible buffet. the best service I have seen in a long time, including stays at four Seasons, Ritz and alike hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

GREAT! 9:45 PM every night and throughout the day many activities.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grants Pass, oregon
Sep 14, 2009

Wonderful vacation and family wedding!

We went there for our daughter's wedding. We had the best time. This was our first real vacation and can't wait to do it again. Went to Chichen Itza, it was awesome. It's a long drive but well worth it. The snorkeling is great. Very inexpensive and lots of fun. We also went to Tulum, which isn't too far away. You can not go to Mexico and not visit the ruins. Our room was fabulous. It was clean, slightly musty but that's normal. The staff treated us great. Very friendly and always making sure my husband was ok, since he was recovering from foot surgery.Great entertainment every night in the courtyard.Food was great, huge selection. I didn't like everything, but who does. It's to your own taste. The sea was great, so warm to swim in. I preferred it to the pool. All in all, it was an awesome trip. I didn't want to leave. Would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Some vendors have high prices and claim jewelry is pure silver. Most of it's not. You just have to haggle with them to get the prices down. The shops just down the street had great prices.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
torreon coah Mexico
Sep 14, 2009

*****

every thing great!! the exception was that orbits charge 65 usd/per person ( being 3 people traveling in a group) when the travel by taxi from the airport to the hotel was 650 pesos (55 usd ) taking into account that orbitz is always the cheapest and the best price.. THAT IS NOT NICE AT ALL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin Texas
Sep 10, 2009

Great place for paradise

This is a great place to stay on your vacation. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and their staff is very helpful and waits on you hand and foot. I felt like royalty staying in this hotel. The location is great and right down the street from Playa del Carmen. I can't express enough about how beautiful the beaches here were. I was always able to find a lounge chair on the beach. The only bad thing I can say about this place is because all the halls are tile it can make it a little noisy. I could hear doors closing and people coming down the hall. The buffets were good. I wish they served more Mexican food and sometimes the food was a little cold, but there was always a great selection and you could tell they used a lot of care in preperation and presentation. I will definately go back to this hotel next time I visit and recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do your shopping in Playa del Carmen instead of Playacar. You will find better deals for way cheaper. It's a short ride or you can pay $5 for a cab from the hotel or you can walk 10-15 min into town

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY workaholic
New York City
Sep 8, 2009

Mellow Mexico

I laid, happily, by the pool. I sipped cocktails, and relaxed. Mission accomplished. I would have liked a few more vegetarian options, considering even the salads had bacon in them. My only gripe was the bedding. For someone who rarely gets sun on their skin, scratchy blankets don't feel good on burnt skin. Softer bedding, and softer mattresses would be a hugh benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 7, 2009

Simply Excellent

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is probably the best resort I've been too. The resort was practically spotless. Everywhere you turned, someone was cleaning something. There was so much attention to detail. The beach and pool are amazing. The food was great too. The staff is super friendly and professional. The resort is a short walk to Playa del Carmen and its in a very safe location. You can't go wrong with this resort. I highly recommend it for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Margarita Tasters
Kansas City, MO
Aug 31, 2009

Fantastic All Inclusive

This is a nice property-very clean and well-kept. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The only bad experience was with the Scuba Caribe group - the dive experience was disorganized and unpleasant. The restaurants at this property are great. The location was convenient to Playa del Carmen-just a five minute cab ride to shopping. Also a nice shopping area 5 minutes walk from the hotel in Playacar. Very few kids, nice and quiet for the most part. We would recommend to couples looking for a get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your activities ahead of time whenever possible. There are travel reps at the hotel but it is a hassle to sort through who is legitimate and who is selling time shares. We booked all through orbitz and we had one rep-good price-no hassle.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Aug 14, 2009

Great Hotel..Awesome Location

Great location..Cheap taxi ride to downtown or short walk. Beach was awesome. Service was the best. Nice rooms..Clean..Only bad thing we encountered was the food wasnt all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat downtown sometime. Great restaurants..Food on resort isnt the best

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing and the service was first class. The only complaint for us was the musty smell in the rooms; this can somewhat be expected due to the open air hallways. The pool was great and there were water sports available right on the hotel beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 3, 2009

RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Service was great. Views were beautiful. The only issue we had was them moving our room without telling us and moving all our luggage. We did not find out until we tried to go back to our room and realized nothing was there. Then in our next room the power went out the last day we were there, but the staff was quick to fix the problem once we informed them. Overall I would say it was a great trip to a great resort and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top