RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 14, 2009

The best stay and value!

The food was outstanding! Make sure you make reservations at their Japanese restaurant. The entire place is very clean. There are maids everywhere cleaning all of the time. Make sure you hit up Mr. Islas at the lobby bar for a double margarita. He's one of the best and very outgoing. This is the best place for the price. If you like scuba diving, I would recommend Cozumel. The reefs aren't as nice near this hotel. I can't speak for the other resorts though. Swimming is not safe for kids in front of this hotel. There can be a rough current. They had red flags up almost every day. Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed at. This was our second time and we are already planning our next trip. Once again, the food was freaking outstanding. Great for fresh seafood lovers like myself. Oh and even though tips are included, I recommend carrying one dollar bills and throwing them a bone once in a while. They work harder than any hotel worker in the U.S. and will do anything, within their job description, to keep you happy. But you can always tell when someone is having a bad day. They are human too. Over and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I guess Coco Bongo is the place to go in downtown Playa Del Carmen. Lots of chicas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2009

What a wonderful vacation!

I just returned from a one-week vacation at the Riu Palace in the Mayan Riviera and had a wonderful time with my long-term boyfriend. The selection of restaurants was great and the food tasted wonderful. Considering we are both very picky about quality of food, I am very surprised to say that I enjoyed everything I ate! I highly recommend getting into the Japanese restaurant; it was my boyfriends and my favorite! In addition, every single person on staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to ensure you are taken care of. My single complaint with the hotel is that there isn't any restaurant that is open 24/7. My boyfriend and I arrived at about 3:30 PM the first day absolutely ravenous and had to wait for the buffet to open at 6:30 PM to eat. It wasn't a problem for the rest of the trip, but it would have been nice to have the option. The other thing to keep in mind is that if you are planning to do any activities or excursions outside the resort, it's about an hour drive to everything. We hadn't realized this ahead of time and spent a LOT of time just in shuttles. But other than the drive times (which still ended up being worth it), we couldn't have had a better vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bring small bills! People won't give you change if you're bartering, which you ALWAYS should. Also, never pay full price. Walk away, and they will bring you back and drop it. Stay strong for what you actually want to pay, even if it seems ungodly low at first, and you'll ALWAYS get it for that price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 5, 2009

When you stay at RIU, stay at a Palace!

I have stayed at a RIU hotel on THREE occasions so far. TWO of my experiences where at the "Palace" class of hotels. I have to say if you stay at RIU the Palace is worth the extra money. We walked to the Palace - Mexico down the road. Also very nice. This one is a close walk to Playa though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just a 15-20 minute walk to downtown Playa. There are tons of shops and restaurants. If you are lazy you can get a cab for $50 pesos ($4-5 USD)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cant wait to go again
Business
Brighton MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great Time, Great Place, Great Service

Geat place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Dec 3, 2009

destination wedding shopping

I met my family at Riu Palace Riviera Maya to investigate as a possible location for my destination wedding. We ended up there during a tropical storm, but didn't let that stop us! I have never stayed at a Riu, but found it similar to other all-inclusives. The restaurants did require reservations, which were all booked by the time we arrived, so we ate at the buffet restaurant for all our meals. Personally I prefer the no-reservation format, but if you know you need to make the reservations 4 days before, starting at noon, it might work. The food in the buffet was excellent and changed each night, but it would have been fun to try some of the other restaurants. The rooms were clean, but our first night we noticed a pretty powerful chlorine or cleanser smell (not a good one) in the corridors on our first floor. We ended up requesting to move to a different floor and were upgraded to a room on the second floor that did not have an odor. We actually walked the hallways to decide where it was coming from and noticed it was pretty much limited to the first floor- maybe because it was above the restaurant? Anyway, after the move we had no other issues. We enjoyed drinks in the bar each night before dinner, with live music that was a nice touch. The restaurant waiters were also supurb with service that became more personal each day. We met with the wedding planners, who is actually at the Riu Palace Mexico and covers several Riu properties. They were quite helpful and it wasn't far between the properties. They said they don't schedule more than one wedding at a given time, so that was reassuring. We were able to tour the Riu Mexico as well, which had a less European feel, was much more Mexican feel. A little smaller property, but actually quite nice and otherwise comparable. The ceremony locations were different: Riu Mexico has a small chapel, beach, or gazebo. Riu Riviera Maya had no chapel, but a nicer beach and a very nice garden gazebo that Riu Mexico didn't have anything similar to. The only drawback for both was that in case of rain the ceremonies are held in the theater, which is not bad, but not great. I also felt there was a little less ability to personalize things then at other places. We didn't get to swim because of the rain, but the pool was amazing! We did rent a car and drive to Tulum, the location of Riu Riviera Maya was halfway between Tulum and the Airport in Cancun, so convenient. We also were able to walk around Playa del Carmen, which was a five dollar taxi ride from the hotel. Overall a great trip! I will likely have my wedding at an adults-only resort (which Riu is not), but would be quite happy to get married in the garden gazebo or on the beach at the Riu Riviera Maya, though the character of the Riu Mexico was more personal. We managed to have a fun and relaxing time despite the weather. Proximity to Playa del Carmen was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 1, 2009

Good place

Nice, clean hotel, great service in the restuarant and by the pool/beach. Could only eat dinner in the buffet restaurant b/c all other restaurants were booked for all 4 days we were there, which was very disapointing. The buffet was fine and had 1-2 main meals that were very good, rest of the food was fine to average. Plenty of chairs to choose from by the pool and beach, no need to stake-out a chair by 9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Nov 15, 2009

Fantastic Getaway

Great vacation, wonderful hotel and staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leeann Loves Mexico
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 1, 2009

Perfect retreat for anyone

We have chosen to stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya three times now and we keep coming back because it is dependably perfect every time. We love the pool, enjoy the shows, couldn't ask for better service from the staff and feel like it is a great deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best restaurant on site is Krystal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Oct 29, 2009

Wonderful Stay!

Wonderful getaway for our anniversary! We stayed 6 nights and I cannot say anything negative about the hotel. We made reservations at 4 of the restaurants and Krystal was my favorite! Definitely worth making the reservation! We also took the Mayan adventure snorkeling tour and swam around sea turtles and through a cenote. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked about 20 minutes (cabs only $5) from the hotel to 5th Avenue. There's a lot of shops, clubs, and restaurants there. We ate at Los Rancheros and split the Mexican Platter. It came with chips, salsa, beans, kabobs, sausage, ribs, fajitas, and quesadillas. Well worth $50 USD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Oct 22, 2009

A piece of heaven in a luxury setting

The hotel is beautifully designed and offers some of the best beach setting which I have seen in my travels. The outdoor bar by tht pool offered gorgeous view of the ocean. However, the staff were too influenced by tips and did not provide the service I had hoped for. The staff at the restauraunts, however, were excellent. Service was incredible when it came to the formal dining. My major complaint was with the room. The air conditioner functioned poorly, plumbing did not always work properly, and lights would shut off periodically. Overall, I would come back again if the price is right. It is not a five star hotel but come pretty close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top