$467 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
295 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrPunky
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 30, 2014

Amazing resort

I've been to numerous all-inclusive resorts through out the Caribbean and Mexico, and the Riu Palace Riviera Maya tops them all, especially for the price. The staff at this resort are FABULOUS - all of them. They are so friendly and helpful and always there. I was very impressed with the service at the pool and beach; our drinks barely reached the bottom of the glass before our server was back for another order. Servers in the buffet restaurant as well as in the ala carte restaurants were wonderful: very professional, friendly, and I loved the fact that they all had a wonderful sense of humor. I found the service through out the hotel to be exemplary. Unlike many all-inclusives, the food was excellent - even in the buffet restaurant. Many of the meals we had in the ala carte restaurants would have easily been 40 plus dollar meals at home. I love the location: perfectly situated to downtown Playa, it was a 20 minute walk or a short taxi ride and downtown could be accessed via the street or the beach. The beach... It was beautiful! Miles of white powder sand and clear, turquoise water. It was perfect! There always seemed to be plenty of lounge chairs at both the pool and on the beach. At the pool, an early arrival was necessary for prime chair locations, and one thing that was refreshing was that there were relatively few people "saving" chairs. There are no umbrellas on the beach; however, they really were not necessary because there is an expansive area shaded by palms. The pool was beautiful with a great seating area in the swim up bar area and staff are constantly working to keep the pool clean. The grounds at the resort are beautiful and very clean. Our room was very comfortable and spacious but the bathroom was looking a little worn. That's probably the only negative (for lack of a better word) that I can think of. I don't think you can go wrong with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, particularly for the price. It's an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is a vibrant place with some great restaurants. It does, however, get extremely hot downtown (we were there in July). I LOVE heat and humidity, and it was uncomfortable even for me. I would recommend that trips to that area be made in the late afternoon and early evening; it was so much more pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shann yshoo
Business
Mendon,Mass
Jul 30, 2014

Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty restraunts our favorite being the steak house. The beach is fantastic!!!!! Views are spectacular, it's alittle slice of heaven. Wishing we were still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations as soon as you get there. You can make reseveration from 12-3 everyday in the main lobby across from the lobby bar. People get there by 11:30 so get there early it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SA Joker
Business
San Antonio
Aug 1, 2014

family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the waiter staff was excellent, the beach was beautiful, the food was great, the drinks are watered down, but you can have as many as you want, there was even a refrigerator stocked with water, soda and beer plus 4 whiskey bottles, the downtown was 10 minutes away,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is great but also make restaurant reservations at the 4 other restaurants at the hotel, it is all inclusive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Des14
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 24, 2014

Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how to provide a great service. The room (junior suite) is large enough to accommodate a king bed and another (rollaway) bed. The room was cleaned 2 times a day and if/whenever we needed anything, the housekeeping person was nearby to take care of it. The pool and the beach were nearby, 1-2 minutes away. We have visited all the specialty restaurants and were quite pleased with the food, but our favorite was the main restaurant Don Manolo's. The hotel is not cheap, but is worth it. We would definitely love to come again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hook241
Business
Honesdale PA
Nov 16, 2014

Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very friendly.had a first floor room just steps away from the pool and beach. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was far better than the specialty restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie M.
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2014

Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be improved it's the room. We had a small problem with the closet door for the first couple of days but it was taken care of. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2007

My review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Riu Palace Riviera Maya was very nice, they have very friendly staff who always try that you have a very good time at your stay. The pool was awesome, the restaurants have a variety of international foods, they have shows during the evening. Everything was very nice: except that I was very dissastified with the beach, it had a lot of rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 20, 2007

Great place, great value

Had a great week at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The hotel was extremely clean, and the staff was excellent and extremely attentive. Room was a little disappointing. Very small and our balcony felt extremely confined. Very high walls. The bed was hard, but with a mattress pad it was fine. We did have to wait a while for the delivery of it however. The room was very clean though. Housekeeping was there to clean and restock the minibar everyday. Food was great for breakfast and lunch. Dinner was good, but after a while it was the same food over and over. There is only so much of that cuisine you can ingest for 6 nights. The Japanese restaurant was the best of all of them. The pool was great. I enjoyed it much more than the beach. The hurricane a few years ago really eroded the shoreline so there is not much beach area to lay out or go swimming in. Overall I would suggest this hotel. The value is excellent. The staff also makes you feel very comfortable. Good for couples, but better for groups of 4 or more. Would definitely go back, but not anytime in the next year or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersonixelectronix
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jun 14, 2009

Very good but not great

Very good resort, but not great. Overall, worth staying here, very clean, nice beach. Many more positives than negatives, but the negatives are worth mentioning - 1. Ants: we had ants in our room in the bathroom. We'd wake up in the morning and find ants in the sink. If you'd leave a drink or something in the bathroom, there'd be a hundred ants when you came back. This is a hotel-wide problem because cleaning staff had "Raid" on their cleaning carts. 2. Old-people resort: like I said, we had a good time, but this resort is very oriented toward older people based on the times services are offered - pool is open 7am to 8pm (what kind of person on holidays would get up at 6am to be at the pool at 7am?). At about 5pm, there's hardly anyone at the beach and 8pm the pool is closed. Breakfast in the main restaurant (the good breakfast) is over at 10am!!! So you better wake up at the crack of dawn if you want to have breakfast. Entertainment is done at 10:30pm. Again, I got nothing against people who go to bed at 10:30pm, but then there should be something else for other people to do other than sleeping. The buffet restaurant is closed at 10pm, so if you go into town and come back later in the evening, you're likely not to have dinner. This is disappointing as several all inclusives have 24-hr buffets. Here, they have so-called "24hr room service" which is horrible (food is really bad and limited). So, again, if you're old and wake up at 6 and are dead exhausted by 8pm, you'll have a good time, eat good food, etc. But if you're like most people under 40, you'll find yourself missing everything. 4. TV service - as this is an old person resort, and "entertainment" is done at 10:30pm (usually an amateurish-type stage show) the only thing left is to go to your room and watch TV. Since this is a nice hotel, you'll find a Sony Bravia flat panel TV, but they don't get digital service, so picture quality is awful (!) and the sound quality even worse. Some channels have this buzzing sound which is louder than the channel volume so you can't watch at all. It's too bad because there are a few movie channels and they were playing decent movies, but because picture and sound quality are so poor, it's virtually impossible to watch. So you find yourself in this 5 star resort watching "antenna-quality" TV on a flat panel Sony TV. Really stupid. 5. Shower - this was the worst part of our vacation. One of the advertising points the resort uses are their "jets in the tub" but the water pressure is so weak, it will take you forever to fill the tub! When you shower, it's like a drizzle coming out. As well (and this drove me crazy), the water goes between hot and cold all the time. If you put it to hot, it'll stay hot for about 10 seconds, then go to lukewarm, then cold, then hot again. I complained twice about it and they sent somebody, but nothing was fixed. 6. Sports Bar - this resort is very nice looking, with the exception of this so-called 24-hr sports bar. This is a dingy little room in a corner with low ceiling that stank awfully. The so-called snacks they offer are horrible, and consist of some kind of a leftover sandwich in the fridge, little boxes of pre-cut reused fruit (leftover from the buffet) and 7-Eleven type nachos with the plastic liquid "cheese" you pump out. It totally brings down the sophistication of the rest of the hotel. 7. Smell - this hotel has a smell about it. I think it's because they have two pubs in the lobby where they serve alcohol, so combined with the smell of booze and mustiness (the whole region is very humid), it spreads through the whole lobby. You will find the room and your sheets will smell musty, which is gross. But I dont think that's the hotel's fault, just a reality of this part of the world. 8. Service - I found that old people got such great service no matter the fact they didn't tip at all in some cases. The staff assume the older people have money and so they get great service. My girlfriend and...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chamix
Business
Medellín Colombia
Jan 9, 2011

Playa del carmen

The hotel is great. The pool and the beach front is great! The activities in the hotel aré restricted but we enjoy it a lot. If you get bored at the hotel playa del Carmen is a great party center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit Playa del Carmen Downtown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top