$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was very good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the United States. As a true 3 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 4 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estaban
Business
Ft. Lauderdale FL
Dec 27, 2011

great!!!

It was a little slow at the airport for the transportation. At the hotel we were met by a man named WILSON at The RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa de Carmen. He helped us with all of our transportation needs. Once he was involved our transportation was never late and gave us exceptional service!!!!! He was never late and kept his appointments!!!! When I return I want WILSON!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to the ruins Chiza Niza and do all shopping there!!! It is a long drive but you will learn educational history and the prices are great along with the selections!!!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjm416
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Great location to downtown

Good value for all-inclusive. Very beautiful grounds. Lots of families and kids everywhere, so good if you have kids not good if you want adults only. Food was good. Ate at mexican twice and japenese which were excellent. The steakhouse can be passed, was not so impressive. Ate breakfast and lunch buffet every day. Really good location to downtown, about a 15 min safe walk. Rooms were clean. Pools were nice. Always had chairs at the beach (didn;t have to save with towels.) Walls were thin so you can hear everything in your room (mostly in morning). CAn only get wifi in lobby and lobby bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorip
Business
Iowa
Jan 25, 2012

Great location, beach, staff!

Very nice resort, but there are others out there too. Pros: BEACH! Beautiful sand and ocean. Room & grounds very clean. Staff was super friendly. Food was very good everywhere we went. Location nice since you can walk to Playa del Carmen or get a taxi for $7 USD. Cons: Reservations at restaurants for dinner---had to waste beach time to wait in line to make reservations for the evenings, which was a real pain. They did not honor our room location request. In fact, we requested as close to the ocean as possible but our room was almost as far from the ocean as possible. We stayed right by the buffet restaurant and it was very loud until about 11:30 every night from the entertainment. Drink service was non-existent on the beach, which was unusual compared to other resorts we've stayed at. Overall, a very nice resort. Would maybe stay here again but there are other places that don't require dinner reservations and do provide great drink service on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly 77
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great hotel for a quiet vacation

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the amenities are great. The rooms are clean, the grounds and restaurants are immaculate, I can't say enough good things about them. The only place it falls down is in the evening entertainment. There are evening kids and adult shows but they are not very exciting and it finishes the day on kind of a quiet, almost boring note. Great for a quiet getaway but not if you are looking for lively nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mega Putz LLC
Business
Oxford Charter Township, MI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Nice but......

The staff was excellent!! Very helpful, even with the language differences. The pool was very dirty and needed repairs. I cut my toe on loose tiles and the water wasn't clear. Pool was also cold as heck. Dinner wasn't all that good at the four restraunts, dinner in Playa Del Carmen was much better food. The entertainment staff was very friendly and were very professional. Two twin beds shoved together makes it interesting when you really love your wife. Bed placement was stupid. Keep the kids away from the bar pool. They splash!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to 5th street in Playa Del Carmen. The best Mexico city I have ever been to. Safe, fun and cool hangouts and shops.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francisco chile
Business
Chile
Feb 18, 2012

little details big difference

Good but cleaning schedules and unskilled staff ruined s bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryGe
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Beautiful beach, great staff

Loved the location, could walk 15 minutes to Playa. The staff was terrific...from the waiters and bartenders to the "entertainment staff" everyone was friendly and eager to please. The restaurants were delightful with several (the Japanese, Fusion and Mexican) that exceeded our expectations. The shows every night were very entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservations for Restaurants are from 12-3. Get in line early during spring break time (11:30) if you want to eat in the Fusion or Japanese. That said, we did wait one night at the fusion restaurant and got in with no reservation as some don't show up.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFGuy
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great hotel in a good location, can get very noisy and a bit expensive

Hotel is located right next to Playa Del Carmen which is nice, has a great beach and is well maintained. Food is ok. This is the 2nd time I visit and the main issue is the price almost doubled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad Jim
Business
Chicago suburbs
Apr 22, 2012

Solid Family All-Inclusive

This is a nice property. It's not super huge, which was nice with the kids. No really long walks to meals or beach. The included meal buffet was very solid with a variety of choices. The restaurants were good too. But, it was a hassle to make a reservation. Location is nice for two reasons: 1) not too far from the airport 2) easy access to the town of Playa del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top