RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shann yshoo
Business
Mendon,Mass
Jul 30, 2014

Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty restraunts our favorite being the steak house. The beach is fantastic!!!!! Views are spectacular, it's alittle slice of heaven. Wishing we were still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations as soon as you get there. You can make reseveration from 12-3 everyday in the main lobby across from the lobby bar. People get there by 11:30 so get there early it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SA Joker
Business
San Antonio
Aug 1, 2014

family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the waiter staff was excellent, the beach was beautiful, the food was great, the drinks are watered down, but you can have as many as you want, there was even a refrigerator stocked with water, soda and beer plus 4 whiskey bottles, the downtown was 10 minutes away,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is great but also make restaurant reservations at the 4 other restaurants at the hotel, it is all inclusive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrPunky
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 30, 2014

Amazing resort

I've been to numerous all-inclusive resorts through out the Caribbean and Mexico, and the Riu Palace Riviera Maya tops them all, especially for the price. The staff at this resort are FABULOUS - all of them. They are so friendly and helpful and always there. I was very impressed with the service at the pool and beach; our drinks barely reached the bottom of the glass before our server was back for another order. Servers in the buffet restaurant as well as in the ala carte restaurants were wonderful: very professional, friendly, and I loved the fact that they all had a wonderful sense of humor. I found the service through out the hotel to be exemplary. Unlike many all-inclusives, the food was excellent - even in the buffet restaurant. Many of the meals we had in the ala carte restaurants would have easily been 40 plus dollar meals at home. I love the location: perfectly situated to downtown Playa, it was a 20 minute walk or a short taxi ride and downtown could be accessed via the street or the beach. The beach... It was beautiful! Miles of white powder sand and clear, turquoise water. It was perfect! There always seemed to be plenty of lounge chairs at both the pool and on the beach. At the pool, an early arrival was necessary for prime chair locations, and one thing that was refreshing was that there were relatively few people "saving" chairs. There are no umbrellas on the beach; however, they really were not necessary because there is an expansive area shaded by palms. The pool was beautiful with a great seating area in the swim up bar area and staff are constantly working to keep the pool clean. The grounds at the resort are beautiful and very clean. Our room was very comfortable and spacious but the bathroom was looking a little worn. That's probably the only negative (for lack of a better word) that I can think of. I don't think you can go wrong with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, particularly for the price. It's an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is a vibrant place with some great restaurants. It does, however, get extremely hot downtown (we were there in July). I LOVE heat and humidity, and it was uncomfortable even for me. I would recommend that trips to that area be made in the late afternoon and early evening; it was so much more pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Des14
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 24, 2014

Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how to provide a great service. The room (junior suite) is large enough to accommodate a king bed and another (rollaway) bed. The room was cleaned 2 times a day and if/whenever we needed anything, the housekeeping person was nearby to take care of it. The pool and the beach were nearby, 1-2 minutes away. We have visited all the specialty restaurants and were quite pleased with the food, but our favorite was the main restaurant Don Manolo's. The hotel is not cheap, but is worth it. We would definitely love to come again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hook241
Business
Honesdale PA
Nov 16, 2014

Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very friendly.had a first floor room just steps away from the pool and beach. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was far better than the specialty restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie M.
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2014

Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be improved it's the room. We had a small problem with the closet door for the first couple of days but it was taken care of. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmen
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Awesome Diving Trip

The hotel was truly top notch in all respects. All inclusives can have a bad rap for low quality but not here. The quality of the food and variety was top of the line as was the service and friendliness of the staff. I absolutely loved this place. Stayed for a week and didn't want to leave !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan K.
Business
portland
Feb 9, 2015

AWESOME TRIP

We had a great time, the new years celebration was amazing, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations in advance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blass4
Business
Schaumburg Il
Mar 15, 2014

very friendly hotel

Perfect location very clean Beach was superb Should have better food options for many vegetarians !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
my2scents
Business
CA
Apr 10, 2014

Reminder - keep valuable items locked up

This is our 2nd stay and definitely not our last thanks to the wonderful staff at the restaurants and pool area, they are fantastic. Reception can be a different story. The room we stayed in had a very gross humid smell, my husband went to the lobby to report and they said sorry, no rooms available until the next day. We refused to stay another night after noticing what appeared to be mold on the sliding door trim. The cleaning staff had taken the sofa out of the room and into the balcony, they apparently steamed cleaned it and agreed that there was a funky smell in the room. Gaby in the lobby was simply rude and assured us they couldn't do anything to move us that night. Hugo stepped in after overhearing our discomfort and upgraded us to a suite. He walked us to the room and apologized. While he showed us the room he made a call for someone to bring an extra bed, as there was only a King size bed and we had our two daughters with us, ages 8 and 4. We were handed the keys and all left the room and half way to the restaurant my 8-yr old said she'd forgotten her Kindle Fire in the room. It was late and we figured we'd go eat first, mistake. When we got back in the room the Kindle was gone. They conducted an "investigation" which took four trips to the lobby to get an answer...only one person had gone into the room, the person who brought the extra bed and never admitted to taking the Kindle. Although we all know to keep valuable items locked up, let this serve as a reminder - no matter how "at home" you feel you're items are not safe when you leave you're room unless placed in the safe. Also, don't buy the story "we have no rooms available until tomorrow", chances are the next day you'll get the same story. We didn't need the upgrade just a room without the disgusting smell. Hugo made it more than right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top