$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Great resort, alright food

I went with my girlfriend. Everything about the hotel was great, except the food. The food wasn't bad, but it was mediocre. Apart from that, it was a great stay. The rooms were really nice and clean, the pool and beach were great and a lot of fun. The hotel itself is beautiful. Also, there are plenty of bars and the drinks are good...tropical and non-tropical if you want. Also, you can rent catamarans and kayaks for free, which we did every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into the beach town of Playa del Carmen a few times to get some good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orbie
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Terrible

We walked in to a musty smelling lobby. The room was just as musty. All bed linens and dining room linens looked dirty and overused. The food was bad. We will never stay at a RIU hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pistakee
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 24, 2010

Constructive criticism

Beautiful resort, nice rooms, nice pool and beach, good location, you can walk to town (about 2 miles)or take a short cab ride for $5 or $50 pesos, excellent front desk service, average wait staff service, very few premium liquors, poor food quality at themed restaurants and poor shows, average buffets, went jet skiing for $60 US for 30 min, took resort Hobie Cat catamaran out for a sail for an hour (included in resort fee), shopping, dining, cocktails, dancing and sightseeing in town. Go vist the Blue Parrot bar on the beach one night and see the fire show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfriss
Business
Clearwater, Florida
May 22, 2010

beautiful hotel perfect location

This is the best hotel with the best and most helpful staff i have ever experience, all in the most perfect location. You will not be sorry if you book your room here. We stayed for 7 wonderful days. I would like to extend my thanks to all the staff that made our stay the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was fabulous. No need to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfriss
Business
Clearwater, Florida
May 22, 2010

beautiful hotel perfect location

This is the best hotel with the best and most helpful staff i have ever experience, all in the most perfect location. You will not be sorry if you book your room here. We stayed for 7 wonderful days. I would like to extend my thanks to all the staff that made our stay the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was fabulous. No need to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey J
Business
Spokane Valley, WA
Apr 8, 2010

A Palace indeed

Looking at the hotel pictures, the beach seems far away. It wasn't that far at all. The drinks from the pool bar were okay. Couldn't really take advantage of this feature (pool bar) because our kids were with us.. I was apprehensive because of going during Spring Break (26-31 Mar), but the kids were well behaved. Some parents/adults were loud and crazy at night. We had two rooms and the other room was lacking body soap, which was fixed on the spot. Never saw shampoo or lotion. The minibar and fridge were well taken care of. No weird smells or bugs and the beds were firm. I was in room 2009 and after the maid would use her key, someone from maint. would have to reprogram the lock. Food was very good, fresh, and a variety of things to choose from. Couldn't get reservations, please book early, if you plan to. We ate on 5th Ave. a few times. Great food and fun. Others mentioned the Ah Cacao Chocolate place. Great tip. They do make their own chocolate, and the brownies melt in your mouth. Never had anything like it, it's a bit rich, but worth it. It's pretty much at the end of 5th Ave. on the left. There's a concrete monument in the middle of the intersection. That was my landmark. All taxi's were $5 usd. We missed the ADO bus arriving at the airport, but used it to get back to the airport. We paid about $11 usd per person and the lady told me a bus leaves for the airport every 15 min. starting at 7 am. It doues make a couple of stops along the way, so plan accordingly. All in all, a very fun and relaxing vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shopping on 5th Ave. Good food for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Apr 5, 2010

Great hotel and wonderful service

The hotel was great. There was staff everywhere always willing to assist or bring you a drink! The location was great we walked to 5th ave for shopping, took about 15 minutes. It was very safe, actually when we walked into town it was 8:00 at night. If you can get reservations Krystal was awesome. The only problem is that you need to make reservations and if you have a short stay you may only get reservations for one of the nights, which is what happened to us. The buffet is okay otherwise. The pool was really neat and it has a swim up bar. The only problem is that people reserve chairs very early and then are not there all day. So it is hard to get a spot at the pool. There was plenty of chairs at the beach though so that was our default. I would definately go back to this resort or try another RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the bar crawl. You go with a group of 20 - 40 people and go to a couple bars you pay one fee and then get free drinks all night. We ended at Coco Bongo which was super fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newman Lake, WA
Mar 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort

We just got home after a week's stay March 6-13. We would definitely go back. Immaculate resort with attentive staff looking to do anything to make your stay pleasant. Loved the beach, didn't spend much time in the pool- it was colder than the ocean and hard to get loungers poolside. Not so on the beach, they were always available. Lots of activity and higher noise level at pool. If you like to sunbathe in peace and quiet, the beach is the place to do it. Food was better than expected at the buffet, with choices changing nightly. The specialty restaurants had some limited availability, but we got into the ones we were interested in . The best steak I've had in Mexico at Chili's. Can't say enough about the staff, from housekeepers(loved the varied towel animals) to the wait staff. Very attentive to our needs. Nightly entertainment was available, some more enjoyable than others, but the resort tried hard to accomodate different tastes. All in all, a high class resort dedicated to customer sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Excelent hotel, location and service.

This hotel is appropriately named a 'Palace'. The lobby and courtyard are impressive. We stayed in a double room with a 8 month old (crib provided). Room was great, marble everywhere, and clean. 24/7 room service, four bottles of liqueur and fridge refiled daily. Pool is very impressive (but you need to throw a towel early in the morning to reserve a good seat). Entertainers keep the pool party going, BBQ, good bands, five bars, three restaurants, gym, jacuzzi, hammocks by the palm trees, a LOT of food, buffets and since you have your RIU bracelet that you got at the check-in you can enter other four RIU hotels nearby and use their services (few minute walk on the street or beach). Location: security closed down street with a mix of private villas and hotels. Good for jogging. 5 minute walk to a nice shopping place (go left) or 15-20min to the town (go right), or walk through the beach. A lot of stores in the town. Few city blocks. You need few hours there. Go in the evening. We felt very safe there. A lot of people with say 'Ola' to you and if you have a baby don't be surprised if they come up to you and touch her a bit and throw a smile. Just something you need to accept if you are not used to this but they always mean well. Minor issues: nightly entertainment is until 11pm (good or bad) so if you have rooms facing the courtyard it is a bit loud. Get rooms as close to the reception if you want the quiet (or even not facing the courtyard but you'll miss the view). Drinks are a bit on the cheap side, but sort of standard at all inclusive hotels. No umbrellas on the beach but there are lots of palm trees between the beach and the hotel. Stay to the right side of the shore away from the smelly jet ski(ugh!) And be careful with the bathroom hot water -it gets scolding hot fast! Overall, you can't get better value for the money. The Palace is impressive, and people are friendly and very hard working. Last thing, it's more for a more mature crowd so don't expect college parties there. I've been to many hotels and few vacation spots in the past and this one definitely deserves five stars. Enjoy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask around. There are representatives from several agencies in the hotel lobby every day. Come up and ask, and there are couple more booths in the Plaza shopping center offering various trips (go left out of hotel, 5 min walk).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandmooney
Business
Pinckney, Mi
Mar 8, 2010

BEST vacation ever!

This was our first trip to Mexico and it was first class all the way. From the beautiful hotel, bountiful and fabulous food, superb staff and never ending beach! The pool was a little chilly for my taste but the ocean was warm and inviting. Evenings were chillier than I expected, be sure you bring pants and a jacket if you plan to be outdoors at night. The rooms were very nice and the maids were very attentive to our requests for additional water/soda, and even made cute animals out of towels for us when we tipped :) Turn down service at night displayed beautiful bow/shell designs with the bedspread, complete with Hershey kisses for each of us :) We took a day trip to the Tulum ruins and Xel-Ha waterpark and they both exceeded our expectations. What a fabulous experience all around! We're already planning our trip to this hotel for next year, my final recommendation is to make sure you stay longer than 5 days. It was pure heaven!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't purchase items from the vendors that the hotel brings in at evening, they are over priced. The same items can be purchased at 5th Avenue for half the cost, and much more to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top