$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
281 reviews
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty... See full review

  • Shann yshoo
  • Jul 30, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
people lover
Detroit, Michigan
Oct 20, 2009

DREAM VACATION 009

The staff met your every need.Grounds well kept. The only bad experience was that one night a man was let into our room by mistake. I was so scared. I got my husband, and we called security. It took two phone calls. The man was drunk, and very very rude. Called my husband names, and wouldn't leave. We got him to leave just before security arrived.I insisted the bed be changed. It was just, thank God, a man let in by the maid, in the wrong room. Not a thief. Overall the trip was beautiful, restful, and we truly enjoyed the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

BRING LONG PANTS AND A DRESS SHIRT. For dinner, which I loved, the men needed to look business casual. No problem for the women, we always dress up.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newton, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic getaway for the price

Great restaurants, excellent food, plenty of bars, great nightly entertainment, and the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the specialty restaurants, they are a must.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The A Team
Northern VA
Oct 18, 2009

A nice place!

Great location and very friendly staff. Pool area is nice with music and free-flowing drinks! Beach area is nice too with sun and also shaded areas to lay in. Food was good, but watch your attire. They will ask you to leave and change if you are not suitably attired. Dinner seems to be the time they are most picky about how you are dressed! Be sure to book theme restaurants right at 12 Noon each day. Each seating (2) only takes about 40-50 people so space is limited. If you go to the Lobby bar about 11:45AM you will be one of the first in line. You can only book 2 nights at a time! Rooms are nice, but hallways being all tile do make them noisy if you are trying to sleep. Also, a room facing the courtyard could be noisy as they have music and other entertainment each night in the main courtyard. The beds were a bit too firm for us...AC and ceiling fan in room was just fine to keep us cool enough. Staff was very friendly, but brush up on your Spanish to make sure you can ask questions, etc. Front desk was fluent in English. TV in room has mostly spanish speaking channels, but you do get Miami TV and the others like CNN. We also got TNT which had movies back to back. Remember there is a nice gift shop/sundries shop located underneath the main entrance. You have to go out the front doors and down the driveway (either direction) to get to this shop. It is directly underneath the front doors. They have much more than the small Lobby shop. Starbucks is nearby for those of you who can't survive without it. Travel from airport to resort is slow and painful on Gray Line. We paid $40 US to get a lift from Cancun back to the resort. The Gray Line shuttle is a little cheaper RT, but you will have to stop 3-4 times along the way to pick up and drop off others. That's a pain, as none of the resorts are near the road. Double check to make sure your "departure tax" has been included in your airline ticket. If not - $55 per person at the airport to get out of Mexico. This is a great palce to stay. Clean and well maintained. We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 4, 2009

September 2009

Great service by restaurant/bar staff. Poor service by front-desk staff. Very bad security; any body has complete access to your name and room number at any time. We had a suite with nice furniture and lay-out, but no hot water because the suites are furthest from the water-heaters and often don't get enough hot water. Maintenance mentioned to us that it has been a problem since opening day for the hotel. The floors of the hotel are extremely slick. We were all having trouble staying on our feet. Can be a real hazard. It was an issue every day. Food and food related services are superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue is great for shopping and dinning.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uaprincess
Coralville, IA
Sep 30, 2009

Romantic getaway

This is the best trip I have ever taken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Great Getaway

Everything was wonderful. We mostly stayed at the resort and enjoyed long walks on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pinehurst, NC
Sep 20, 2009

Exceeded Expectaions!

We took full advantage of all that was offered within the hotel, and then some. Lots of water sports, jet skis, snorkle, scuba, catamarans...GREAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An unbeatable value, but not a short cut anywhere. you often find shortcuts in some areas, but not here and not with RIU!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Sep 17, 2009

Labor Day 2009 trip

This trip was awesome! I can't say enough good things about the Riu Palace resort. It was everything I expected plus so much more.The only thing I regret was that I had planned for longer than three nights, that was just not long enough. There was so much to see as this was my first time to the area, so wish I would have had more time to explore. We did check out a couple of other resorts in the area and I was very pleased I chose the Riu Palace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We went on the Selvetica Canopy Tour while there, and it was so much fun!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Germany
Sep 15, 2009

Everything in abundance

Food, drinks and service were great, nothing more to ask for. The rooms could be furnished a little more nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Laundry in Playa del Carmen.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TOURKEY
Houston, TX
Sep 14, 2009

Absolutely Incredible

We relaxed. The hotel staff made sure we relaxed. the facilities were amazing. I am not a big fan of All inclusive vacations, as it usually invites an over-consuming, loud and onbonoxious crowd where you have to fight for cheap liquor and run of the mill buffets. RIU PALACE changed my perspective with a classy European crowd, top shelf liquor that actually was served to you constantly, great shows at night and many different ala carte restaurants aside from the buffet and an incredible buffet. the best service I have seen in a long time, including stays at four Seasons, Ritz and alike hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

GREAT! 9:45 PM every night and throughout the day many activities.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search