$467 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
297 reviews
AWESOME TRIP

We had a great time, the new years celebration was amazing, we will be back! See full review

  • Alan K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Awesome Diving Trip

The hotel was truly top notch in all respects. All inclusives can have a bad rap for low quality... See full review

  • Carmen
  • Feb 3, 2015
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoz
Business
Waterford, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Should be bettter...

We requested an upgraded room because of lack of view, and were told we could have one the next day. We had planned to move the next morning only to be told nothing available. We asked if we could check out a little late because of a late flight to be told NO, with no offers to continue using facilities etc. after check-out. This advertises as a 5 star, but food definitely not there, including the "specialty" restaurants. Have been to several all-inclusive Riviera Maya resorts, and would not return here as others are equally nice, more service oriented and less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohioguy88
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 29, 2010

Excellent Service

Service was spectacular. They were always quick to offer drinks and sometimes food from anywhere you were on the property. Staff could be seen cleaning the grounds all the time. Rooms have a nice feel to them and were very clean. Food was very good for an all inclusive place. Beach area was nice with a good mix of sun and shade from all the palm trees if you like that option. Caters to 40 something couples, with a lot of activities and music in the evenings. The nightly shows are "campy" but entertaining. The site is part of a large complex that is gated, so it is safe to walk outside the hotel, there is a nice sized market easily within walking distance. Hour drive from the Cancun airport is the only negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jan 24, 2010

Sweet!

This was our first all-inclusive resort experience, and it was fantastic. Our normal vacation is spent traipsing through some foreign city, figuring out bus schedules, medium-to-low-end accommodations, and DIY catering. Those trips are very interesting, but not relaxing.. so at Riviera Maya, we were looking just to relax and get enough warmth to last the rest of the winter.We found the staff to be gracious, the beach warm and welcoming, and the food varied and delicious. At first I thought it would be important to reserve the 'special' restaurants each night, but the normal buffet and service at Don Manolo were great. Try Krystal for artful cuisine and presentation (and better wine than usual) but the others could be missed.We took one day to see Chichen Itza [...]and it was a fine trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jan 9, 2010

nice place

grand hotel very nice very luxurious. Room was quite sexy and modern great condition, bed a bit uncomfortable, but great beach, service was attentive, food was pretty good and at times incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

playacar golf course is right across the street. It is the hardest course I have ever played by a lot a real lot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 29, 2009

You CAN'T go wrong with this place!

This is the ultimate place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Everything at this resort received a 5-star. The food, drinks, fun, and ammenities were non-stop and outstanding. Comfortable rooms, bed, and great bath jacuzzi. Very accomodating - will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to go outside of Hotel for drinks or dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuck In The Snow
Business
Livonia, MI
Dec 17, 2009

Beautiful!

Wonderful service, beautiful grounds, great rooms, decent food. The buffet has great options, most are better than the restaurants which was a pleasant surprise. The people went out of there way to please us. We had a wonderful experience. Definitely upgrade to the Palace Riviera Maya as opposed to the other Riu's. It will be well worth it. The only way it could have been better would have been to upgrade to a room with a balcony facing the inner courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Dec 14, 2009

Anniversary Celebration

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya was perfect! We loved staying here and have stayed next door at Reef Playacar before. The RIU was so worth the extra money. If you are a beach lover you will love their palm tree covered beach area. The service was so great and we were constantly asked if we wanted drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 14, 2009

The best stay and value!

The food was outstanding! Make sure you make reservations at their Japanese restaurant. The entire place is very clean. There are maids everywhere cleaning all of the time. Make sure you hit up Mr. Islas at the lobby bar for a double margarita. He's one of the best and very outgoing. This is the best place for the price. If you like scuba diving, I would recommend Cozumel. The reefs aren't as nice near this hotel. I can't speak for the other resorts though. Swimming is not safe for kids in front of this hotel. There can be a rough current. They had red flags up almost every day. Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed at. This was our second time and we are already planning our next trip. Once again, the food was freaking outstanding. Great for fresh seafood lovers like myself. Oh and even though tips are included, I recommend carrying one dollar bills and throwing them a bone once in a while. They work harder than any hotel worker in the U.S. and will do anything, within their job description, to keep you happy. But you can always tell when someone is having a bad day. They are human too. Over and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I guess Coco Bongo is the place to go in downtown Playa Del Carmen. Lots of chicas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2009

What a wonderful vacation!

I just returned from a one-week vacation at the Riu Palace in the Mayan Riviera and had a wonderful time with my long-term boyfriend. The selection of restaurants was great and the food tasted wonderful. Considering we are both very picky about quality of food, I am very surprised to say that I enjoyed everything I ate! I highly recommend getting into the Japanese restaurant; it was my boyfriends and my favorite! In addition, every single person on staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to ensure you are taken care of. My single complaint with the hotel is that there isn't any restaurant that is open 24/7. My boyfriend and I arrived at about 3:30 PM the first day absolutely ravenous and had to wait for the buffet to open at 6:30 PM to eat. It wasn't a problem for the rest of the trip, but it would have been nice to have the option. The other thing to keep in mind is that if you are planning to do any activities or excursions outside the resort, it's about an hour drive to everything. We hadn't realized this ahead of time and spent a LOT of time just in shuttles. But other than the drive times (which still ended up being worth it), we couldn't have had a better vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bring small bills! People won't give you change if you're bartering, which you ALWAYS should. Also, never pay full price. Walk away, and they will bring you back and drop it. Stay strong for what you actually want to pay, even if it seems ungodly low at first, and you'll ALWAYS get it for that price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 5, 2009

When you stay at RIU, stay at a Palace!

I have stayed at a RIU hotel on THREE occasions so far. TWO of my experiences where at the "Palace" class of hotels. I have to say if you stay at RIU the Palace is worth the extra money. We walked to the Palace - Mexico down the road. Also very nice. This one is a close walk to Playa though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just a 15-20 minute walk to downtown Playa. There are tons of shops and restaurants. If you are lazy you can get a cab for $50 pesos ($4-5 USD)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top