$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EandW
Chicago, IL
Jun 19, 2013

Wonderful couples vacation

Very nice hotel. Food was excellent and the staff was very attentive and friendly. Great variety of drinks, however they would taste better if they have a little more alcohol. Location was great; very safe area and just a 15-20 minutes walk to downtown Playa del Carmen (5ta avenida). We highly recomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, TX
Aug 16, 2010

excelent!!! we will be back!!!

We love the experience, the oly thatreally don't like is some parent bring children less the 5 years to the restaurant(JAPANESE) and make so much noice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2009

What a wonderful vacation!

I just returned from a one-week vacation at the Riu Palace in the Mayan Riviera and had a wonderful time with my long-term boyfriend. The selection of restaurants was great and the food tasted wonderful. Considering we are both very picky about quality of food, I am very surprised to say that I enjoyed everything I ate! I highly recommend getting into the Japanese restaurant; it was my boyfriends and my favorite! In addition, every single person on staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to ensure you are taken care of. My single complaint with the hotel is that there isn't any restaurant that is open 24/7. My boyfriend and I arrived at about 3:30 PM the first day absolutely ravenous and had to wait for the buffet to open at 6:30 PM to eat. It wasn't a problem for the rest of the trip, but it would have been nice to have the option. The other thing to keep in mind is that if you are planning to do any activities or excursions outside the resort, it's about an hour drive to everything. We hadn't realized this ahead of time and spent a LOT of time just in shuttles. But other than the drive times (which still ended up being worth it), we couldn't have had a better vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bring small bills! People won't give you change if you're bartering, which you ALWAYS should. Also, never pay full price. Walk away, and they will bring you back and drop it. Stay strong for what you actually want to pay, even if it seems ungodly low at first, and you'll ALWAYS get it for that price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Overland Park
Nov 24, 2008

can't believe it was this inexpensive!

My husband and I honeymooned here and we had a great time! The hotel was gorgeous and the staff was always very professional. This was considered the off peak for them, but we got this trip at a great price. I have recommended this hotel to all my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a plaza for shopping nearby or you can take a short cab ride for $5.00 to another larger plaza where the ferry also leaves for Cozumel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
May 18, 2007

My review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall I thought this was a really good place to vacation. Only draw back was very few ocean front views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandmooney
Pinckney, Mi
Mar 8, 2010

BEST vacation ever!

This was our first trip to Mexico and it was first class all the way. From the beautiful hotel, bountiful and fabulous food, superb staff and never ending beach! The pool was a little chilly for my taste but the ocean was warm and inviting. Evenings were chillier than I expected, be sure you bring pants and a jacket if you plan to be outdoors at night. The rooms were very nice and the maids were very attentive to our requests for additional water/soda, and even made cute animals out of towels for us when we tipped :) Turn down service at night displayed beautiful bow/shell designs with the bedspread, complete with Hershey kisses for each of us :) We took a day trip to the Tulum ruins and Xel-Ha waterpark and they both exceeded our expectations. What a fabulous experience all around! We're already planning our trip to this hotel for next year, my final recommendation is to make sure you stay longer than 5 days. It was pure heaven!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't purchase items from the vendors that the hotel brings in at evening, they are over priced. The same items can be purchased at 5th Avenue for half the cost, and much more to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
Sep 11, 2007

Beautiful and very comfortable!

We loved staying at this all inclusive hotel. Everyone was very friendly and went out of your way to please you. We had never been at a more beautiful hotel. The weather was great, the food was delicious, the people friendly, and the price was right. We would recommend this hotel for honeymooners, families with children, and just anyone who wants to get away and relax and have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many attractions to see and excursions to go on in the surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newton, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic getaway for the price

Great restaurants, excellent food, plenty of bars, great nightly entertainment, and the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the specialty restaurants, they are a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Olney, IL
Dec 24, 2008

Wonderful place to stay

The hotel was beautiful, staff friendly, and great food. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Apr 21, 2007

Very Comfortable

We were very pleased with the accomidations! The hotel staff were very friendly and always willing to assist in any way needed. They made us feel like they were there just for us. The property was immaculate, welcoming and we felt very safe. The beach was beautiful and clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recomend the RIU to anyone visiting Mexico for a relaxing no brainer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top