$308 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
290 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RIU Palace Playa del Carmen
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 8, 2010

RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa del Carmen

The best hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runyon Ryan
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Riu Palace and Playa del Carmen perfecto

I can't say enough amazing things. From the moment I got to the hotel, the staff was so friendly and helpful and efficient. I loved the room, and promptly went to the pool to find my friends. I went to the beach, attended almost every restaurant in the resort, a few shows, and made friends with staff members.I have to say, it was probably the best vacation trip I've ever taken. I couldn't believe that the all-inclusive experience would be so easy to deal with and the food was really good. I'm recommending to my MOM and others to use [...] and stay at the same place. Although the staff spoke English for the most part, I enjoyed speaking Spanish almost the entire time. The deal was great too because vacations are really expensive these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There was an aviary a very short walk away where you can see some beautiful plants and native animals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Great resort, alright food

I went with my girlfriend. Everything about the hotel was great, except the food. The food wasn't bad, but it was mediocre. Apart from that, it was a great stay. The rooms were really nice and clean, the pool and beach were great and a lot of fun. The hotel itself is beautiful. Also, there are plenty of bars and the drinks are good...tropical and non-tropical if you want. Also, you can rent catamarans and kayaks for free, which we did every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into the beach town of Playa del Carmen a few times to get some good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orbie
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Terrible

We walked in to a musty smelling lobby. The room was just as musty. All bed linens and dining room linens looked dirty and overused. The food was bad. We will never stay at a RIU hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pistakee
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 24, 2010

Constructive criticism

Beautiful resort, nice rooms, nice pool and beach, good location, you can walk to town (about 2 miles)or take a short cab ride for $5 or $50 pesos, excellent front desk service, average wait staff service, very few premium liquors, poor food quality at themed restaurants and poor shows, average buffets, went jet skiing for $60 US for 30 min, took resort Hobie Cat catamaran out for a sail for an hour (included in resort fee), shopping, dining, cocktails, dancing and sightseeing in town. Go vist the Blue Parrot bar on the beach one night and see the fire show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfriss
Business
Clearwater, Florida
May 22, 2010

beautiful hotel perfect location

This is the best hotel with the best and most helpful staff i have ever experience, all in the most perfect location. You will not be sorry if you book your room here. We stayed for 7 wonderful days. I would like to extend my thanks to all the staff that made our stay the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was fabulous. No need to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey J
Business
Spokane Valley, WA
Apr 8, 2010

A Palace indeed

Looking at the hotel pictures, the beach seems far away. It wasn't that far at all. The drinks from the pool bar were okay. Couldn't really take advantage of this feature (pool bar) because our kids were with us.. I was apprehensive because of going during Spring Break (26-31 Mar), but the kids were well behaved. Some parents/adults were loud and crazy at night. We had two rooms and the other room was lacking body soap, which was fixed on the spot. Never saw shampoo or lotion. The minibar and fridge were well taken care of. No weird smells or bugs and the beds were firm. I was in room 2009 and after the maid would use her key, someone from maint. would have to reprogram the lock. Food was very good, fresh, and a variety of things to choose from. Couldn't get reservations, please book early, if you plan to. We ate on 5th Ave. a few times. Great food and fun. Others mentioned the Ah Cacao Chocolate place. Great tip. They do make their own chocolate, and the brownies melt in your mouth. Never had anything like it, it's a bit rich, but worth it. It's pretty much at the end of 5th Ave. on the left. There's a concrete monument in the middle of the intersection. That was my landmark. All taxi's were $5 usd. We missed the ADO bus arriving at the airport, but used it to get back to the airport. We paid about $11 usd per person and the lady told me a bus leaves for the airport every 15 min. starting at 7 am. It doues make a couple of stops along the way, so plan accordingly. All in all, a very fun and relaxing vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shopping on 5th Ave. Good food for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Apr 5, 2010

Great hotel and wonderful service

The hotel was great. There was staff everywhere always willing to assist or bring you a drink! The location was great we walked to 5th ave for shopping, took about 15 minutes. It was very safe, actually when we walked into town it was 8:00 at night. If you can get reservations Krystal was awesome. The only problem is that you need to make reservations and if you have a short stay you may only get reservations for one of the nights, which is what happened to us. The buffet is okay otherwise. The pool was really neat and it has a swim up bar. The only problem is that people reserve chairs very early and then are not there all day. So it is hard to get a spot at the pool. There was plenty of chairs at the beach though so that was our default. I would definately go back to this resort or try another RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the bar crawl. You go with a group of 20 - 40 people and go to a couple bars you pay one fee and then get free drinks all night. We ended at Coco Bongo which was super fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newman Lake, WA
Mar 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort

We just got home after a week's stay March 6-13. We would definitely go back. Immaculate resort with attentive staff looking to do anything to make your stay pleasant. Loved the beach, didn't spend much time in the pool- it was colder than the ocean and hard to get loungers poolside. Not so on the beach, they were always available. Lots of activity and higher noise level at pool. If you like to sunbathe in peace and quiet, the beach is the place to do it. Food was better than expected at the buffet, with choices changing nightly. The specialty restaurants had some limited availability, but we got into the ones we were interested in . The best steak I've had in Mexico at Chili's. Can't say enough about the staff, from housekeepers(loved the varied towel animals) to the wait staff. Very attentive to our needs. Nightly entertainment was available, some more enjoyable than others, but the resort tried hard to accomodate different tastes. All in all, a high class resort dedicated to customer sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Excelent hotel, location and service.

This hotel is appropriately named a 'Palace'. The lobby and courtyard are impressive. We stayed in a double room with a 8 month old (crib provided). Room was great, marble everywhere, and clean. 24/7 room service, four bottles of liqueur and fridge refiled daily. Pool is very impressive (but you need to throw a towel early in the morning to reserve a good seat). Entertainers keep the pool party going, BBQ, good bands, five bars, three restaurants, gym, jacuzzi, hammocks by the palm trees, a LOT of food, buffets and since you have your RIU bracelet that you got at the check-in you can enter other four RIU hotels nearby and use their services (few minute walk on the street or beach). Location: security closed down street with a mix of private villas and hotels. Good for jogging. 5 minute walk to a nice shopping place (go left) or 15-20min to the town (go right), or walk through the beach. A lot of stores in the town. Few city blocks. You need few hours there. Go in the evening. We felt very safe there. A lot of people with say 'Ola' to you and if you have a baby don't be surprised if they come up to you and touch her a bit and throw a smile. Just something you need to accept if you are not used to this but they always mean well. Minor issues: nightly entertainment is until 11pm (good or bad) so if you have rooms facing the courtyard it is a bit loud. Get rooms as close to the reception if you want the quiet (or even not facing the courtyard but you'll miss the view). Drinks are a bit on the cheap side, but sort of standard at all inclusive hotels. No umbrellas on the beach but there are lots of palm trees between the beach and the hotel. Stay to the right side of the shore away from the smelly jet ski(ugh!) And be careful with the bathroom hot water -it gets scolding hot fast! Overall, you can't get better value for the money. The Palace is impressive, and people are friendly and very hard working. Last thing, it's more for a more mature crowd so don't expect college parties there. I've been to many hotels and few vacation spots in the past and this one definitely deserves five stars. Enjoy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask around. There are representatives from several agencies in the hotel lobby every day. Come up and ask, and there are couple more booths in the Plaza shopping center offering various trips (go left out of hotel, 5 min walk).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top