$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
286 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfriss
Business
Clearwater, Florida
May 22, 2010

beautiful hotel perfect location

This is the best hotel with the best and most helpful staff i have ever experience, all in the most perfect location. You will not be sorry if you book your room here. We stayed for 7 wonderful days. I would like to extend my thanks to all the staff that made our stay the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was fabulous. No need to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey J
Business
Spokane Valley, WA
Apr 8, 2010

A Palace indeed

Looking at the hotel pictures, the beach seems far away. It wasn't that far at all. The drinks from the pool bar were okay. Couldn't really take advantage of this feature (pool bar) because our kids were with us.. I was apprehensive because of going during Spring Break (26-31 Mar), but the kids were well behaved. Some parents/adults were loud and crazy at night. We had two rooms and the other room was lacking body soap, which was fixed on the spot. Never saw shampoo or lotion. The minibar and fridge were well taken care of. No weird smells or bugs and the beds were firm. I was in room 2009 and after the maid would use her key, someone from maint. would have to reprogram the lock. Food was very good, fresh, and a variety of things to choose from. Couldn't get reservations, please book early, if you plan to. We ate on 5th Ave. a few times. Great food and fun. Others mentioned the Ah Cacao Chocolate place. Great tip. They do make their own chocolate, and the brownies melt in your mouth. Never had anything like it, it's a bit rich, but worth it. It's pretty much at the end of 5th Ave. on the left. There's a concrete monument in the middle of the intersection. That was my landmark. All taxi's were $5 usd. We missed the ADO bus arriving at the airport, but used it to get back to the airport. We paid about $11 usd per person and the lady told me a bus leaves for the airport every 15 min. starting at 7 am. It doues make a couple of stops along the way, so plan accordingly. All in all, a very fun and relaxing vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shopping on 5th Ave. Good food for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Apr 5, 2010

Great hotel and wonderful service

The hotel was great. There was staff everywhere always willing to assist or bring you a drink! The location was great we walked to 5th ave for shopping, took about 15 minutes. It was very safe, actually when we walked into town it was 8:00 at night. If you can get reservations Krystal was awesome. The only problem is that you need to make reservations and if you have a short stay you may only get reservations for one of the nights, which is what happened to us. The buffet is okay otherwise. The pool was really neat and it has a swim up bar. The only problem is that people reserve chairs very early and then are not there all day. So it is hard to get a spot at the pool. There was plenty of chairs at the beach though so that was our default. I would definately go back to this resort or try another RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the bar crawl. You go with a group of 20 - 40 people and go to a couple bars you pay one fee and then get free drinks all night. We ended at Coco Bongo which was super fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newman Lake, WA
Mar 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort

We just got home after a week's stay March 6-13. We would definitely go back. Immaculate resort with attentive staff looking to do anything to make your stay pleasant. Loved the beach, didn't spend much time in the pool- it was colder than the ocean and hard to get loungers poolside. Not so on the beach, they were always available. Lots of activity and higher noise level at pool. If you like to sunbathe in peace and quiet, the beach is the place to do it. Food was better than expected at the buffet, with choices changing nightly. The specialty restaurants had some limited availability, but we got into the ones we were interested in . The best steak I've had in Mexico at Chili's. Can't say enough about the staff, from housekeepers(loved the varied towel animals) to the wait staff. Very attentive to our needs. Nightly entertainment was available, some more enjoyable than others, but the resort tried hard to accomodate different tastes. All in all, a high class resort dedicated to customer sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Excelent hotel, location and service.

This hotel is appropriately named a 'Palace'. The lobby and courtyard are impressive. We stayed in a double room with a 8 month old (crib provided). Room was great, marble everywhere, and clean. 24/7 room service, four bottles of liqueur and fridge refiled daily. Pool is very impressive (but you need to throw a towel early in the morning to reserve a good seat). Entertainers keep the pool party going, BBQ, good bands, five bars, three restaurants, gym, jacuzzi, hammocks by the palm trees, a LOT of food, buffets and since you have your RIU bracelet that you got at the check-in you can enter other four RIU hotels nearby and use their services (few minute walk on the street or beach). Location: security closed down street with a mix of private villas and hotels. Good for jogging. 5 minute walk to a nice shopping place (go left) or 15-20min to the town (go right), or walk through the beach. A lot of stores in the town. Few city blocks. You need few hours there. Go in the evening. We felt very safe there. A lot of people with say 'Ola' to you and if you have a baby don't be surprised if they come up to you and touch her a bit and throw a smile. Just something you need to accept if you are not used to this but they always mean well. Minor issues: nightly entertainment is until 11pm (good or bad) so if you have rooms facing the courtyard it is a bit loud. Get rooms as close to the reception if you want the quiet (or even not facing the courtyard but you'll miss the view). Drinks are a bit on the cheap side, but sort of standard at all inclusive hotels. No umbrellas on the beach but there are lots of palm trees between the beach and the hotel. Stay to the right side of the shore away from the smelly jet ski(ugh!) And be careful with the bathroom hot water -it gets scolding hot fast! Overall, you can't get better value for the money. The Palace is impressive, and people are friendly and very hard working. Last thing, it's more for a more mature crowd so don't expect college parties there. I've been to many hotels and few vacation spots in the past and this one definitely deserves five stars. Enjoy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask around. There are representatives from several agencies in the hotel lobby every day. Come up and ask, and there are couple more booths in the Plaza shopping center offering various trips (go left out of hotel, 5 min walk).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandmooney
Business
Pinckney, Mi
Mar 8, 2010

BEST vacation ever!

This was our first trip to Mexico and it was first class all the way. From the beautiful hotel, bountiful and fabulous food, superb staff and never ending beach! The pool was a little chilly for my taste but the ocean was warm and inviting. Evenings were chillier than I expected, be sure you bring pants and a jacket if you plan to be outdoors at night. The rooms were very nice and the maids were very attentive to our requests for additional water/soda, and even made cute animals out of towels for us when we tipped :) Turn down service at night displayed beautiful bow/shell designs with the bedspread, complete with Hershey kisses for each of us :) We took a day trip to the Tulum ruins and Xel-Ha waterpark and they both exceeded our expectations. What a fabulous experience all around! We're already planning our trip to this hotel for next year, my final recommendation is to make sure you stay longer than 5 days. It was pure heaven!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't purchase items from the vendors that the hotel brings in at evening, they are over priced. The same items can be purchased at 5th Avenue for half the cost, and much more to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Mar 1, 2010

I would return

I would say my overall experience was excellent. Great staff always there to help and to serve you. The hotel itself was spotless. Great beach access with plenty of palm tree shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sue & ralph
Business
fort atkinson, WI
Feb 28, 2010

fantastic family getaway

excellent WE enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 27, 2010

Fantastic location

The staff was friendly and helpful from the first moment of check in. The hotel is gorgeous, it has the best location, very wide lovely uncrowded beach area with many palm trees affording shade. The food at the buffet was fantastic,paella,roasted lamb, pasta ,great desserts. We are already planning our visit for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoz
Business
Waterford, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Should be bettter...

We requested an upgraded room because of lack of view, and were told we could have one the next day. We had planned to move the next morning only to be told nothing available. We asked if we could check out a little late because of a late flight to be told NO, with no offers to continue using facilities etc. after check-out. This advertises as a 5 star, but food definitely not there, including the "specialty" restaurants. Have been to several all-inclusive Riviera Maya resorts, and would not return here as others are equally nice, more service oriented and less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top