$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Jul 23, 2010

GREAT VACATION

Everything was great!! I would go back tomorrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 22, 2010

outstanding

We have stayed here previously and come back for the outstanding service and great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ElDorado Hills CA
Jul 21, 2010

Awsome, It's paradise

For an all inclusive the food was fantastic. Walk the beach and look at all the other resorts and relize you are staying at the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners 2010
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 18, 2010

Beautiful, Relaxing, & Excellent service

Stayed a week. Well worth the money. Gorgeous hotel and surroundings!!!! Lots of activities and nightly shows in the theatre were all excellent. Food was good. You have to make reservations at 5 of the restaurants for dinner. The best two take a few days ahead of time to get into but they're worth it. (Krystal and the Japanese one) You can only make two reservations at a time and the only times you can do it are between 12-3 which is when you're usually gone on a day trip of some sort so you have to plan it out well to get the restaurants you want and you may need to just eat buffet dinner one night to make it all work out but the buffet is still good too. One staircase walk way coming in from the courtyard smells like throw up during the day only, its weird. The rooms feel damp. Although there is one weird smell and damp rooms I would go back in a heartbeat! It was absolutely gorgeous, relaxing and so much fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RIU Palace Playa del Carmen
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 8, 2010

RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa del Carmen

The best hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runyon Ryan
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Riu Palace and Playa del Carmen perfecto

I can't say enough amazing things. From the moment I got to the hotel, the staff was so friendly and helpful and efficient. I loved the room, and promptly went to the pool to find my friends. I went to the beach, attended almost every restaurant in the resort, a few shows, and made friends with staff members.I have to say, it was probably the best vacation trip I've ever taken. I couldn't believe that the all-inclusive experience would be so easy to deal with and the food was really good. I'm recommending to my MOM and others to use [...] and stay at the same place. Although the staff spoke English for the most part, I enjoyed speaking Spanish almost the entire time. The deal was great too because vacations are really expensive these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There was an aviary a very short walk away where you can see some beautiful plants and native animals.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Great resort, alright food

I went with my girlfriend. Everything about the hotel was great, except the food. The food wasn't bad, but it was mediocre. Apart from that, it was a great stay. The rooms were really nice and clean, the pool and beach were great and a lot of fun. The hotel itself is beautiful. Also, there are plenty of bars and the drinks are good...tropical and non-tropical if you want. Also, you can rent catamarans and kayaks for free, which we did every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into the beach town of Playa del Carmen a few times to get some good food.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orbie
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Terrible

We walked in to a musty smelling lobby. The room was just as musty. All bed linens and dining room linens looked dirty and overused. The food was bad. We will never stay at a RIU hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pistakee
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 24, 2010

Constructive criticism

Beautiful resort, nice rooms, nice pool and beach, good location, you can walk to town (about 2 miles)or take a short cab ride for $5 or $50 pesos, excellent front desk service, average wait staff service, very few premium liquors, poor food quality at themed restaurants and poor shows, average buffets, went jet skiing for $60 US for 30 min, took resort Hobie Cat catamaran out for a sail for an hour (included in resort fee), shopping, dining, cocktails, dancing and sightseeing in town. Go vist the Blue Parrot bar on the beach one night and see the fire show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey J
Business
Spokane Valley, WA
Apr 8, 2010

A Palace indeed

Looking at the hotel pictures, the beach seems far away. It wasn't that far at all. The drinks from the pool bar were okay. Couldn't really take advantage of this feature (pool bar) because our kids were with us.. I was apprehensive because of going during Spring Break (26-31 Mar), but the kids were well behaved. Some parents/adults were loud and crazy at night. We had two rooms and the other room was lacking body soap, which was fixed on the spot. Never saw shampoo or lotion. The minibar and fridge were well taken care of. No weird smells or bugs and the beds were firm. I was in room 2009 and after the maid would use her key, someone from maint. would have to reprogram the lock. Food was very good, fresh, and a variety of things to choose from. Couldn't get reservations, please book early, if you plan to. We ate on 5th Ave. a few times. Great food and fun. Others mentioned the Ah Cacao Chocolate place. Great tip. They do make their own chocolate, and the brownies melt in your mouth. Never had anything like it, it's a bit rich, but worth it. It's pretty much at the end of 5th Ave. on the left. There's a concrete monument in the middle of the intersection. That was my landmark. All taxi's were $5 usd. We missed the ADO bus arriving at the airport, but used it to get back to the airport. We paid about $11 usd per person and the lady told me a bus leaves for the airport every 15 min. starting at 7 am. It doues make a couple of stops along the way, so plan accordingly. All in all, a very fun and relaxing vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shopping on 5th Ave. Good food for a very reasonable price.

Back to menu Return to top