RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
461 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
British Columbia, Canada
Dec 4, 2010

Looks nice, but didn't have a great time

We were looking forward to a fabulous experience because of all of the good ratings for this hotel.. HOWEVER we did not enjoy our stay at all. When we first got to the hotel, we were joined by a large group of people who were waiting hours to have their rooms ready for them to check in to. The front desk staff were rude, and they ignored us multiple times throughout our stay. Even though it was low season when we went, it was nearly impossible to get any dinner reservations, so we were stuck eating at the buffets all of the time. The buffet food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. There are way too many people staying there for the low amount of workers they have. The pool water was very colds so unless it is a extremely hot day you probably wont want to go swimming. The beach did not have any service on it, and there were cigarette butts and trash in the sand. The bedsheets in our suite were damp every day, and the rooms were not nice at all. Dark and dismal! In addition, one of the cleaners stole our digital camera with our trip photos. We spoke to the GM of the hotel and he did nothing about it. On the positive side, the beach of playa del carmen is amazing- you can walk right from the hotel beach all the way down to the downtown 5th st. in playa del carmen where all of the shops and entertainment are. It's a great walk to do in the afternoon, and to come back by sunset. If you choose to taxi one way, it is an inexpensive taxi too. The hotel is also very grand. Beautiful lobby and live piano- huge chandeliers and domed gorgeous ceilings. It was a beautiful property, but we just weren't impressed with out overall stay. Instead of staying here, I would DEFINITELY suggest that you stay at one of the Palace brand resorts. If you do this- I can PROMISE you that you will have the best vacation of your lifetime. My boyfriend and I have travelled a lot together, and our stay at the Cozumel Palace (just a ferry ride from Playa Del Carmen) was by far the best experience we have ever had. The Cozumel palace has fabulous promotions on that give you free spa treatments and tours, and gorgeous rooms with huge Jacuzzi tubs! They are a smaller resort, with really good service. Perfect vacation for couples ( I wouldn't recommend it for kids of families though). Hope this helps! Have a great vacation :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongos recently opened up in Playa Del Carmen. It is an unreal nighttime club! If you are also going to Cancun, you can go to the Coco Bongos in Cancun, because it is better- but if you are only going to Playa del Carmen, make sure to experience it!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic! Everything you could ask for.

This hotel has everything. It is more for the over 50 crowd as far as entertainment goes, but saw lots of younger people also. With the Riu wristband you could go to any of the Riu's for a different chage of scenery. This hotel was very elegant. We never had to wait in long lines for anything like some of the larger hotels. The food was outstanding. They had food available all day long at different places in the hotel. The staff was excellent. Loved the beach bar. Loved everything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel via the Ferry and rode motor scooters. Wait and pay for them when you get to cozumel and look at the bikes first. We payed for ours before we got on the ferry and were very dissappointed. Also, the shopping in Cozumel is lots better and cheaper.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic! Everything you could ask for.

This hotel has everything. It is more for the over 50 crowd as far as entertainment goes, but saw lots of younger people also. With the Riu wristband you could go to any of the Riu's for a different chage of scenery. This hotel was very elegant. We never had to wait in long lines for anything like some of the larger hotels. The food was outstanding. They had food available all day long at different places in the hotel. The staff was excellent. Loved the beach bar. Loved everything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel via the Ferry and rode motor scooters. Wait and pay for them when you get to cozumel and look at the bikes first. We payed for ours before we got on the ferry and were very dissappointed. Also, the shopping in Cozumel is lots better and cheaper.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PCB
Nov 19, 2010

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE GET AWAY

WE WENT TO THE HOTEL FOR A FAMILY WEDDING THAT WAS BEING HELD THERE. IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. THE ROOMS, FOOD, DRINK AND ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND ATTENTIVE. ONE DRAW BACK FOR ME WAS I LEFT MY JEWLERY ON THE BAR IN OUR ROOM AND WHN I GOT HOME AND RELIZED IT WAS MISSING I CALLED THE HOTEL BUT WAS TOLD HOUSEKEEPING DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. THAT WAS DISAPPOINTING SINCE I REALLY THOUGHT THAT THIS HOTEL WAS A TOP OF THE LINE HOTEL AND ALL ON THE UP AND UP. IT WAS MY OWN FAULT FOR FORGETTING IT. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BUY YOUR TRANSPORTATION TO THE HOTEL FROM THE AIRPORT IN ADVANCE AND DO EXACTLY AS THEY TELL YOU DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR TRANSPORT CO. THEY ARE BIG ON TIME SHARE AND CONDO SALES.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PCB
Nov 19, 2010

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE GET AWAY

WE WENT TO THE HOTEL FOR A FAMILY WEDDING THAT WAS BEING HELD THERE. IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. THE ROOMS, FOOD, DRINK AND ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND ATTENTIVE. ONE DRAW BACK FOR ME WAS I LEFT MY JEWLERY ON THE BAR IN OUR ROOM AND WHN I GOT HOME AND RELIZED IT WAS MISSING I CALLED THE HOTEL BUT WAS TOLD HOUSEKEEPING DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. THAT WAS DISAPPOINTING SINCE I REALLY THOUGHT THAT THIS HOTEL WAS A TOP OF THE LINE HOTEL AND ALL ON THE UP AND UP. IT WAS MY OWN FAULT FOR FORGETTING IT. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BUY YOUR TRANSPORTATION TO THE HOTEL FROM THE AIRPORT IN ADVANCE AND DO EXACTLY AS THEY TELL YOU DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR TRANSPORT CO. THEY ARE BIG ON TIME SHARE AND CONDO SALES.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
TX
Nov 16, 2010

Eh

Accommodations: The hotel was ornate and perfectly manicured, however slightly austere and stuffy. Service: prompt and friendly for the most part but slightly lacking compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. Food: plentiful but not very good...I would have preferred quality over quantity. Pool and beach area: clean and nice but nothing spectacular; no hot tub :(. Nightlife: on the resort it was almost non-existent. Entertainment: just ok. Drinks: drinks were served promptly (usually) but they were also just ok. They did not have a wide variety of alcohol; they were completely lacking some common bar staples like Captain Morgan or Jack Daniels! Price: The price was right for an all-inclusive however...it didn't feel all-inclusive bc we ended up having to go off the resort and spend a lot of $$$ every night to find good food, good drinks, or fun! On a plus note the hotel was just a short walk (or $5 cab ride) from the downtown area which was AMAZING...you MUST do that if you stay at this hotel...TONS of cool restaurants, bars, and shops down there. I would have just preferred to stay in the downtown area and void the "all-inclusive" resort thing all together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown area is GREAT! TONS of cool restaraunts, bars, and shops down there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
TX
Nov 16, 2010

Eh

Accommodations: The hotel was ornate and perfectly manicured, however slightly austere and stuffy. Service: prompt and friendly for the most part but slightly lacking compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. Food: plentiful but not very good...I would have preferred quality over quantity. Pool and beach area: clean and nice but nothing spectacular; no hot tub :(. Nightlife: on the resort it was almost non-existent. Entertainment: just ok. Drinks: drinks were served promptly (usually) but they were also just ok. They did not have a wide variety of alcohol; they were completely lacking some common bar staples like Captain Morgan or Jack Daniels! Price: The price was right for an all-inclusive however...it didn't feel all-inclusive bc we ended up having to go off the resort and spend a lot of $$$ every night to find good food, good drinks, or fun! On a plus note the hotel was just a short walk (or $5 cab ride) from the downtown area which was AMAZING...you MUST do that if you stay at this hotel...TONS of cool restaurants, bars, and shops down there. I would have just preferred to stay in the downtown area and void the "all-inclusive" resort thing all together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown area is GREAT! TONS of cool restaraunts, bars, and shops down there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 2, 2010

Great resort for couples and friends

Great accommodations and excellent service from all of the staff. Perfect beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 2, 2010

Great resort for couples and friends

Great accommodations and excellent service from all of the staff. Perfect beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Overall a Great Place

I mostly relaxed sea and pool side. The hotel staff was great and made sure everything you needed was taken care of. The staff made great recommendations about places to visit and various methods of transportation. I have no complaints regarding this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top