$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Dec 20, 2010

Good

We were staying in RIU Hotels for many times, but our experience with this RIU Palace hotel was unpleasant because our room was robbed and our valuable belongings disappeared, the hotel manager did not find time to talk to us personally. We were informed that it would take couple of days to investigate our report but nobody contacted us in NY when we came home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Dec 12, 2010

beautiful location

great beach, food, pools, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Dec 4, 2010

Looks nice, but didn't have a great time

We were looking forward to a fabulous experience because of all of the good ratings for this hotel.. HOWEVER we did not enjoy our stay at all. When we first got to the hotel, we were joined by a large group of people who were waiting hours to have their rooms ready for them to check in to. The front desk staff were rude, and they ignored us multiple times throughout our stay. Even though it was low season when we went, it was nearly impossible to get any dinner reservations, so we were stuck eating at the buffets all of the time. The buffet food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. There are way too many people staying there for the low amount of workers they have. The pool water was very colds so unless it is a extremely hot day you probably wont want to go swimming. The beach did not have any service on it, and there were cigarette butts and trash in the sand. The bedsheets in our suite were damp every day, and the rooms were not nice at all. Dark and dismal! In addition, one of the cleaners stole our digital camera with our trip photos. We spoke to the GM of the hotel and he did nothing about it. On the positive side, the beach of playa del carmen is amazing- you can walk right from the hotel beach all the way down to the downtown 5th st. in playa del carmen where all of the shops and entertainment are. It's a great walk to do in the afternoon, and to come back by sunset. If you choose to taxi one way, it is an inexpensive taxi too. The hotel is also very grand. Beautiful lobby and live piano- huge chandeliers and domed gorgeous ceilings. It was a beautiful property, but we just weren't impressed with out overall stay. Instead of staying here, I would DEFINITELY suggest that you stay at one of the Palace brand resorts. If you do this- I can PROMISE you that you will have the best vacation of your lifetime. My boyfriend and I have travelled a lot together, and our stay at the Cozumel Palace (just a ferry ride from Playa Del Carmen) was by far the best experience we have ever had. The Cozumel palace has fabulous promotions on that give you free spa treatments and tours, and gorgeous rooms with huge Jacuzzi tubs! They are a smaller resort, with really good service. Perfect vacation for couples ( I wouldn't recommend it for kids of families though). Hope this helps! Have a great vacation :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongos recently opened up in Playa Del Carmen. It is an unreal nighttime club! If you are also going to Cancun, you can go to the Coco Bongos in Cancun, because it is better- but if you are only going to Playa del Carmen, make sure to experience it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Dec 4, 2010

Looks nice, but didn't have a great time

We were looking forward to a fabulous experience because of all of the good ratings for this hotel.. HOWEVER we did not enjoy our stay at all. When we first got to the hotel, we were joined by a large group of people who were waiting hours to have their rooms ready for them to check in to. The front desk staff were rude, and they ignored us multiple times throughout our stay. Even though it was low season when we went, it was nearly impossible to get any dinner reservations, so we were stuck eating at the buffets all of the time. The buffet food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. There are way too many people staying there for the low amount of workers they have. The pool water was very colds so unless it is a extremely hot day you probably wont want to go swimming. The beach did not have any service on it, and there were cigarette butts and trash in the sand. The bedsheets in our suite were damp every day, and the rooms were not nice at all. Dark and dismal! In addition, one of the cleaners stole our digital camera with our trip photos. We spoke to the GM of the hotel and he did nothing about it. On the positive side, the beach of playa del carmen is amazing- you can walk right from the hotel beach all the way down to the downtown 5th st. in playa del carmen where all of the shops and entertainment are. It's a great walk to do in the afternoon, and to come back by sunset. If you choose to taxi one way, it is an inexpensive taxi too. The hotel is also very grand. Beautiful lobby and live piano- huge chandeliers and domed gorgeous ceilings. It was a beautiful property, but we just weren't impressed with out overall stay. Instead of staying here, I would DEFINITELY suggest that you stay at one of the Palace brand resorts. If you do this- I can PROMISE you that you will have the best vacation of your lifetime. My boyfriend and I have travelled a lot together, and our stay at the Cozumel Palace (just a ferry ride from Playa Del Carmen) was by far the best experience we have ever had. The Cozumel palace has fabulous promotions on that give you free spa treatments and tours, and gorgeous rooms with huge Jacuzzi tubs! They are a smaller resort, with really good service. Perfect vacation for couples ( I wouldn't recommend it for kids of families though). Hope this helps! Have a great vacation :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongos recently opened up in Playa Del Carmen. It is an unreal nighttime club! If you are also going to Cancun, you can go to the Coco Bongos in Cancun, because it is better- but if you are only going to Playa del Carmen, make sure to experience it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic! Everything you could ask for.

This hotel has everything. It is more for the over 50 crowd as far as entertainment goes, but saw lots of younger people also. With the Riu wristband you could go to any of the Riu's for a different chage of scenery. This hotel was very elegant. We never had to wait in long lines for anything like some of the larger hotels. The food was outstanding. They had food available all day long at different places in the hotel. The staff was excellent. Loved the beach bar. Loved everything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel via the Ferry and rode motor scooters. Wait and pay for them when you get to cozumel and look at the bikes first. We payed for ours before we got on the ferry and were very dissappointed. Also, the shopping in Cozumel is lots better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PCB
Nov 19, 2010

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE GET AWAY

WE WENT TO THE HOTEL FOR A FAMILY WEDDING THAT WAS BEING HELD THERE. IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. THE ROOMS, FOOD, DRINK AND ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND ATTENTIVE. ONE DRAW BACK FOR ME WAS I LEFT MY JEWLERY ON THE BAR IN OUR ROOM AND WHN I GOT HOME AND RELIZED IT WAS MISSING I CALLED THE HOTEL BUT WAS TOLD HOUSEKEEPING DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. THAT WAS DISAPPOINTING SINCE I REALLY THOUGHT THAT THIS HOTEL WAS A TOP OF THE LINE HOTEL AND ALL ON THE UP AND UP. IT WAS MY OWN FAULT FOR FORGETTING IT. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BUY YOUR TRANSPORTATION TO THE HOTEL FROM THE AIRPORT IN ADVANCE AND DO EXACTLY AS THEY TELL YOU DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR TRANSPORT CO. THEY ARE BIG ON TIME SHARE AND CONDO SALES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Nov 16, 2010

Eh

Accommodations: The hotel was ornate and perfectly manicured, however slightly austere and stuffy. Service: prompt and friendly for the most part but slightly lacking compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. Food: plentiful but not very good...I would have preferred quality over quantity. Pool and beach area: clean and nice but nothing spectacular; no hot tub :(. Nightlife: on the resort it was almost non-existent. Entertainment: just ok. Drinks: drinks were served promptly (usually) but they were also just ok. They did not have a wide variety of alcohol; they were completely lacking some common bar staples like Captain Morgan or Jack Daniels! Price: The price was right for an all-inclusive however...it didn't feel all-inclusive bc we ended up having to go off the resort and spend a lot of $$$ every night to find good food, good drinks, or fun! On a plus note the hotel was just a short walk (or $5 cab ride) from the downtown area which was AMAZING...you MUST do that if you stay at this hotel...TONS of cool restaurants, bars, and shops down there. I would have just preferred to stay in the downtown area and void the "all-inclusive" resort thing all together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown area is GREAT! TONS of cool restaraunts, bars, and shops down there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 2, 2010

Great resort for couples and friends

Great accommodations and excellent service from all of the staff. Perfect beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Overall a Great Place

I mostly relaxed sea and pool side. The hotel staff was great and made sure everything you needed was taken care of. The staff made great recommendations about places to visit and various methods of transportation. I have no complaints regarding this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi.
Oct 10, 2010

Not for families

The pool smelled like a cantina!!! there were a lot of drunks, not good for a family with small kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top