RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDAKAR
Business
usa
Jul 14, 2009

A+++ I am a Director for full service

This hotel was great!! the service was like I have never seen before. every staff member was happy and all our request were met. food was fantastic!!! although it might be more cost to stay her it is worth it. we looked at the other resorts while we were there and this hotel is better by a big difference. As mentioned I am a hard one to please since I am a director for a major US hotel chain. Well Done!!! great night activities on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord
Nov 22, 2008

Had a great wedding experience!!!

We chose the Riu Palace Riviera Maya as the hotel to host our wedding on 11.20.08 We had 50 guests attend and it was the best wedding EVER!!! The hotel was spectacular! The lobby has beautiful chandelier ceilings and dark cherry wood framing everywhere. It is truly grand! The rooms are nice and tidy. They were in the middle of upgrading alot of rooms w/ new mattreses and flat screen TV's. The food was delicious! I ate at all the specialty restauraunts and they were all very good. They greet you w/ a signature drink as you walk in! The pools were cold, but they are set up to cool you down from the scorching hot sun. Unfortunatley it wasnt that hot to get into the pool, so I just sun bathed and got into the ocean (which was much warmer than the pool) The beach is nice, but there are sand whales that block the waves from crashing in. Didn't look too pretty, but didn't bother us at either. If anything kids jumped and walked on them. Back to my wedding.... All my guest's loved the hotel, the staff was so friendly and courteous! they made us feel special! We all want to go back very very soon! The wedding coordinators decorated everything nicely. My wedding went off w/ out any problems and we partied from the moment we walked down the aisle till they closed down the restaurant for our private reception at Boto Fogo (brazillian bbq restaurant)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to do here! Go to 5th avenue and go shopping, there are a few good restauraunts and bars on that strip as well. Places to see and visit are fairly close (about a 20 min. drive) Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Tulum and Ruins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgewood
Jun 22, 2008

LOVE love LOOOOVE this place.

I think this is the IDEAL resort in Mexico. Its an about an hour drive from the airport in Cancun, but totally worth the extra travel time. All of the RIU properties are within an ACTUAL town--walking distance to shops and clubs, or a 50 peso cab ride ($5 USD), whereas most other resorts are off the side of a freeway. This location is perfect such that you can go to head north and visit cancun, or south to Tulum and visit ancient Mayan ruins (beautiful). Ferries also depart from Playa del Carmen to go to Cozumel. Pretty much everything is within reach. The room, the beach and entire property was clean, and the service was impeccable. The ONLY complaint i had was that one day i returned to my room to find damp sheets on the bed. I told the front desk about it and it was taken care of IMMEDIATELY. i was so impressed with the service that I gave the housekeeper a nice tip. The staff was extremely friendly and engaging. At first glance i thought the evening entertainment would be corny, but it was actually quite fun! I've told all of my friends and family about this place and i am DEFINITELY going back!! I have no children and didn't do any business while I was out there, but there is free WIFI in the entire massive lobby of the hotel, wake-up calls were always punctual, and most mom's and children seemed happy. This hotel is very accomodating to both families and singles. Overall i had an AMAZING experience and i cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Its walkign distance from la quinta avenida (5th avenue), but I'd never walk in strong sun in a direction im not exactly sure how to reach. Cabs are easily accessible from the hotel and its about a 5 minute drive. Just tell them you want to go to la quinta avenida and there you shall find an insane amount of shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Beach and pool are truly exceptional!!

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya, is a very beautiful hotel with accomadting staff. The beach area & pool are exceptional. The only slight complaint, would be the food. The buffets aren't all that great. And trying to secure a reservation for the dining rooms can be tedious. However, the drinks are worth it!! I would definetly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Playa de Carmen had quite a few Nightclubs and lounges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LouGuy402
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 24, 2009

Fantasy Island

This is a first class property, with every attention given to detail -- from arrival to departure! The rooms and property are magnificent and, not to be taken for granted in the Cancun area, a beautiful beach that is very smooth with white sands and stunningly clear, seaweed-free, water. The staff at this property cannot do enough for their guests and every employee in which we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful in any way possible. The property is first-class all the way (even 24/7 room service available -- not typical in all-inclusives) in every respect and is only a five minute cab ride from the lively downtown Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PLAYA PEOPLE
Business
VICKSBURG, MS
Jul 7, 2009

GOOD TIMES

GREAT EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL SERVICE ALONG WITH PLENTY OF RELAXATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth
Nov 22, 2008

Great all-around hotel

The staff was very friendly and the food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to Playa del Carmen for shopping and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champaign, IL
Jul 28, 2007

Very Friendly

The Riu Palace Riveria was an excellant resort. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy.It was located in a very nice area.It was only a 15 minute walk to downtown.The food was excellant with a choice of 5 restaurants on the resort area.I would definitely return to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to downtown. nice beach area at resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jpowers
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 12, 2011

Outstanding Hotel

Hotel was great. Noting was out of place and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The nightly entertainment was cheesy but we did enjoy it. It was tough to sit through the children entertainment before the main show. The mexican tootsie roll and chicken dance songs are stuck in my head and found myself whistling them in the airport on the way home! We found all the food to be top notch. No complaints other than we ate too much food. [...] met us our first morning and helped us setup our trips which included the Bonaza Horse Rides. We also had a snoreling trip setup in Cazumel. It was cancelled due to rough conditions with the wind blowing from the mainland to Cazumel. They called our room at 730am to cancel the trip which was nice because we were just getting up to get ready to catch the ferry over to Cozumel. One word of advice, we wouldn't recommend the snorkling trip thats offered at the hotel. Equipment was not very good, visibility was poor, and they loaded us in extremely dangerous surf conditions. I saw a good portion of the underside of the boat as it went over a wave and then I had to swim to the boat before the next wave. It was very dangerous and I consider myself to be a good swimer. This was the same day the snoreling trip in Cazumel was cancelled. The guide at the hotel said it was very calm on the mainland side which we foundout the hard way was not the case. There were waves breaking very close to where we were snorkeling. When the guide saw me at the pool he asked me how it was. I told him I wasn't impressed and thought they loaded us in extremely dangerous conditions. He just laughed and said it was part of the adventure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend Bonanza Horse Rides. The guides - [...] and [...] were extremely friendly and took at least 25-30 pictures of us on our horses as we rode on a jungle trail and along a private beach. Horses don't go in the water but view was beautiful. 2 hour trip was a perfect length.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho, USA
May 26, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Scuba diving – on resort training, I got my PADI certification with VERY safe and friendly staff. Airsoft rifle competition, nautical aerobics, starching on the sand beach, volleyball on the beach and in pool. Dancing a Blue Parrot – $7 each way from the resort (about 10 minutes' drive). Food was great, all you can eat all you want to eat (talking about healthy and great fresh vegies, meats, cheeses, fruits etc). A lot of variety of people and it was worth paying a little extra compare with other resorts. If you like the adventure, you will love this place. Also, this place is more for married couples, as if you are single, you will see a lot of goodies, but as we all know, you cannot touch. Every day there are activities that one can participate in and do so you will not have to get off the elegant resort. The entertainment team are just crazy guys and girls that will make you have a good time during the daily activates and on the night shows – every night there is a show that you need to see. There was also life music of different contemporary music – not club music. One night there was a very good saxophone singer/player. Very select a la carte restaurants (Brazilian, French, Spanish, Japanese). Over all the price was excellent and the service was great. One thing that they don't have that I thought that will be good, is to have a dancing club after hours so the guests who wants to dance will not be forced to get off the resort just for an hour or 2 of nice club atmosphere. Next time, I will go to Cancun too because of lagoon where you can go snorkeling and of club life that the younger once will enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

5 star food and dirinks all you want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top