$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karina Kool Momma
Couples
Addison Illinois
Nov 26, 2012

Couples getaway

We had an excellent time at Riu Palace the hotel was beautiful, the staff great. The only thing i would complain about was the night entertainment we need more activities for the younger couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to Playa Del Carmen to do some shopping we did and it was a 15 minute walk

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
boston ma
Dec 12, 2010

beautiful location

great beach, food, pools, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Colorado
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic! Everything you could ask for.

This hotel has everything. It is more for the over 50 crowd as far as entertainment goes, but saw lots of younger people also. With the Riu wristband you could go to any of the Riu's for a different chage of scenery. This hotel was very elegant. We never had to wait in long lines for anything like some of the larger hotels. The food was outstanding. They had food available all day long at different places in the hotel. The staff was excellent. Loved the beach bar. Loved everything about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel via the Ferry and rode motor scooters. Wait and pay for them when you get to cozumel and look at the bikes first. We payed for ours before we got on the ferry and were very dissappointed. Also, the shopping in Cozumel is lots better and cheaper.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
PCB
Nov 19, 2010

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE GET AWAY

WE WENT TO THE HOTEL FOR A FAMILY WEDDING THAT WAS BEING HELD THERE. IT WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. THE ROOMS, FOOD, DRINK AND ENTERTAINMENT WAS EXCELLENT. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD AND ATTENTIVE. ONE DRAW BACK FOR ME WAS I LEFT MY JEWLERY ON THE BAR IN OUR ROOM AND WHN I GOT HOME AND RELIZED IT WAS MISSING I CALLED THE HOTEL BUT WAS TOLD HOUSEKEEPING DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. THAT WAS DISAPPOINTING SINCE I REALLY THOUGHT THAT THIS HOTEL WAS A TOP OF THE LINE HOTEL AND ALL ON THE UP AND UP. IT WAS MY OWN FAULT FOR FORGETTING IT. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE WAS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BUY YOUR TRANSPORTATION TO THE HOTEL FROM THE AIRPORT IN ADVANCE AND DO EXACTLY AS THEY TELL YOU DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR TRANSPORT CO. THEY ARE BIG ON TIME SHARE AND CONDO SALES.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
TX
Nov 16, 2010

Eh

Accommodations: The hotel was ornate and perfectly manicured, however slightly austere and stuffy. Service: prompt and friendly for the most part but slightly lacking compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. Food: plentiful but not very good...I would have preferred quality over quantity. Pool and beach area: clean and nice but nothing spectacular; no hot tub :(. Nightlife: on the resort it was almost non-existent. Entertainment: just ok. Drinks: drinks were served promptly (usually) but they were also just ok. They did not have a wide variety of alcohol; they were completely lacking some common bar staples like Captain Morgan or Jack Daniels! Price: The price was right for an all-inclusive however...it didn't feel all-inclusive bc we ended up having to go off the resort and spend a lot of $$$ every night to find good food, good drinks, or fun! On a plus note the hotel was just a short walk (or $5 cab ride) from the downtown area which was AMAZING...you MUST do that if you stay at this hotel...TONS of cool restaurants, bars, and shops down there. I would have just preferred to stay in the downtown area and void the "all-inclusive" resort thing all together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown area is GREAT! TONS of cool restaraunts, bars, and shops down there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 2, 2010

Great resort for couples and friends

Great accommodations and excellent service from all of the staff. Perfect beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Overall a Great Place

I mostly relaxed sea and pool side. The hotel staff was great and made sure everything you needed was taken care of. The staff made great recommendations about places to visit and various methods of transportation. I have no complaints regarding this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ann Arbor, Mi.
Oct 10, 2010

Not for families

The pool smelled like a cantina!!! there were a lot of drunks, not good for a family with small kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Vancouver Canada
Sep 20, 2010

Nice place

Personal service and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Not much nearby

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E Ellis
Couples
Lexington Ky
Sep 11, 2010

Lovely Vacation

First off, the hotel was great.Great staff and very clean. Only complaint was the noise all night from room service carts and drunk people fighting in the halls. Food was great. Gets old after so many days though. We were warned by other guests not to eat at the restaurants and they were all empty anyway. Overall, very relaxing and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to stare at the wall. It gets very boring very quickly. not sufficient entertainment at night or day. Blaying cards or befriend another couple!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Fort Collins, CO
Aug 19, 2010

Great location, great service

Had a great time, excellent service, rooms were ok. theme rest. and buffet good. just got alittle noisy with entertainment crew yelling in microphone at pool and some night shows were extremly loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1.5 mile to playa del carmen.

Back to menu Return to top