$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 8, 2008

Very family friendly

It could use morning cardio work out with a profesional arobic instractor in a airconitioned jim at list 4 times a week. The door in the room had a problem with a lock. And a room could use at list a chair. The Toors are very poorly orgonised.And transportation from airport to the hotel and back could be a little more polished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Could use some live Jazz. Graet dinning, and close to everything

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BAM1
Couples
St Louis, MO
Sep 17, 2007

Beautiful hotel!

The Riu Palace was amazing! Stately, beautifally appointed, great location and great service. We definitely want to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Aug 8, 2007

Truly a palace

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous...truly a palace! The location and scenery on the beach was wonderful. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The hotel staff and the service were excellent. They truly made you feel like you were staying at a palace. The food at the buffet was very good...good variety with many delicious choices. The food in the specialty restaurants was great as well, especiality in the Gormet Restaurant, where the service was great! I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping is good in Playa del Carmen. It is too long to walk, although they may tell you otherwise. Take a cab instead.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orange County, CA
Jul 7, 2007

Gorgeus Hotel excelent location

The Hotel is gorgeus, the architecture and decoration WOW. Play Del Carmen is beautiful and just 5 minutes from the hotel, good food, nice pools and beautiful and romantic private beach. The best food was Chilly's restaurant inside the hotel with delicious steak. Be prepared to climb stairs and do some walking(wich is good after so much eating). The different variety of licors bottles free at the room is really coolto have. A tip would be for you to go to Cancum stop at Playa Delphines (GORGEUS) and them spend the rest of the day at the other RIU Palace there, they have a delicious Italian food walk in restaurant for lunch and no reservation required. You can use the facilities, pool, beach and spa to take a shower and even enjoy some of the nightlife in Cancun and drive back to Play Del Carmen. We had a great relaxation time!Perfect for couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping at Play Del Carmen downtown

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDAKAR
Couples
usa
Jul 14, 2009

A+++ I am a Director for full service

This hotel was great!! the service was like I have never seen before. every staff member was happy and all our request were met. food was fantastic!!! although it might be more cost to stay her it is worth it. we looked at the other resorts while we were there and this hotel is better by a big difference. As mentioned I am a hard one to please since I am a director for a major US hotel chain. Well Done!!! great night activities on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Concord
Nov 22, 2008

Had a great wedding experience!!!

We chose the Riu Palace Riviera Maya as the hotel to host our wedding on 11.20.08 We had 50 guests attend and it was the best wedding EVER!!! The hotel was spectacular! The lobby has beautiful chandelier ceilings and dark cherry wood framing everywhere. It is truly grand! The rooms are nice and tidy. They were in the middle of upgrading alot of rooms w/ new mattreses and flat screen TV's. The food was delicious! I ate at all the specialty restauraunts and they were all very good. They greet you w/ a signature drink as you walk in! The pools were cold, but they are set up to cool you down from the scorching hot sun. Unfortunatley it wasnt that hot to get into the pool, so I just sun bathed and got into the ocean (which was much warmer than the pool) The beach is nice, but there are sand whales that block the waves from crashing in. Didn't look too pretty, but didn't bother us at either. If anything kids jumped and walked on them. Back to my wedding.... All my guest's loved the hotel, the staff was so friendly and courteous! they made us feel special! We all want to go back very very soon! The wedding coordinators decorated everything nicely. My wedding went off w/ out any problems and we partied from the moment we walked down the aisle till they closed down the restaurant for our private reception at Boto Fogo (brazillian bbq restaurant)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to do here! Go to 5th avenue and go shopping, there are a few good restauraunts and bars on that strip as well. Places to see and visit are fairly close (about a 20 min. drive) Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Tulum and Ruins

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ridgewood
Jun 22, 2008

LOVE love LOOOOVE this place.

I think this is the IDEAL resort in Mexico. Its an about an hour drive from the airport in Cancun, but totally worth the extra travel time. All of the RIU properties are within an ACTUAL town--walking distance to shops and clubs, or a 50 peso cab ride ($5 USD), whereas most other resorts are off the side of a freeway. This location is perfect such that you can go to head north and visit cancun, or south to Tulum and visit ancient Mayan ruins (beautiful). Ferries also depart from Playa del Carmen to go to Cozumel. Pretty much everything is within reach. The room, the beach and entire property was clean, and the service was impeccable. The ONLY complaint i had was that one day i returned to my room to find damp sheets on the bed. I told the front desk about it and it was taken care of IMMEDIATELY. i was so impressed with the service that I gave the housekeeper a nice tip. The staff was extremely friendly and engaging. At first glance i thought the evening entertainment would be corny, but it was actually quite fun! I've told all of my friends and family about this place and i am DEFINITELY going back!! I have no children and didn't do any business while I was out there, but there is free WIFI in the entire massive lobby of the hotel, wake-up calls were always punctual, and most mom's and children seemed happy. This hotel is very accomodating to both families and singles. Overall i had an AMAZING experience and i cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Its walkign distance from la quinta avenida (5th avenue), but I'd never walk in strong sun in a direction im not exactly sure how to reach. Cabs are easily accessible from the hotel and its about a 5 minute drive. Just tell them you want to go to la quinta avenida and there you shall find an insane amount of shops.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Beach and pool are truly exceptional!!

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya, is a very beautiful hotel with accomadting staff. The beach area & pool are exceptional. The only slight complaint, would be the food. The buffets aren't all that great. And trying to secure a reservation for the dining rooms can be tedious. However, the drinks are worth it!! I would definetly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Playa de Carmen had quite a few Nightclubs and lounges.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LouGuy402
Couples
Louisville, KY
Jun 24, 2009

Fantasy Island

This is a first class property, with every attention given to detail -- from arrival to departure! The rooms and property are magnificent and, not to be taken for granted in the Cancun area, a beautiful beach that is very smooth with white sands and stunningly clear, seaweed-free, water. The staff at this property cannot do enough for their guests and every employee in which we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful in any way possible. The property is first-class all the way (even 24/7 room service available -- not typical in all-inclusives) in every respect and is only a five minute cab ride from the lively downtown Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PLAYA PEOPLE
Couples
VICKSBURG, MS
Jul 7, 2009

GOOD TIMES

GREAT EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL SERVICE ALONG WITH PLENTY OF RELAXATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top