$308 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
290 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George N
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 7, 2011

Fantastic Experience!

We have traveled extensively internationally in many 5 star resorts, but this one should get 6 or even 7 stars. The site is MAGNIFICENT, like being in your own estate or castle! The dining couldn't be better even if you had a private chef. The main restaurant served numerous buffets for each meal with anything and everything anyone could desire. The service was OVER THE TOP. These employees are not only happy and enthusiastic to provide you with fantastic service, but are truly sincere and treat you like a millionaire and better. We couldn't have asked for a better place or better anything if we could dream of the most elaborate experience. If you plan on a trip to the Cancun area, this is the ONLY PLACE you will need to go to. A TRUE EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME and we will return several times per year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Menu and food were better than first class. Like having a private chef!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, NL
Oct 1, 2008

Excelent service

The excelent service that this hotel has ressembles the one you receive on cruises. Everything is possible, no excuses. I visit it on low season, I didn?t see any service attitude diminishing, everybody there wants your comfort. And the facilities are more much than nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen itself is a better base to visit Xcaret than Cancun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parker
Jun 5, 2008

Great place to vacation

My family and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. It is truly a 5 star facility. The ocean and beaches were beautiful. The service is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

All types of water sports are available at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Round Rock
Aug 31, 2008

Good value in Playacar

Overall, staying at the RIU Palace Maya Riveria was a very pleasant experience. Positives include: very friendly and accommodating staff, nice pool & beach, decent spa/gym, good food, big rooms, well kept and clean. Negatives include: not a very comfortable bed, limited lunch options, gym is very small and no free weights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 25, 2011

One of the best vacations ever!

Everything came together just great during our trip. We traveled together with two other couples and were originally booked at different Riu Palaces (Riviera Maya and Mexico, which are 10 mins walk from each other). We asked and they put us all in this hotel and everything at the hotel was top notch: food, service in rooms, restaurants, bars, entertainment, etc. The location is great (quiet super-nice area with great beach, but really close to the city). 6 days was not enough. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try to book a dinner at Krystal restaurant for one of the nights you're staying there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 17, 2009

Labor Day 2009 trip

This trip was awesome! I can't say enough good things about the Riu Palace resort. It was everything I expected plus so much more.The only thing I regret was that I had planned for longer than three nights, that was just not long enough. There was so much to see as this was my first time to the area, so wish I would have had more time to explore. We did check out a couple of other resorts in the area and I was very pleased I chose the Riu Palace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We went on the Selvetica Canopy Tour while there, and it was so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuck In The Snow
Business
Livonia, MI
Dec 17, 2009

Beautiful!

Wonderful service, beautiful grounds, great rooms, decent food. The buffet has great options, most are better than the restaurants which was a pleasant surprise. The people went out of there way to please us. We had a wonderful experience. Definitely upgrade to the Palace Riviera Maya as opposed to the other Riu's. It will be well worth it. The only way it could have been better would have been to upgrade to a room with a balcony facing the inner courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma
Dec 27, 2008

Outstanding Vacation Resort

Beside the beauty of the resort, it's amenities and it's on the beautiful beach location, the staff was exceptional and the service impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The pleasant without the upscale price town of Playa del Carmen had plenty of shops and restaurants/bars for entertainment. Friendly people and only about a 15 minute walk from our resort. PERFECT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Dec 14, 2009

Anniversary Celebration

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya was perfect! We loved staying here and have stayed next door at Reef Playacar before. The RIU was so worth the extra money. If you are a beach lover you will love their palm tree covered beach area. The service was so great and we were constantly asked if we wanted drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 14, 2009

The best stay and value!

The food was outstanding! Make sure you make reservations at their Japanese restaurant. The entire place is very clean. There are maids everywhere cleaning all of the time. Make sure you hit up Mr. Islas at the lobby bar for a double margarita. He's one of the best and very outgoing. This is the best place for the price. If you like scuba diving, I would recommend Cozumel. The reefs aren't as nice near this hotel. I can't speak for the other resorts though. Swimming is not safe for kids in front of this hotel. There can be a rough current. They had red flags up almost every day. Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed at. This was our second time and we are already planning our next trip. Once again, the food was freaking outstanding. Great for fresh seafood lovers like myself. Oh and even though tips are included, I recommend carrying one dollar bills and throwing them a bone once in a while. They work harder than any hotel worker in the U.S. and will do anything, within their job description, to keep you happy. But you can always tell when someone is having a bad day. They are human too. Over and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I guess Coco Bongo is the place to go in downtown Playa Del Carmen. Lots of chicas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top