$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jpowers
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 12, 2011

Outstanding Hotel

Hotel was great. Noting was out of place and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The nightly entertainment was cheesy but we did enjoy it. It was tough to sit through the children entertainment before the main show. The mexican tootsie roll and chicken dance songs are stuck in my head and found myself whistling them in the airport on the way home! We found all the food to be top notch. No complaints other than we ate too much food. [...] met us our first morning and helped us setup our trips which included the Bonaza Horse Rides. We also had a snoreling trip setup in Cazumel. It was cancelled due to rough conditions with the wind blowing from the mainland to Cazumel. They called our room at 730am to cancel the trip which was nice because we were just getting up to get ready to catch the ferry over to Cozumel. One word of advice, we wouldn't recommend the snorkling trip thats offered at the hotel. Equipment was not very good, visibility was poor, and they loaded us in extremely dangerous surf conditions. I saw a good portion of the underside of the boat as it went over a wave and then I had to swim to the boat before the next wave. It was very dangerous and I consider myself to be a good swimer. This was the same day the snoreling trip in Cazumel was cancelled. The guide at the hotel said it was very calm on the mainland side which we foundout the hard way was not the case. There were waves breaking very close to where we were snorkeling. When the guide saw me at the pool he asked me how it was. I told him I wasn't impressed and thought they loaded us in extremely dangerous conditions. He just laughed and said it was part of the adventure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend Bonanza Horse Rides. The guides - [...] and [...] were extremely friendly and took at least 25-30 pictures of us on our horses as we rode on a jungle trail and along a private beach. Horses don't go in the water but view was beautiful. 2 hour trip was a perfect length.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toohumid
Business
Canada
Mar 8, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

7 days was not long enough as I was sick for 2 days from eating at the buffet!!! My husband who ate nothing but cooked food(no fresh fruit etc did not get sick) All the staff work extremely hard(12hrs/day) MAKE SURE YOU TIP Be prepared for high humidity and musty smelling rooms.The sheets always felt wet. The hotel was very elegant and the grounds well kept. We found most of the vacationers unfriendly and some just rude. WE like the Pacific side of Mexico as there are more fun loving vacationers there!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of shop keepers in Playa telling you they were your waitor at your hotel. They know where you are staying because of the bracelet you have to wear. They can suck you in quickly!!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George N
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 7, 2011

Fantastic Experience!

We have traveled extensively internationally in many 5 star resorts, but this one should get 6 or even 7 stars. The site is MAGNIFICENT, like being in your own estate or castle! The dining couldn't be better even if you had a private chef. The main restaurant served numerous buffets for each meal with anything and everything anyone could desire. The service was OVER THE TOP. These employees are not only happy and enthusiastic to provide you with fantastic service, but are truly sincere and treat you like a millionaire and better. We couldn't have asked for a better place or better anything if we could dream of the most elaborate experience. If you plan on a trip to the Cancun area, this is the ONLY PLACE you will need to go to. A TRUE EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME and we will return several times per year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Menu and food were better than first class. Like having a private chef!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 7, 2011

If you can get a deal, go!

If you can get a really good deal to go to this hotel, take it. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is fabulous and, although I didn't spend any time at the pool (just the beach), it looks like the hotel staff works very hard to make the pool (complete with swim-up bar) lots of fun. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, lunch is pretty good and the restaurants for dinner ranged from good to terrible. Biggest complaints: the people at reception were unfriendly and unhelpful (and, at times, nasty) and the system for making dinner reservations is ridiculous. If I got a really good deal, I would go back. Otherwise, I would try a different resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 25, 2011

One of the best vacations ever!

Everything came together just great during our trip. We traveled together with two other couples and were originally booked at different Riu Palaces (Riviera Maya and Mexico, which are 10 mins walk from each other). We asked and they put us all in this hotel and everything at the hotel was top notch: food, service in rooms, restaurants, bars, entertainment, etc. The location is great (quiet super-nice area with great beach, but really close to the city). 6 days was not enough. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try to book a dinner at Krystal restaurant for one of the nights you're staying there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Jan 30, 2011

RIU Feedback

Very nice atmosphere, in room service could have been better...frig not restocked daily, tissues gone, etc. Reservations for dining took too much time and noisy with doors slamming late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mn
Jan 29, 2011

Excellent

Great family vacation. Excellent food, friendly staff and lots to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RIU ALL INCLUSIVE
Business
New York, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Jan stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Staff was exceptional, very attentive, polite and bilingual. The took care of our every need and happily worked diligently with everything they did. RIU found a clan of perfectionists to work here! The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous as you can no doubt see from the many online pictures. However in person it radiates class. The rooms, even the most efficiently priced rooms were large, air-conditioned with comfortable beds sand TVs with US channels. Food was amazing and diverse! We ate in many of the specialty restaurant and enjoyed them immensly. The only note here is that they follow a fancy European course timetable. Allowing much time between course for conversation. The buffets were fantastic and changed from day to day. They offered many many good foods and also offered something for the Vegan in our group. I intend on going back again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jan 16, 2011

Great vacation

Great service and beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Fla
Jan 12, 2011

Simply outstanding!!

The hotel far exceded our expectations! Facilities,food and staff were all outstanding. Best dollar value we ever experienced. We will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The theme specific restaurants at the hotel were very good but because there were 2 seatings per night, you were somewhat rushed at the early seating. We enjoyed the buffets more in part because they were more relaxed and leasurely.

Back to menu Return to top