RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required
Daiquiri
Poolside bar with swim up bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Exceeded all Expectations

Just returned from a five day stay at the Riu Riveria Maya Palace in Playa del Carmen. It was truly outstanding. We are a family of four with two kids ages 10 and 13. The hotel is beautiful, the pictures are accurate. The beach and the setting are the definition of paradise. Pool and pool bar area are fabulous, too. Staff was friendly and quite helpful. Food was exceptionally good. Fabulous variety and incredible abundance. Not gourmet food but considering they are feeding the masses (this hotel is large) everything was very, very high quality. Fresh, varied, hot and always available. We are new to the "all-inclusive" concept and we loved it. Quality was not compromised in the least. Room was nice, not exceptional but quite good. Water pressure in shower is lacking (our only complaint) but not the worst we've had. We had a pool side room and it was very convenient. Someone here complained of noise at night from the pool area. I am a very light sleeper and we were early to bed 10-11 pm. Noise was completely non-existent with doors closed and air conditioning on. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simongold
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Very Good hotel

Everything was just perfect. One can't ask for more. We really enjoyed it. The only thing I did not like was access to the Internet. Wireless access was only from the main lobby area. It was very slow and sometimes did not work at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eliot, me
Apr 12, 2011

Our take

We have traveled to Playa Del Carmen on numerous occasions. For the most part our trips are great. This was not our first time at a Riu and was our second at this particular one. Good things: the service and staff were excellant, everyone was very friendly. Thank you [...]. The hotel is close to town which is why we selected it. The bad: Yes, there were cockroachers in the rooms. We have never encountered this in all our trips to Mexico. Also the pool was dirty. It was never cleaned the whole time we were there. This was also very surprising for the caliber hotel this is supposed to be. We will not return to his hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The town of Playa is a great place for shopping and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rest and Relax
Business
Chicago, Il
Mar 27, 2011

Couples get away

We have stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas in Cancun a couple of times, and had some of our best vacations ever. We thought we would give the Riu Palace Riviera Maya a try. It seems it is a safe bet to say at any Riu Palace. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are nice and clean, and the food is good. The Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located in a beautiful gated community, with 4 other Riu Properties guest have access to. Riu Palace Riviera Maya is a beautifully property with a great beach. However, this was the first time there where soooo many children, and no where to escape. This might have been because it was spring break, but I have traveled before during spring break and there is usually extra college kids, but this was 5 months to 12 years old children that where in excess.This is great for families traveling together, but couples that need to escape and relax, I would pay the extra to stay at a no children resort, especially during spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 14, 2011

Resort - Great, Service OK

Went for some adult time to relax and forget about worries and stresses. Beautiful resort, good food. Kind of a pain to get reservations for the ala cartes. We ended up slipping some $$ to the guy doing the reservations and were able to get to where we wanted to be. Otherwise we were told they were booked. Funny thing was when dining, there were always several empty tables. hmmmmm/ Pool and beach beautiful with ample areas of either sun or shade. The days flew by, nites were fun, and shows were cute. Nice resort in all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Slip some cash, money talks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 12, 2011

Relaxing

Very friendly staff that go out of there way to take care of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jpowers
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 12, 2011

Outstanding Hotel

Hotel was great. Noting was out of place and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The nightly entertainment was cheesy but we did enjoy it. It was tough to sit through the children entertainment before the main show. The mexican tootsie roll and chicken dance songs are stuck in my head and found myself whistling them in the airport on the way home! We found all the food to be top notch. No complaints other than we ate too much food. [...] met us our first morning and helped us setup our trips which included the Bonaza Horse Rides. We also had a snoreling trip setup in Cazumel. It was cancelled due to rough conditions with the wind blowing from the mainland to Cazumel. They called our room at 730am to cancel the trip which was nice because we were just getting up to get ready to catch the ferry over to Cozumel. One word of advice, we wouldn't recommend the snorkling trip thats offered at the hotel. Equipment was not very good, visibility was poor, and they loaded us in extremely dangerous surf conditions. I saw a good portion of the underside of the boat as it went over a wave and then I had to swim to the boat before the next wave. It was very dangerous and I consider myself to be a good swimer. This was the same day the snoreling trip in Cazumel was cancelled. The guide at the hotel said it was very calm on the mainland side which we foundout the hard way was not the case. There were waves breaking very close to where we were snorkeling. When the guide saw me at the pool he asked me how it was. I told him I wasn't impressed and thought they loaded us in extremely dangerous conditions. He just laughed and said it was part of the adventure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend Bonanza Horse Rides. The guides - [...] and [...] were extremely friendly and took at least 25-30 pictures of us on our horses as we rode on a jungle trail and along a private beach. Horses don't go in the water but view was beautiful. 2 hour trip was a perfect length.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toohumid
Business
Canada
Mar 8, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

7 days was not long enough as I was sick for 2 days from eating at the buffet!!! My husband who ate nothing but cooked food(no fresh fruit etc did not get sick) All the staff work extremely hard(12hrs/day) MAKE SURE YOU TIP Be prepared for high humidity and musty smelling rooms.The sheets always felt wet. The hotel was very elegant and the grounds well kept. We found most of the vacationers unfriendly and some just rude. WE like the Pacific side of Mexico as there are more fun loving vacationers there!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of shop keepers in Playa telling you they were your waitor at your hotel. They know where you are staying because of the bracelet you have to wear. They can suck you in quickly!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George N
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 7, 2011

Fantastic Experience!

We have traveled extensively internationally in many 5 star resorts, but this one should get 6 or even 7 stars. The site is MAGNIFICENT, like being in your own estate or castle! The dining couldn't be better even if you had a private chef. The main restaurant served numerous buffets for each meal with anything and everything anyone could desire. The service was OVER THE TOP. These employees are not only happy and enthusiastic to provide you with fantastic service, but are truly sincere and treat you like a millionaire and better. We couldn't have asked for a better place or better anything if we could dream of the most elaborate experience. If you plan on a trip to the Cancun area, this is the ONLY PLACE you will need to go to. A TRUE EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME and we will return several times per year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Menu and food were better than first class. Like having a private chef!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 7, 2011

If you can get a deal, go!

If you can get a really good deal to go to this hotel, take it. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is fabulous and, although I didn't spend any time at the pool (just the beach), it looks like the hotel staff works very hard to make the pool (complete with swim-up bar) lots of fun. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, lunch is pretty good and the restaurants for dinner ranged from good to terrible. Biggest complaints: the people at reception were unfriendly and unhelpful (and, at times, nasty) and the system for making dinner reservations is ridiculous. If I got a really good deal, I would go back. Otherwise, I would try a different resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top