$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
281 reviews
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty... See full review

  • Shann yshoo
  • Jul 30, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Chester, PA
Jan 30, 2011

RIU Feedback

Very nice atmosphere, in room service could have been better...frig not restocked daily, tissues gone, etc. Reservations for dining took too much time and noisy with doors slamming late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
mn
Jan 29, 2011

Excellent

Great family vacation. Excellent food, friendly staff and lots to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RIU ALL INCLUSIVE
New York, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Jan stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Staff was exceptional, very attentive, polite and bilingual. The took care of our every need and happily worked diligently with everything they did. RIU found a clan of perfectionists to work here! The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous as you can no doubt see from the many online pictures. However in person it radiates class. The rooms, even the most efficiently priced rooms were large, air-conditioned with comfortable beds sand TVs with US channels. Food was amazing and diverse! We ate in many of the specialty restaurant and enjoyed them immensly. The only note here is that they follow a fancy European course timetable. Allowing much time between course for conversation. The buffets were fantastic and changed from day to day. They offered many many good foods and also offered something for the Vegan in our group. I intend on going back again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Jan 16, 2011

Great vacation

Great service and beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, Fla
Jan 12, 2011

Simply outstanding!!

The hotel far exceded our expectations! Facilities,food and staff were all outstanding. Best dollar value we ever experienced. We will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The theme specific restaurants at the hotel were very good but because there were 2 seatings per night, you were somewhat rushed at the early seating. We enjoyed the buffets more in part because they were more relaxed and leasurely.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington D.C.
Jan 10, 2011

Great resort, fantastic food

We went to the resort for a week, and had a great time. The RIU Palace Riviera Maya offers excellent restaurants, a wonderful pool, big, nice, clean rooms and a fantastic all-inclusive service. Compared to former all-inclusice experiences, this was much better in terms of quality, especially concerning the quality of the restaurants. Staff is very nice, and everybody loves children. The only thing that we did not like was the kids' area, with a minimalistic pool and a ridiculous playground (small and not very tidy). But apart from that, we can only recommend the resort. Don't expect too much from downtown Playa del Carmen, though: It is just a big shopping mall, and we were happy that we could return to our resort after an hour. But you should definitely go to the ruins of the old Maya city of Chichen-itza, and to Tulum, an ideal combination of culture and beach recreation. Concerning the evening entertainment program, there is some (too loud) live music, which ends, fortunately, around 11 p.m., but also some nice ideas like roulette and things like that in the open patio, where you can try your luck without risking your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The destination Tulum is highly recommended for a half-day trip: the combination of Maya ruins with a breathtaking beach area (take your bathing suits!) is unique. We joined an organized tour, but as Tulum is only a half-hour drive from Playa del Carmen, you may just as well rent a car and stay on the beach in Tulum as long as you want.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chamix
Medellín Colombia
Jan 9, 2011

Playa del carmen

The hotel is great. The pool and the beach front is great! The activities in the hotel aré restricted but we enjoy it a lot. If you get bored at the hotel playa del Carmen is a great party center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit Playa del Carmen Downtown!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Cat
Houston, Texas
Dec 27, 2010

Beautiful Place, Excellent Service

I stayed at the Hotel the whole time I was there. The Resort is located about 55-65 [km] Southwest of Cancun Airport. I personally rented a car on this occasion but I had friends that booked themselves with a van that drove them from the resort to and from the airport which is very convenient and safe (I heard they have GPS tracking each van). I will definitely do so next time I go down there. Driving isn't a hassle if you choose to rent a car because there is only one main highway and that's the one that takes you directly to the resort. As for those party go-ers the town of Playa del Carmen has very few places to go to for clubbing and bars. Most of the activity I saw was more in the surrounding resorts at the Playacar complex where the Riu Riviera Maya Palace is located. If you want more adventure, you can catch a ferry to Cozumel which is walking distance from the resort so its a great place, location and activity wise. I highly recommend it. A great place to take the family and experience paradise. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston, eh
Houston
Dec 26, 2010

pre-Christmas trip

Overall fantastic trip. This was our third Riu stay, and would definitely book here again. Great amenities including a golf course across the street (literally!), and a 5-minute walk to Starbucks. Safe location, friendly staff and great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mini-mall just down the road from the hotel - had all the usual souvenirs, plus a restaurant, Starbucks and pharmacy/convenience stores. All within a 5-minute (safe) walk from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Traveller
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 21, 2010

Small but Amazing

The hotel service was amazing. From the moment we drove up to the hotel until we left the service was fast, efficient and friendly. The room was very nice and cleaned everyday. The bar fridge was fully stocked with alcohol, pop and water. We were also very happy with the food. The buffet was excellent and we had no trouble getting into the other restaurants. Delicious. We have stayed at two other hotels in this area. The service and food was well above the other two hotels we stayed at. The only down side was that it is a smaller resort. However, the night life here was way more happening then other resorts we have been to. Plus, we never had a problem finding deck or beach chairs!! I would definitely recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In a short walk away from the downtown is a small shopping area where we found a lot of our take home treasures.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search