$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexico first timer
Family
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2011

Nice Hotel but Not The Best

The hotel was great, the beach and pool were really good. The only issue was the staff, I think they can be a little more professional. They act like they are at their own hotel. But other than that it is definitely a great place for a summer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for Steak House and Japanese they are amazing.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sacramento, California
Jun 27, 2011

Great Place!

We had heard great things about all of the Rui Hotels, so we were excited to visit the Rui Palace in Riviera Maya. We definitely recommend this hotel to couples (they had some children activities but not much). The grounds are kept very neat and clean. Be careful walking in the hallways, it seemed as though they cleaned the floors every day. The service at all of the restaurants and bars were exceptional. I definitely recommend [...] he is one of the head servers in the patio area. He provided the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel or restaurant. Beach was gorgeous and clean, plenty of chairs to relax in. The bar at the pool was nice as well. Unfortunately though the bar closes at 6pm. They should keep it open later since it stays light out well after 6pm (one of the few negatives). Rooms were spacious and clean as well. I'm a picky eater so I wasn't too impressed with the food, but my husband said the food was great with a good variety at the buffet. Need reservations at the other restaurants on site which is another negative. When we're on vacation we definitely don't like being on a schedule but we made it work. We would definitely recommend Riviera Maya and the Rui Palace to anyone looking for a romantic, nice, high quality place for a honeymoon or vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XPlor park and ATVs at Punta Venado were so much fun!! We definitely recommend!!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba Keg
Friends
Denver Colorado
Jun 15, 2011

Awesome Accomodations

Rui Palace is one of the best hotels in mexico, we have been to several and have finally found what we where looking for, the rooms very clean, service EXCELLENT, the resturants and buffet had a huge variety and was very good for the taste. Overall I would rate this hotel stay a 5 star and do plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

water recreation awesome

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A2, Jaybird, A0 (nicknames we made their
Friends
Detroit, MI
Jun 15, 2011

BEST RESORT BY FAR! YOU MUST EXPERIENCE

Spectacular Service, Phenomenal Resort, The most Beautiful Brach!!!!!! Everything about this place was 5-stars. SOOOO many activities (water sports, sight seeing like crazy, zip lining, tours, Mayan Ruins on an island right on a beach, and much much more) I can't tell you what a GREAT place this was. Hands down the best place I've been to and I have been to many. Go their and I whole heartedly believe you will NOT regedit. SUPER SUPER SAFE!!!!!!!!!!![*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

2 Min taxi drive to the downtown city life 30 Club/Bars in 3 blocks with awesome Restaurants in-between!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life is an Excursion
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Riunited and it feels so good

The hotel is very nice and the employees are very friendly and attentive. The first room we were first assigned (near the ice machine and the smokey sports bar)and we requested a new room which was in the other side of the hotel and much quieter. The food is plentiful and the buffets had a great selection. However, the desserts were forgettable, but the specialty restaurants are all very nice. Make all your specialty restuarant reservations when you arrive. The beach was gorgeous..white sand and turquise blue ocean and Cozumel is on the far horizon. The waves break close to the shore so there is limited boogie boarding, but lots of other activities. The spa is decent. My partner and I had massages, but they were average and a little expensive for Mexico. The hotel is near Playa Del Carmen, about a USD$7 cab ride, which has some good restuarants on the main street (5th or 6th, I think), but some of the streets are packed with guys hawking their overpriced merchandise. This was our second stay at a RIU property. The other one was in Costa Rica. RIU is a very reliable and affordable chain. Very consistent quality. Hotel staff is gay friendly for the most part, but few lgbt guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Snorkel Shop in Playa Del Carmen for snorkeling adventures. We went to the coral reefs, had a nice lunch and then went snorkeling in a seynote. It was a good value and a lot of fun.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St Louis Missouri
May 31, 2011

Wonderful vacation

Perfect getaway for one week. The hotel is beautiful and the staff excellent. The buffet is very good and all of the sit down resteraunts were excellent. The pool bar closes at 5 p.m. which we thought was a little early but we just went back to our room and ordered a good bottle of wine from room service (which is included in the all inclusive price) and sat there with friends or as a couple until we went to dinner. The beach is excellent. All in all I would stay with this property again anytime. Riu properties are excellent choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring plenty of sun screen. We ran out and everywhere in playa the prices are very high ($25-$30 US) for sun screen....supply and demand I guess.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Idaho, USA
May 26, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Scuba diving – on resort training, I got my PADI certification with VERY safe and friendly staff. Airsoft rifle competition, nautical aerobics, starching on the sand beach, volleyball on the beach and in pool. Dancing a Blue Parrot – $7 each way from the resort (about 10 minutes' drive). Food was great, all you can eat all you want to eat (talking about healthy and great fresh vegies, meats, cheeses, fruits etc). A lot of variety of people and it was worth paying a little extra compare with other resorts. If you like the adventure, you will love this place. Also, this place is more for married couples, as if you are single, you will see a lot of goodies, but as we all know, you cannot touch. Every day there are activities that one can participate in and do so you will not have to get off the elegant resort. The entertainment team are just crazy guys and girls that will make you have a good time during the daily activates and on the night shows – every night there is a show that you need to see. There was also life music of different contemporary music – not club music. One night there was a very good saxophone singer/player. Very select a la carte restaurants (Brazilian, French, Spanish, Japanese). Over all the price was excellent and the service was great. One thing that they don't have that I thought that will be good, is to have a dancing club after hours so the guests who wants to dance will not be forced to get off the resort just for an hour or 2 of nice club atmosphere. Next time, I will go to Cancun too because of lagoon where you can go snorkeling and of club life that the younger once will enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

5 star food and dirinks all you want

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NavyMR
Family
Kingsland, GA
May 19, 2011

Awesome Vacation

This Hotel was the greatest ever! Family Friendly, Staff was wonderful, Food was great, Location great for trips, Nothing bad to say about it. One word to discribe it "EXCEPTIONAL"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Give small tips (1 or 2 dollars) to wait staff and perpare for the best treatment of your life

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baby Loved Mexico
Family
Philadelphia, PA
May 1, 2011

Excellent Time, Better than Remembered!

We were traveling with our nine month old boy for the first time and knew that the Riu Palace (Riviera Maya) was kid friendly, but it went above and beyond our expectations. We chose to stay put at the resort for the week and had a great time on the beach, by and in the pool, and at the dinners and shows. The staff (and other guests) consistently went out of their way to provide a level of service that was second to none. We were able to do the fancier dinners as well as the buffet every night without any concerns as to whether our son would be able to also enjoy being at dinner while either eating or sleeping. We would highly recommend this resort to young or old couples; groups of friends, and those with small children; particularly babies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Exceeded all Expectations

Just returned from a five day stay at the Riu Riveria Maya Palace in Playa del Carmen. It was truly outstanding. We are a family of four with two kids ages 10 and 13. The hotel is beautiful, the pictures are accurate. The beach and the setting are the definition of paradise. Pool and pool bar area are fabulous, too. Staff was friendly and quite helpful. Food was exceptionally good. Fabulous variety and incredible abundance. Not gourmet food but considering they are feeding the masses (this hotel is large) everything was very, very high quality. Fresh, varied, hot and always available. We are new to the "all-inclusive" concept and we loved it. Quality was not compromised in the least. Room was nice, not exceptional but quite good. Water pressure in shower is lacking (our only complaint) but not the worst we've had. We had a pool side room and it was very convenient. Someone here complained of noise at night from the pool area. I am a very light sleeper and we were early to bed 10-11 pm. Noise was completely non-existent with doors closed and air conditioning on. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top