RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Underwater
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2009

What A Place

We arrived at the RIU and were whisked in to their typical service. While we checked in we were handed drinks. What a great way to start a stay! We checked out our room and then went exploring. We found the restaurant reservations in the lobby. This RIU does the res between 12 and 3 PM. No getting up at the crack of dawn here.Our room was comfortable. We liked the idea of the seating area, but we didn't really use it. We were surprised to hear a knock on the door our first night--the do not disturb sign was on the door. I found a hotel employee bearing gifts. He had a plateful of chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of champagne...My wife found the pool and the pool service great. We go to the Cancun area because we both find things we like to do. My wife likes to relax by the pool and have a few drinks; I like to go SCUBA diving. We both got to do our share of both. This hotel is cleaned constantly. I was feeling restless at 3AM. I walked through the lobby. What did I find? People were cleaning. I fell comfortable saying that this hotel is cleaned 24 hours a day.We were impressed by some of the shows.We ate at two off the reservation restaurants. We found both to be good. Are they Ruth's Chris orr Nobu? No. However, they do not cost $300 orr more for a couple to eat in. The atmosphere is great and the servers make a big effort to make you happy. By the way, a biggish tip in one of thses restaurants will net big benefits. The captain in Krystal, [...], is also in charge of breakfast. If he remembers you, he will make sure that you are completely spoiled at breakfast,Don't be afraid, go to Mexico. Stay at the RI"U and you will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Parrilla de Argentina on 10th between 24 and 26. The food was awesome. The price was about one third of what the same meal would cost on 5th ave. Also, if you are a diver, check out cancunscuba.com. Octavio will set you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic getaway for the price

Great restaurants, excellent food, plenty of bars, great nightly entertainment, and the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the specialty restaurants, they are a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chestnut Hill
Jun 14, 2008

Great Place

Hotel was beautiful, clean, and constantly maintained. Everything was perfect. I stayed 8 nights and the only downside was the reservations (which no one shows up for) at the resteraunts are annoying to make and you get sick of the resort food on extended stays. However, 5th ave is a short walk away and has great dining options mroe than cheaply priced for even the best ones. Great place overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georganna
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 20, 2007

Beautifully maintained hotel and grounds.

RUI Palace Riviera Maya all inlcusive was just that--all inclusive. While we are non-drinkers, we still enjoyed having any non-alcoholic beverage available at all times. The main buffet dining room was beautiful with tables set with linens, cloth napkins and nice glassware for all meals. We were so happy with the variety and quality of the buffet food, we didn't take time to sampe the gourmet restaraunt offerings! The grounds were meticulously maintained with staff constantly clipping, shaping, cleaning and clearing debris while remaining in the background. Being early risers we often saw staff cleaning all areas of the hotel lobby, corridors and grand staircases. We had a Superior Junior Suite (very affordable) tastefully furnished with marble, granite and lots of natural wood trim. The housekeeping staff was consistent and cleaned the room on OUR schedule. Fresh bath towels were always available. The resort is near enough to Playa del Carmen that it is walkable and we felt totally safe at all times while on foot. There are two ferry companies operating out of Playa del Carmen to Cozumel, so access was easy and affordable. We both highly reccommend this new RIU hotel and will probably visit again within the next year or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The RIU is an all inclusive with plenty of great food, but if you want other choices, there are many local restaraunts on 5th Avenue (the main shopping, dining street) in Playa del Carment. The just under a mile walk takes about 15 minutes or take a taxi for about $5.00 US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PITTSBURGH, PA
May 23, 2008

Beautiful hotel

Great service, gorgeous hotel, large beautiful rooms, great food, any drink you could possibly want, perfect grounds. Felt very safe in the private Playacar complex. Short walk to other RIU hotels, $5 cab ride to Playa del Carmen. No lines for anything, could always find a lounge chair at pool or beach. Overall a great experience. The only minor complaint I could make would be the lack of night time activities. All watersports included (weather permitting) but $3 for a game of pool in the sports bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2008

Very family friendly

It could use morning cardio work out with a profesional arobic instractor in a airconitioned jim at list 4 times a week. The door in the room had a problem with a lock. And a room could use at list a chair. The Toors are very poorly orgonised.And transportation from airport to the hotel and back could be a little more polished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Could use some live Jazz. Graet dinning, and close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BAM1
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 17, 2007

Beautiful hotel!

The Riu Palace was amazing! Stately, beautifally appointed, great location and great service. We definitely want to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 8, 2007

Truly a palace

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous...truly a palace! The location and scenery on the beach was wonderful. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The hotel staff and the service were excellent. They truly made you feel like you were staying at a palace. The food at the buffet was very good...good variety with many delicious choices. The food in the specialty restaurants was great as well, especiality in the Gormet Restaurant, where the service was great! I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping is good in Playa del Carmen. It is too long to walk, although they may tell you otherwise. Take a cab instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 7, 2007

Gorgeus Hotel excelent location

The Hotel is gorgeus, the architecture and decoration WOW. Play Del Carmen is beautiful and just 5 minutes from the hotel, good food, nice pools and beautiful and romantic private beach. The best food was Chilly's restaurant inside the hotel with delicious steak. Be prepared to climb stairs and do some walking(wich is good after so much eating). The different variety of licors bottles free at the room is really coolto have. A tip would be for you to go to Cancum stop at Playa Delphines (GORGEUS) and them spend the rest of the day at the other RIU Palace there, they have a delicious Italian food walk in restaurant for lunch and no reservation required. You can use the facilities, pool, beach and spa to take a shower and even enjoy some of the nightlife in Cancun and drive back to Play Del Carmen. We had a great relaxation time!Perfect for couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping at Play Del Carmen downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDAKAR
Business
usa
Jul 14, 2009

A+++ I am a Director for full service

This hotel was great!! the service was like I have never seen before. every staff member was happy and all our request were met. food was fantastic!!! although it might be more cost to stay her it is worth it. we looked at the other resorts while we were there and this hotel is better by a big difference. As mentioned I am a hard one to please since I am a director for a major US hotel chain. Well Done!!! great night activities on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top