$467 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
298 reviews
AWESOME TRIP

We had a great time, the new years celebration was amazing, we will be back! See full review

  • Alan K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Awesome Diving Trip

The hotel was truly top notch in all respects. All inclusives can have a bad rap for low quality... See full review

  • Carmen
  • Feb 3, 2015
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (298)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gherkin
Ogden, Utah
Dec 9, 2012

Fourth times a Charm

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The food is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of foods at the Buffet each morning, afternoon, and evening for dinner. If you like to dress up a bit, (pants for men, nice shirt) the five restaurants are also wonderful. If the food was not to your taste then just go to the buffet after. We used room service each morning for our alarm clock. We woke up to a gentle knock each morning, and ate yogurt, breads, coffee, and tea on our outdoor patio. Then after a relaxing wake-up, we would put our towel out where we wanted to enjoy the beach, or pool, and would go have a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros, fresh fruit, and anything else you can think of and enjoyed that with a few Mimosas and coffee. Answers to some complains I have read: If the bed is too hard, ask for an egg crate to be put on your bed, we did. If you want reservations at the restaurants make an effort to be by the lobby bar at 11:40 and you will be able to eat at whatever restaurants you would like. Bring a locking suitcase for things you buy or expensive items you have. Lock all valuables up in the safe. Don't be lazy and try and hide items in your room. To me, lock it up or you might lose it. Not any different than staying at any hotel around the world. Bring an insulated cup from a dollar store. Your drinks stay colder. Then just leave them there. If you think your drinks are weak, then order a shot with your drink, remember they are included. If you need something from the staff, we always called the front desk. Someone is always at the front desk. Don't be cheap. Yes tips are included. But you can still throw a few bucks around. An extra thank you goes a long way. Housekeeping and all the staff are just trying to make a living. We always bring a $100 in ones. And we keep them in our pocket or in the safe. We love the Riu Palace RM, no complaints in four years. Use common sense. I am not saying everything always went perfect, but then again it's far from a perfect world. We were on vacation and not at work so we enjoyed every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Underwater
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2009

What A Place

We arrived at the RIU and were whisked in to their typical service. While we checked in we were handed drinks. What a great way to start a stay! We checked out our room and then went exploring. We found the restaurant reservations in the lobby. This RIU does the res between 12 and 3 PM. No getting up at the crack of dawn here.Our room was comfortable. We liked the idea of the seating area, but we didn't really use it. We were surprised to hear a knock on the door our first night--the do not disturb sign was on the door. I found a hotel employee bearing gifts. He had a plateful of chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of champagne...My wife found the pool and the pool service great. We go to the Cancun area because we both find things we like to do. My wife likes to relax by the pool and have a few drinks; I like to go SCUBA diving. We both got to do our share of both. This hotel is cleaned constantly. I was feeling restless at 3AM. I walked through the lobby. What did I find? People were cleaning. I fell comfortable saying that this hotel is cleaned 24 hours a day.We were impressed by some of the shows.We ate at two off the reservation restaurants. We found both to be good. Are they Ruth's Chris orr Nobu? No. However, they do not cost $300 orr more for a couple to eat in. The atmosphere is great and the servers make a big effort to make you happy. By the way, a biggish tip in one of thses restaurants will net big benefits. The captain in Krystal, [...], is also in charge of breakfast. If he remembers you, he will make sure that you are completely spoiled at breakfast,Don't be afraid, go to Mexico. Stay at the RI"U and you will be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Parrilla de Argentina on 10th between 24 and 26. The food was awesome. The price was about one third of what the same meal would cost on 5th ave. Also, if you are a diver, check out cancunscuba.com. Octavio will set you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic getaway for the price

Great restaurants, excellent food, plenty of bars, great nightly entertainment, and the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the specialty restaurants, they are a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chestnut Hill
Jun 14, 2008

Great Place

Hotel was beautiful, clean, and constantly maintained. Everything was perfect. I stayed 8 nights and the only downside was the reservations (which no one shows up for) at the resteraunts are annoying to make and you get sick of the resort food on extended stays. However, 5th ave is a short walk away and has great dining options mroe than cheaply priced for even the best ones. Great place overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georganna
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 20, 2007

Beautifully maintained hotel and grounds.

RUI Palace Riviera Maya all inlcusive was just that--all inclusive. While we are non-drinkers, we still enjoyed having any non-alcoholic beverage available at all times. The main buffet dining room was beautiful with tables set with linens, cloth napkins and nice glassware for all meals. We were so happy with the variety and quality of the buffet food, we didn't take time to sampe the gourmet restaraunt offerings! The grounds were meticulously maintained with staff constantly clipping, shaping, cleaning and clearing debris while remaining in the background. Being early risers we often saw staff cleaning all areas of the hotel lobby, corridors and grand staircases. We had a Superior Junior Suite (very affordable) tastefully furnished with marble, granite and lots of natural wood trim. The housekeeping staff was consistent and cleaned the room on OUR schedule. Fresh bath towels were always available. The resort is near enough to Playa del Carmen that it is walkable and we felt totally safe at all times while on foot. There are two ferry companies operating out of Playa del Carmen to Cozumel, so access was easy and affordable. We both highly reccommend this new RIU hotel and will probably visit again within the next year or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The RIU is an all inclusive with plenty of great food, but if you want other choices, there are many local restaraunts on 5th Avenue (the main shopping, dining street) in Playa del Carment. The just under a mile walk takes about 15 minutes or take a taxi for about $5.00 US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PITTSBURGH, PA
May 23, 2008

Beautiful hotel

Great service, gorgeous hotel, large beautiful rooms, great food, any drink you could possibly want, perfect grounds. Felt very safe in the private Playacar complex. Short walk to other RIU hotels, $5 cab ride to Playa del Carmen. No lines for anything, could always find a lounge chair at pool or beach. Overall a great experience. The only minor complaint I could make would be the lack of night time activities. All watersports included (weather permitting) but $3 for a game of pool in the sports bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2008

Very family friendly

It could use morning cardio work out with a profesional arobic instractor in a airconitioned jim at list 4 times a week. The door in the room had a problem with a lock. And a room could use at list a chair. The Toors are very poorly orgonised.And transportation from airport to the hotel and back could be a little more polished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Could use some live Jazz. Graet dinning, and close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BAM1
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 17, 2007

Beautiful hotel!

The Riu Palace was amazing! Stately, beautifally appointed, great location and great service. We definitely want to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 8, 2007

Truly a palace

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous...truly a palace! The location and scenery on the beach was wonderful. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The hotel staff and the service were excellent. They truly made you feel like you were staying at a palace. The food at the buffet was very good...good variety with many delicious choices. The food in the specialty restaurants was great as well, especiality in the Gormet Restaurant, where the service was great! I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping is good in Playa del Carmen. It is too long to walk, although they may tell you otherwise. Take a cab instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 7, 2007

Gorgeus Hotel excelent location

The Hotel is gorgeus, the architecture and decoration WOW. Play Del Carmen is beautiful and just 5 minutes from the hotel, good food, nice pools and beautiful and romantic private beach. The best food was Chilly's restaurant inside the hotel with delicious steak. Be prepared to climb stairs and do some walking(wich is good after so much eating). The different variety of licors bottles free at the room is really coolto have. A tip would be for you to go to Cancum stop at Playa Delphines (GORGEUS) and them spend the rest of the day at the other RIU Palace there, they have a delicious Italian food walk in restaurant for lunch and no reservation required. You can use the facilities, pool, beach and spa to take a shower and even enjoy some of the nightlife in Cancun and drive back to Play Del Carmen. We had a great relaxation time!Perfect for couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping at Play Del Carmen downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDAKAR
Business
usa
Jul 14, 2009

A+++ I am a Director for full service

This hotel was great!! the service was like I have never seen before. every staff member was happy and all our request were met. food was fantastic!!! although it might be more cost to stay her it is worth it. we looked at the other resorts while we were there and this hotel is better by a big difference. As mentioned I am a hard one to please since I am a director for a major US hotel chain. Well Done!!! great night activities on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top