$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
287 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life is an Excursion
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Riunited and it feels so good

The hotel is very nice and the employees are very friendly and attentive. The first room we were first assigned (near the ice machine and the smokey sports bar)and we requested a new room which was in the other side of the hotel and much quieter. The food is plentiful and the buffets had a great selection. However, the desserts were forgettable, but the specialty restaurants are all very nice. Make all your specialty restuarant reservations when you arrive. The beach was gorgeous..white sand and turquise blue ocean and Cozumel is on the far horizon. The waves break close to the shore so there is limited boogie boarding, but lots of other activities. The spa is decent. My partner and I had massages, but they were average and a little expensive for Mexico. The hotel is near Playa Del Carmen, about a USD$7 cab ride, which has some good restuarants on the main street (5th or 6th, I think), but some of the streets are packed with guys hawking their overpriced merchandise. This was our second stay at a RIU property. The other one was in Costa Rica. RIU is a very reliable and affordable chain. Very consistent quality. Hotel staff is gay friendly for the most part, but few lgbt guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Snorkel Shop in Playa Del Carmen for snorkeling adventures. We went to the coral reefs, had a nice lunch and then went snorkeling in a seynote. It was a good value and a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
F-J
Business
Windsor, ON
Jun 1, 2011

Great Time!

This was our first time in Mexico and loved it! The hotel is right on the Caribbean Sea and they have an awesome pool with swim-up bar. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was wonderful as well as the lunch buffet which was located close to the pool for easy access. They have a 24-hour Sports Bar which included the all-inclusive alcoholic drinks, along with burgers, hotdogs, nachos, a few desserts and salads in a fridge with a microwave near by to warm up and eat in the bar or in your room. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice with included alcohol and mixers in the mini-fridge, coffee maker, safe, and view of the garden area. Overall a wonderful hotel and amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you would like to book the specialty restaurants for dinner, definitely do so as soon as possible as the reservations fill up quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis Missouri
May 31, 2011

Wonderful vacation

Perfect getaway for one week. The hotel is beautiful and the staff excellent. The buffet is very good and all of the sit down resteraunts were excellent. The pool bar closes at 5 p.m. which we thought was a little early but we just went back to our room and ordered a good bottle of wine from room service (which is included in the all inclusive price) and sat there with friends or as a couple until we went to dinner. The beach is excellent. All in all I would stay with this property again anytime. Riu properties are excellent choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring plenty of sun screen. We ran out and everywhere in playa the prices are very high ($25-$30 US) for sun screen....supply and demand I guess.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho, USA
May 26, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Scuba diving – on resort training, I got my PADI certification with VERY safe and friendly staff. Airsoft rifle competition, nautical aerobics, starching on the sand beach, volleyball on the beach and in pool. Dancing a Blue Parrot – $7 each way from the resort (about 10 minutes' drive). Food was great, all you can eat all you want to eat (talking about healthy and great fresh vegies, meats, cheeses, fruits etc). A lot of variety of people and it was worth paying a little extra compare with other resorts. If you like the adventure, you will love this place. Also, this place is more for married couples, as if you are single, you will see a lot of goodies, but as we all know, you cannot touch. Every day there are activities that one can participate in and do so you will not have to get off the elegant resort. The entertainment team are just crazy guys and girls that will make you have a good time during the daily activates and on the night shows – every night there is a show that you need to see. There was also life music of different contemporary music – not club music. One night there was a very good saxophone singer/player. Very select a la carte restaurants (Brazilian, French, Spanish, Japanese). Over all the price was excellent and the service was great. One thing that they don't have that I thought that will be good, is to have a dancing club after hours so the guests who wants to dance will not be forced to get off the resort just for an hour or 2 of nice club atmosphere. Next time, I will go to Cancun too because of lagoon where you can go snorkeling and of club life that the younger once will enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

5 star food and dirinks all you want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NavyMR
Business
Kingsland, GA
May 19, 2011

Awesome Vacation

This Hotel was the greatest ever! Family Friendly, Staff was wonderful, Food was great, Location great for trips, Nothing bad to say about it. One word to discribe it "EXCEPTIONAL"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Give small tips (1 or 2 dollars) to wait staff and perpare for the best treatment of your life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baby Loved Mexico
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 1, 2011

Excellent Time, Better than Remembered!

We were traveling with our nine month old boy for the first time and knew that the Riu Palace (Riviera Maya) was kid friendly, but it went above and beyond our expectations. We chose to stay put at the resort for the week and had a great time on the beach, by and in the pool, and at the dinners and shows. The staff (and other guests) consistently went out of their way to provide a level of service that was second to none. We were able to do the fancier dinners as well as the buffet every night without any concerns as to whether our son would be able to also enjoy being at dinner while either eating or sleeping. We would highly recommend this resort to young or old couples; groups of friends, and those with small children; particularly babies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Exceeded all Expectations

Just returned from a five day stay at the Riu Riveria Maya Palace in Playa del Carmen. It was truly outstanding. We are a family of four with two kids ages 10 and 13. The hotel is beautiful, the pictures are accurate. The beach and the setting are the definition of paradise. Pool and pool bar area are fabulous, too. Staff was friendly and quite helpful. Food was exceptionally good. Fabulous variety and incredible abundance. Not gourmet food but considering they are feeding the masses (this hotel is large) everything was very, very high quality. Fresh, varied, hot and always available. We are new to the "all-inclusive" concept and we loved it. Quality was not compromised in the least. Room was nice, not exceptional but quite good. Water pressure in shower is lacking (our only complaint) but not the worst we've had. We had a pool side room and it was very convenient. Someone here complained of noise at night from the pool area. I am a very light sleeper and we were early to bed 10-11 pm. Noise was completely non-existent with doors closed and air conditioning on. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simongold
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Very Good hotel

Everything was just perfect. One can't ask for more. We really enjoyed it. The only thing I did not like was access to the Internet. Wireless access was only from the main lobby area. It was very slow and sometimes did not work at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eliot, me
Apr 12, 2011

Our take

We have traveled to Playa Del Carmen on numerous occasions. For the most part our trips are great. This was not our first time at a Riu and was our second at this particular one. Good things: the service and staff were excellant, everyone was very friendly. Thank you [...]. The hotel is close to town which is why we selected it. The bad: Yes, there were cockroachers in the rooms. We have never encountered this in all our trips to Mexico. Also the pool was dirty. It was never cleaned the whole time we were there. This was also very surprising for the caliber hotel this is supposed to be. We will not return to his hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The town of Playa is a great place for shopping and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rest and Relax
Business
Chicago, Il
Mar 27, 2011

Couples get away

We have stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas in Cancun a couple of times, and had some of our best vacations ever. We thought we would give the Riu Palace Riviera Maya a try. It seems it is a safe bet to say at any Riu Palace. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are nice and clean, and the food is good. The Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located in a beautiful gated community, with 4 other Riu Properties guest have access to. Riu Palace Riviera Maya is a beautifully property with a great beach. However, this was the first time there where soooo many children, and no where to escape. This might have been because it was spring break, but I have traveled before during spring break and there is usually extra college kids, but this was 5 months to 12 years old children that where in excess.This is great for families traveling together, but couples that need to escape and relax, I would pay the extra to stay at a no children resort, especially during spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top