$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorenzo185
New york
Aug 30, 2014

Great vacation

Hotel was beautiful staff was great food was good for all inclusive when they told me room service and everything in the mini bar was free I was shocked because usually you have to pay for that I would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Des14
San Antonio, TX
Aug 24, 2014

Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how to provide a great service. The room (junior suite) is large enough to accommodate a king bed and another (rollaway) bed. The room was cleaned 2 times a day and if/whenever we needed anything, the housekeeping person was nearby to take care of it. The pool and the beach were nearby, 1-2 minutes away. We have visited all the specialty restaurants and were quite pleased with the food, but our favorite was the main restaurant Don Manolo's. The hotel is not cheap, but is worth it. We would definitely love to come again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SA Joker
San Antonio
Aug 1, 2014

family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the waiter staff was excellent, the beach was beautiful, the food was great, the drinks are watered down, but you can have as many as you want, there was even a refrigerator stocked with water, soda and beer plus 4 whiskey bottles, the downtown was 10 minutes away,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is great but also make restaurant reservations at the 4 other restaurants at the hotel, it is all inclusive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC Jetter
Washington DC
Jul 31, 2014

Rude Management

Management is very rude, especially at the front desk, and especially inflexible. We couldn't even get a half hour late checkout since they claimed that the hotel was full, even though the hotel was not even half occupied judging by the emptiness of the pool, theater, restaurants and beach areas compared to when we first checked in. As frequent travelers this was a first for us, we've even gotten 2 hour late checkouts at Secrets or LeBlanc. Also noteworthy - we're even RIU members, or should I now say former RIU members; this membership provides no benefits at all since you can never use the points as they always claim there's nothing available. We decided to give them a second chance with this booking, our first negative experience was with RIU Peninsula - our flight got canceled due to the snow so we arrived one day late, they were giving us a very hard time giving us the day that we had lost even though the room was available, and again the hotel was at around 50% occupancy, during the heart of winter. The manager even admitted to this but as always blamed it on his manager, and if you speak to him, he'll just blame it on his manager and the chain keeps going...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shann yshoo
Mendon,Mass
Jul 30, 2014

Vacation!

The hotel is beautiful! All the staff are curtious and helpful. We ate at all the specialty restraunts our favorite being the steak house. The beach is fantastic!!!!! Views are spectacular, it's alittle slice of heaven. Wishing we were still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations as soon as you get there. You can make reseveration from 12-3 everyday in the main lobby across from the lobby bar. People get there by 11:30 so get there early it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrPunky
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 30, 2014

Amazing resort

I've been to numerous all-inclusive resorts through out the Caribbean and Mexico, and the Riu Palace Riviera Maya tops them all, especially for the price. The staff at this resort are FABULOUS - all of them. They are so friendly and helpful and always there. I was very impressed with the service at the pool and beach; our drinks barely reached the bottom of the glass before our server was back for another order. Servers in the buffet restaurant as well as in the ala carte restaurants were wonderful: very professional, friendly, and I loved the fact that they all had a wonderful sense of humor. I found the service through out the hotel to be exemplary. Unlike many all-inclusives, the food was excellent - even in the buffet restaurant. Many of the meals we had in the ala carte restaurants would have easily been 40 plus dollar meals at home. I love the location: perfectly situated to downtown Playa, it was a 20 minute walk or a short taxi ride and downtown could be accessed via the street or the beach. The beach... It was beautiful! Miles of white powder sand and clear, turquoise water. It was perfect! There always seemed to be plenty of lounge chairs at both the pool and on the beach. At the pool, an early arrival was necessary for prime chair locations, and one thing that was refreshing was that there were relatively few people "saving" chairs. There are no umbrellas on the beach; however, they really were not necessary because there is an expansive area shaded by palms. The pool was beautiful with a great seating area in the swim up bar area and staff are constantly working to keep the pool clean. The grounds at the resort are beautiful and very clean. Our room was very comfortable and spacious but the bathroom was looking a little worn. That's probably the only negative (for lack of a better word) that I can think of. I don't think you can go wrong with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, particularly for the price. It's an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa is a vibrant place with some great restaurants. It does, however, get extremely hot downtown (we were there in July). I LOVE heat and humidity, and it was uncomfortable even for me. I would recommend that trips to that area be made in the late afternoon and early evening; it was so much more pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viajiste
santa cruz
Jul 18, 2014

No worries

This is a upgraded offerings for an all-inclusive. That is, everything you'd expect, and occasionally more. Staff were great- almost always courteous in assuring your satisfaction. Buffets were good to better than good. We were disappointed in the Brazilian (much too salty) and Mexican (nothing special) restaurants. Grounds were immaculate. Pool was too noisy for our liking; we found the beach to be more relaxing. Bar service is available at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must reserve restaurants between 12-3 in-person in the lobby. Only 2 reservations at a time, no more than 3 day out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tex85
East Texas
Jul 11, 2014

poor start to our hooneymoon

me and my wife decided to go here for our honeymoon as i had already stayed there for a wedding a few years before and really enjoyed the place. Before our trip i was in contact with one of their booking agents trying to see if there were any upgrades we could get with it being our honeymoon. they told me that we could get a room upgrade if we would bring a copy of our marriage license, and we would could also get an early check in. well having been there before i had seen most of the rooms so i booked the suite below what is a Jacuzzi suite. well anyways when we arrived which was early we were told that our room was not ready yet because it was a bigger suite. when they finally got us to the room it was not even a suite it was a standard room above the lobby. after telling them that that was not even what we had booked they showed us another room, same thing, finally they showed us to a small suite and tried to tell me the room I was describing did not exist. well the bell boy as he was taking our bags says to me i know which rooms youre talking about and shows us that suite. however they would not let us upgrade even though that suite was not used while we were there. Anyways after this long first day of being lied to we ended making the best of this situation. In all honesty this place is a nice and clean resort with good food but is run pretty poorly. Expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just and Happily Married
Iowa
Jun 22, 2014

Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food was exceptional! They even made special order for any meal you had at Don Malano's. The only down side is that it was June and to eat at the Japanese restaurant men have to have a long sleeve shirt and dress pants to wear to dinner. And you must have reservations. We picked up a shirt while we were there and the place was booked out for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The 5th ave in Playa de Carmen is just a few minute drive from the hotel. We got a cab there and back. Walked around, took photos and shopped a little. They also have a Myan show in the evening if you're interested in watching that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WYOUNG
Houston
Jun 2, 2014

6 in Row, Wonderful

We have gone to this particular hotel 6 times, including our wedding there last year. We love this hotel and especially love the staff. The ocean and beach are awesome at this location. If you offer the staff kindness and few tips, you will be treated like royality. The food in the buffets and signtaure restaurants is great, and Playa (nearby town) is just 5 mins away via cab when you need a change of pace. This hotel is frequented by mostly adults from various countries. You can relax in piece under the palms or you can hit the pool bar and make friends from all around the world. You see some kids but not many, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. We will return again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With a huge Italian population, you will be well served to try some Italian restaurants in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search