$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CommackBill
Business
Commack
Feb 5, 2014

Relaxation. Great for couples.

I really can't say anything bad which may be the highest form of review. The food & room staff greets you with a smile. The entertainment crew is great. They provide a number of different options for you & have a great sense of humor. The beach is relatively clean & the water is clear & very inviting. The food is varied & plentiful. I wouldn't say it was top notch, but you'll find something you really like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican & Krystal are the best options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DU Gal
Business
Minnesota
Mar 2, 2014

a week in paradise

This place is out-of-the-park awesome! staff is so friendly & helpful. Food was great-plenty to choose from. weather was warm & muggy-ceiling fan is over couch not bed in big suite, so got a fan from Wally-world. Made a huge difference for sleeping. Bring a 8-10" fan if you can. Excellent beach & pool. Beautiful, convenient setting. Adult children met us there and we were all impressed and entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret was worth the adventure price. Don't miss the closing theatrical extravaganza - It's outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack1147
Business
USA
Feb 28, 2014

Our Vaction at RIU

The place is world class in all regards. I would recommend it to any and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations for each day you are there as many days out as they will take them especially if you want to eat at 6:30 PM rather than 8:45 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nana margarita
Business
Southern Minnesota
Mar 5, 2014

GREAT VACATION

We have been doing all inclusive vacations for 11 years now, and this was the best food ever. We stayed in the same resort in the Dominican, it was good but this was the best. The location is 20 minutes to Playa Del Carmen and the beaches are very nice for taking long walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you spend most of your day, at the beach or pool, ask for a room closer to the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Mamacita
Business
Houston
Mar 13, 2014

family spring break vacation

I LOVED this hotel!! It exceeded my expectations. Every single staff member was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our kids are 17, 19 and 21 and they all loved it also. There are activities like beach soccer and volleyball, ping pong, water aerobics, pool volleyball, casino night, mexican game night, etc etc. YOu can be as busy or as relaxed as you'd like. As for food, there are 4 or 5 restaurants to choose from along with buffets out by the pool daily. One day. in addition to the hamburger pool buffet, there was a fajita buffet wheeled out and then a grilled shrimp and scallop buffet. The nightly dinners were good also- our favorite was the brazilian- but theres also japanese, fusion, mexican and steak restaurants. The junior suites were plenty big enough and each had their own sitting room and patio. The decor of the hotel was incredible and to me,it was the most beautiful of the hotels we saw in Playa del carmen. If I had to be very critical and LOOK for a negative about this hotel, I suppose it would be that the food was good- not spectacular. It was plenty good for our family and I'm sure we all came away several pounds heavier :) You will not go hungry for sure! So, If you are looking for a great hotel with EXCELLENT staff, location on the beach, all-inclusive, entertainment, beautiful decor and good accomodations and plentiful food, this hotel would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKOmaha
Business
Omaha Nebraska
Mar 19, 2014

Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with marble floors. Friendly quick and great staff. Great food. I would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk the beach 30 minutes to the downtown markets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotty Toddy
Business
Mississippi
Mar 24, 2014

Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to enjoy most of the resort. We wanted to give it another try before we marked it off our list forever. The service last time was ok but this time there was a great change. The service from all personnel was excellent and the food was greatly improved. Only had 2 complaints with the resort. 1. Had a hard time getting the bathroom linens we requested when the room was cleaned. We had to make a call each time and then they were brought to the room. 2. You can only make dinner reservations for 2 specialty restaurants at a time from 12:00-3:00 each day. This really messes up your day having to plan around that time. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants and the food and service was very good. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant 1 night and the food and service was outstanding. If we go back, we will not eat at specialty restaurants just the buffet. This Riu Palace needs to take pointers from the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta. They allow you to make all dinner reservations at once after you have checked in. The bar service in the entire resort was excellent also. Overall, a fantastic trip!!!!!! We will plan a return trip to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racer25
Business
Cumming, Georgia
May 8, 2014

Great place to relax

Outstanding Experience. Never seen a more helpful staff. Everyone has a smile on their face and go out of their way to make you stay a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 25, 2007

Excellent Get-Away

The Riu Palace Riviera Maya was all about service! The staff was the was only too eager to help in any way. The rooms are all suites and very comfortable. All inclusive meals were excellent. Options to use the facilities at the other Riu Hotels in Riviera Maya were also given to guests. Men, don't expect to be able to have your evening meal in your golf shorts, you are expected to wear long pants. You will be going to bed hungry if you are not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great outdoor shopping mall for local souvenirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Sep 11, 2007

Beautiful and very comfortable!

We loved staying at this all inclusive hotel. Everyone was very friendly and went out of your way to please you. We had never been at a more beautiful hotel. The weather was great, the food was delicious, the people friendly, and the price was right. We would recommend this hotel for honeymooners, families with children, and just anyone who wants to get away and relax and have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many attractions to see and excursions to go on in the surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top