$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2014 Check-out: May 21, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
269 reviews
Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to... See full review

  • Hotty Toddy
  • Mar 24, 2014
Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with... See full review

  • AKOmaha
  • Mar 19, 2014
All-suite beach resort in the heart of Riviera Maya’s paradise
The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and 35 miles from Cancun's International Airport. The resort boasts more than 400 family-friendly suites, an expansive swimming pool and Jacuzzi, children's pool, playground, six restaurants and five bars, including the Daiquiri poolside swim-up bar. The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is surrounded by lush greenery and stretches of white sand. The hotel has 24 hour room service.
Highlights:
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort
  • Near Playa del Carmen
  • Swim-up bar
Rooms:

The 400-room RIU Palace Riviera Maya provides accommodations with dark woods and neutral, muted colors in bedspreads, rugs and seating. The surrounding turquoise waters and white sand beaches provide a tropical backdrop for the hotel. All RIU Palace Riviera Maya suites include bathroom with hydromassage bath, central air-conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV and balcony. Suites on the upper terraces include outdoor Jacuzzi, split-level seating area and sofa and Italian bath amenities.

Features:

Guests at RIU Palace Riviera Maya enjoy table tennis, volleyball, an introductory scuba diving lesson in the pool, kayaking and snorkeling. For children ages 4 to 12, the resort offers daytime entertainment. At night, adults can dance the night away at La Pinata nightclub, play billiards or indulge in a drink at Riu Tequila, open every evening. For a fee, an assortment of motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available.   

Dining

Hot and cold breakfast and lunch buffets feature Americanized foods such as pizzas, pasta, salads and assorted desserts. For dinner, guests can dine at the Mexican Agave, fusion Krystal, Japanese Yashima  or Brazilian Rodizio buffet. Reservations for Agave and Rodizio should be made in advance and formal dress is required at all dinners. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 mi/56.3 km)
Attractions
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Tulum Mayan ruins (40 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet is available in the lobby
  • Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
269 out of 269
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Karina Kool Momma
Addison Illinois
Nov 26, 2012

Couples getaway

We had an excellent time at Riu Palace the hotel was beautiful, the staff great. The only thing i would complain about was the night entertainment we need more activities for the younger couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to Playa Del Carmen to do some shopping we did and it was a 15 minute walk

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
my2scents
CA
Apr 10, 2014

Reminder - keep valuable items locked up

This is our 2nd stay and definitely not our last thanks to the wonderful staff at the restaurants and pool area, they are fantastic. Reception can be a different story. The room we stayed in had a very gross humid smell, my husband went to the lobby to report and they said sorry, no rooms available until the next day. We refused to stay another night after noticing what appeared to be mold on the sliding door trim. The cleaning staff had taken the sofa out of the room and into the balcony, they apparently steamed cleaned it and agreed that there was a funky smell in the room. Gaby in the lobby was simply rude and assured us they couldn't do anything to move us that night. Hugo stepped in after overhearing our discomfort and upgraded us to a suite. He walked us to the room and apologized. While he showed us the room he made a call for someone to bring an extra bed, as there was only a King size bed and we had our two daughters with us, ages 8 and 4. We were handed the keys and all left the room and half way to the restaurant my 8-yr old said she'd forgotten her Kindle Fire in the room. It was late and we figured we'd go eat first, mistake. When we got back in the room the Kindle was gone. They conducted an "investigation" which took four trips to the lobby to get an answer...only one person had gone into the room, the person who brought the extra bed and never admitted to taking the Kindle. Although we all know to keep valuable items locked up, let this serve as a reminder - no matter how "at home" you feel you're items are not safe when you leave you're room unless placed in the safe. Also, don't buy the story "we have no rooms available until tomorrow", chances are the next day you'll get the same story. We didn't need the upgrade just a room without the disgusting smell. Hugo made it more than right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Hotty Toddy
Mississippi
Mar 24, 2014

Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to enjoy most of the resort. We wanted to give it another try before we marked it off our list forever. The service last time was ok but this time there was a great change. The service from all personnel was excellent and the food was greatly improved. Only had 2 complaints with the resort. 1. Had a hard time getting the bathroom linens we requested when the room was cleaned. We had to make a call each time and then they were brought to the room. 2. You can only make dinner reservations for 2 specialty restaurants at a time from 12:00-3:00 each day. This really messes up your day having to plan around that time. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants and the food and service was very good. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant 1 night and the food and service was outstanding. If we go back, we will not eat at specialty restaurants just the buffet. This Riu Palace needs to take pointers from the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta. They allow you to make all dinner reservations at once after you have checked in. The bar service in the entire resort was excellent also. Overall, a fantastic trip!!!!!! We will plan a return trip to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
jjustme123 love Mexico
North Dakota
Mar 22, 2014

Just an OK hotel

Hotel is relatively new but a little run down. Food and drinks were fine. The ocean and beach are terrific. We aren't pool people. We swim in the ocean and that was awesome! We've been to lots of Riu properties and this one was fine. Just OK. Have realistic expectations if you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We realized the last day here that Senor Frogs was a 15 minute beach walk away, just to the north. :)

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
AKOmaha
Omaha Nebraska
Mar 19, 2014

Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with marble floors. Friendly quick and great staff. Great food. I would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk the beach 30 minutes to the downtown markets

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
blass4
Schaumburg Il
Mar 15, 2014

very friendly hotel

Perfect location very clean Beach was superb Should have better food options for many vegetarians !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Texas Mamacita
Houston
Mar 13, 2014

family spring break vacation

I LOVED this hotel!! It exceeded my expectations. Every single staff member was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our kids are 17, 19 and 21 and they all loved it also. There are activities like beach soccer and volleyball, ping pong, water aerobics, pool volleyball, casino night, mexican game night, etc etc. YOu can be as busy or as relaxed as you'd like. As for food, there are 4 or 5 restaurants to choose from along with buffets out by the pool daily. One day. in addition to the hamburger pool buffet, there was a fajita buffet wheeled out and then a grilled shrimp and scallop buffet. The nightly dinners were good also- our favorite was the brazilian- but theres also japanese, fusion, mexican and steak restaurants. The junior suites were plenty big enough and each had their own sitting room and patio. The decor of the hotel was incredible and to me,it was the most beautiful of the hotels we saw in Playa del carmen. If I had to be very critical and LOOK for a negative about this hotel, I suppose it would be that the food was good- not spectacular. It was plenty good for our family and I'm sure we all came away several pounds heavier :) You will not go hungry for sure! So, If you are looking for a great hotel with EXCELLENT staff, location on the beach, all-inclusive, entertainment, beautiful decor and good accomodations and plentiful food, this hotel would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
nana margarita
Southern Minnesota
Mar 5, 2014

GREAT VACATION

We have been doing all inclusive vacations for 11 years now, and this was the best food ever. We stayed in the same resort in the Dominican, it was good but this was the best. The location is 20 minutes to Playa Del Carmen and the beaches are very nice for taking long walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you spend most of your day, at the beach or pool, ask for a room closer to the pool.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
DU Gal
Minnesota
Mar 2, 2014

a week in paradise

This place is out-of-the-park awesome! staff is so friendly & helpful. Food was great-plenty to choose from. weather was warm & muggy-ceiling fan is over couch not bed in big suite, so got a fan from Wally-world. Made a huge difference for sleeping. Bring a 8-10" fan if you can. Excellent beach & pool. Beautiful, convenient setting. Adult children met us there and we were all impressed and entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret was worth the adventure price. Don't miss the closing theatrical extravaganza - It's outstanding!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Jack1147
USA
Feb 28, 2014

Our Vaction at RIU

The place is world class in all regards. I would recommend it to any and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations for each day you are there as many days out as they will take them especially if you want to eat at 6:30 PM rather than 8:45 PM.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
CommackBill
Commack
Feb 5, 2014

Relaxation. Great for couples.

I really can't say anything bad which may be the highest form of review. The food & room staff greets you with a smile. The entertainment crew is great. They provide a number of different options for you & have a great sense of humor. The beach is relatively clean & the water is clear & very inviting. The food is varied & plentiful. I wouldn't say it was top notch, but you'll find something you really like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican & Krystal are the best options.

Back to menu Return to top