RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Apr 1, 2011

ill

Unfortunately I was ill with a severe cough. The front desk arranged for a doctor to visit my room and prescribe antibiotics which could be picked up at by another hotel close by. Not much of a vacation, but good to know just in case. Hopefully, you will have better luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh NC
Mar 31, 2011

Good trip until we tried to get back

Hotel and everything about it was as advertised.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Penfield, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic, did not want to leave!

This was our second time to the Riu Palace Mexico and am looking forward to the third. From check-in to check-out, everything was superb. [...] [...], and the rest of the staff went above and beyond duty to accommodate our needs. We have yet to find this type of service anywhere else. The food was outstanding and fresh everyday, with more than enough choices to choose from. Plenty of activities to choose from, poolside or water sports. Highly recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Feb 27, 2011

Destination Wedding

My wife and I flew out for a destination wedding in mid December; staff, hotel and food made the our 7 day stay magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your shuttle through Hertz Rental when you fly into Cancun... it is 40 per person each way normally but if you pay up front you pay 80 total... A cab is about 100 bucks each way.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeker of warm and sunny locations
Business
Central Illinois
Feb 27, 2011

Best resort we have stayed at!

Food: **Best food we have had compared to 3 other Mexico resorts stayed at previously **Japanese and Brazilian were excellent specialty restaurants and the steak house was "ok." **Breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were all great. **There was food and snacks available all times of the day via restaurants and room service. **Lots of outdoor dining seating with ceiling fans. Staff: **Staff were friendly and everyone was treated equally. There was no need to tip because guests were not treated any better after the fact. **Requests were typically honored in a very timely manner. Hotel ammenities: **Very clean hotel and quite beautiful. **Large resort but not too big to go from one location to the other. **Daily planned activities including water aerobics, water and beach volleyball, target shooting, horseshoes, etc. **Very quiet - not a lot of kids or teenagers at this resort while we were there. **Appears to be geared towards middle aged adults which we liked. **All-inclusive included premimum alcohol in the room and the mini bar. **There are 6 RIU resorts in close proximity and guests at the RIU palaces are able to utilize all resorts with the exception of the restaurants requiring reservations. **Beach area is awesome with lots of lounge chairs and palm trees for shade. **Swim-up bar and pool area is wonderful. It is a nice size and lots of sitting area in the main pool. It would have been better if there was a water feature flowing from the bar roof to the water in the pool. **Beds were comfortable and huge. We had two full-size beds pushed together to form one bed! **The lobby had somewhat of a musty smell, but the rooms did not nor did the restaurants. **The outdoor tile walking paths became slippery with a small amount of moisture. Overall, this was a great resort and felt very upscale compared to the other resorts we have stayed at (Sandos Playacar, Crown Paradise Cancun, Gran Melia Cancun). This is the first place we stayed at that we thought we could consider returning too because it was so good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel starts taking reservations at the specialty reservations daily at 8:30 a.m., but ticket numbers are issued at 8:00 a.m. You want to be sure and get a number early and go back at 8:30 a.m. if you want a specific restaurant at a specific time for the evening.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Creek, Michigan
Feb 15, 2011

wonderful family vacation and wedding

An amazing vacation and wedding. Everything I could have asked for and more. Accomadated to every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mawky Boy
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 25, 2011

Amazing Resort and Staff!

The hotel grounds are some of the most beautiful and well kept you will ever see. Huge resort, with lots to do. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Beachfront location was prime. Very happy with our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Would recommend booking a direct shuttle from the airport to the hotel, rather than a shared shuttle with other passengers. You can get there in under an hour with a direct shuttle. And it will take a good 2 hours most likely if you go with a shared shuttle.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pawleys Island, SC
Jan 14, 2011

Great Escape!

The service was wonderful....food was wonderful too! We did an excursion and had a great experience at Sian Kan. The jeep tour was terrific! The only complaint we have is that we requested a wake up call one day and did not get one. We lost power in our room two days in a row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RIU Bound
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 31, 2010

Great Vacation & Highly Recommended

A great hotel in a nice safe location. Rooms are large and spacious. An all-inclusive vacation is definitely the way to go. The beaches were nice with plenty of beach chairs for guests. We were a little disappointed with their work-out facility. The equipment were dated and old. Overall, I would definitely return to the RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Dec 18, 2010

FANTASTIC VACATION

BEACH WALKING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top