$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
121 reviews
Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the... See full review

  • NYC Birthday Girl
  • Nov 27, 2014
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
The Riu Palace Mexico is a modern five-star all inclusive hotel located on the beach in the Playacar section of Playa Del Carmen. It is part of an elegant development wich includes a modern 18-hole championship golf course and is located near at our own "Calle Mexicana" or "Mexican Street" wich features a variety of boutiques for you shopping pleasure,gym, shops, jewelry, beauty salon, photo studio and lab, medical center, spa services(body and beauty treatments massages). In addition, there are several restaurants and bars located within the complex offering a variety of choices for your dinning pleasures. 24-hour Room Service free of charge.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel. FREE WEDDING PACKAGE
Validity: until Dec 31st, 2010

Free wedding packages include:
-On-site wedding coordinator to help plan the special day
-Decoration set up for the ceremony location
-Bridal Bouquet and matching boutonniere for the groom
-CD or recorded music during the ceremony
-Semi private dinner for the wedding group at one of our specialty restaurants
-Wedding cake for 10 people
-Sparkling wine for 10 people (during the main toast only)
-Surprise spa gift
-Ten percent discount on all spa services for the bride and the groom (restrictions apply)

MINISTER OR JUDGE SERVICE, LEGAL DOCUMENTATION & FEES ARE NOT INCLUDED (Restrictions apply).

IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A FREE WEDDING PACKAGE YOU MUST BOOK 5 OR MORE ROOMS ON THIS SITE. (Restrictions apply).

-In order to have a wedding at our RIU Hotels & Resorts, the couple and the 80 percent of the total amount of the wedding guest must stay at the RIU Hotel where the wedding will be performed. This is a strict Riu policy we must follow.

-Wedding guest who are not staying at the resort must purchase a Day Pass. The cost of day passes ranges between $50 and $100 US dollars.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenya
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 15, 2014

All inclusive

It's a pretty good all inclusive. Like all of them, the food isn't the gourmet but it's decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosiebear
Business
Oklahoma CITY
Dec 20, 2013

Exellent Vacation

We love this place and have returned to the same properety for the past 4 years. The warm greeting from the doorman welcoming us home again just sets the tone for the entire stay. The dining room staff remembers guests from past visits and all possible to make one welcome and comfortable. Our room was always cleanede promptly and was spotlessas usual. The front desk staff really tries to accomodate all your needa promptly. Lastly, the smiling faces and cheeful "HOLA" keeps a smile on our faces as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in the town of Playa del Carmen and don't forget to negotiate, negotiate.negotiate!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dona Carolina
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Nov 4, 2013

I love riu palace Mexico !!!

I love the wonderful employees, beach , food and accommodations . Everyone is so kind. Especially Santiago who serves cafecitos con carino in the morning and lunch with a smile I will definitely return despite the redecorating. I loved the former Spanish colonial design. Everything is so wonderful I can overlook the pink and purple new decor. It's not for me but riu palace Mexico is excellent !!!! I have traveled to many beaches and playacar is one of the best I have ever seen. I have never stayed at a hotel with nicer employees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mayan adventures for atv, zip lining and snorkeling adventures. Ask for Horacio and angel aka chela Also try Xcaret for snorkeling. Lots of fish. Great fun and food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retiree13
Business
Frisco, Texas
Oct 29, 2013

Great Remodel

Have stayed at this property two times before. Really like the remodel. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Specialty restaurants were outstanding. Make sure you make a reservation at 8:30am for that evening's meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KPSB2
Business
Michigan
Oct 28, 2013

Great place to visit

First of all the beach was one of the best we've ever been too, food was good but not great, staff was extremely helpful, shows a bit corny and not that great. We had a lot of rain and there were a few leaks in the building. Modern décor is not our style. Showers were awesome Water closet too small though. Over all a good value for the $'s.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Muy nice
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2013

It was great

Overall a great experience. Check the weather for the months you book in order to make sure there is no rain/storm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hscriv
Business
Mountain View, California
Aug 25, 2013

Great Week in PDC

Just got back from a week at the RIU Mexico in PDC. We found the hotel to be a great value for us. We are 2 ~25ish professionals. Pros: amazing location access to 4 other RIU PDC resorts nice friendly staff good breakfast & lunch nice coffee bar (not found at other RIU in area) bathroom/shower gym Cons: were not many other folks our age at resort. Mostly families and older couples in-resort bars: pretty dead, watered down mixed drinks (to be expected at all-inclusive), poor beer selection restaurants: very small, difficult to get a reservation, small menus, not much variety had to report ants in our room numerous times water stopped working in room for about an hour Overall - I would stay at RIU Mexico again due to its great value. We really used the hotel as a launching point for 5th avenue which we went to almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Ula Gula on 5th avenue for some of the best food in PDC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sun Worshipers
Business
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2013

Area of possible improvement

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. It would be nice if they could provide a more private hospitality suite. At least refrain from having the employees use the suite for their bathroom needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flash81314
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 14, 2013

Relaxed Atmosphere

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating from the moment of our arrival. We were able to check in early and immediately start enjoying the many amenities. The room was spacious and clean. The food was great and the menu at the buffet varied nightly so we only made reservations one night at one of the other restaurants which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a shopping area a short walk from the resort and the town with a myriad of shopping and retail options is well within walking distance about a mile away accessible by walking along the sidewalk in front of the resort or by the walking along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent RIU Fans
Business
Sarasota, FL
Apr 18, 2013

Return to RIU Palace Mexico

We just returned from a visit to the RIU Palace Mexico. The renovations result in vast improvements especially in the outdoor areas, pools and restaurants. The 4 pools separated by function with the largest heated serve well. It was nice to have the bar pool totally separated from the area where balls are thrown and children play. The lunch restaurant is huge with a plethora of choices. If you arrive as they open you can have a very nice ocean front table and service is fabulous. The additional dinner restaurants were most welcome. We enjoyed the new Italian the best. They served a stuffed chicken breast that was better than you could get at most restaurants and kudos to their grouper and plentiful tuna appetizer at the Oriental. Also, bottles of wine served at the Krystal were a nice touch. All of the food was excellent and every restaurant employed a unique method of demonstrating personalized and attentive service. The staff was the very best at simply wanting to please. Congratulations to all but especially Yamir, Marieley, Elena, Nando, Daniel, Abraham and German! They made our vacation week very special. Also, take the time to introduce yourself to the assistant manager Ildiko Polgar. She was extremely accommodating granting us the best room she could and on the upper floor as we had requested. Lastly, do not miss David. He plays piano every Monday through Friday in the lobby before and immediately after dinner. Even if you are not a piano bar fan, you will enjoy his varied and entertaining selections. The beach, pools, ocean water, location and access to the other 4 RIU hotels complete the reason why this hotel is the best overall in the area. The staff at the RIU Palace Mexico made this a particularly wonderful vacation leaving us no choice but to plan a prompt return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top