$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
117 reviews
Perfection!

You MUST stay at the RIU Palace Mexico! Perfection in all aspects. The Staff was incredibly... See full review

  • MariaSimon
  • Aug 15, 2014
Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind... See full review

  • Mama 3 Cusick
  • May 19, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 19, 2009

hotel review

My vacation stay was very good, except for the bad smell that lingered throughout the entire facility. I believe it was mildew that must have formed from the extreme humidity of the region. No mildew or dirt or mold was visible, but the odor was EXTREME. So because of the smell I cannot recommend this location to my friends, eventhough the staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Royal Oak, MI
Jun 8, 2009

Upgraded to RIU Riviera Maya

I came to Playa Del Carmen for a friends wedding. Total of 28 ppl on the trip. The trip was originally booked at RIU palace Mexico, but due to swine flu scare the location was closed b/c of low booking. We were upgraded to RIU palce riviera maya. The hotel is so beautiful. Staff is always smiling. Room is always clean, even turn down service! Always serving your needs. Great bars and restaurants to choose from. Many fun things to do...kayaking, scuba/snorkel, parasailing, adventurous trips to jungle for ATV and zip cord fun, TULUM, and many other fun things to do. Fun shopping in Playa Del Carmen. Laying on the beach, or by pool. Swim up bar. Or you can even go back to room for a nap. Wedding was beautiful and loving. Mexico does it right!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
May 20, 2009

Moved to RIU Riviera Maya

Hotel Staff was unbelievable. Food was very good but I think because your in Mexico it didn't sit too well sometimes. Very nice reserved restaurants and people I know got married and the staff did a wonderful job. Great pool bar and wonderful beach. Look for Jesus and Pedro in the sports bar and John Williams to take care of you at night. I would definately go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go downtown and eat some nights instead of the buffets and restaurants on the resort. Also, Find foods you like and that sit well with you and stick with them all week and you'll have a great time.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikehabana
Miami, FL
Apr 22, 2009

2nd trip

Overall I can say that I love Cancun, my wife and I will be coming back again, and again. Every trip is like a new discover that makes our dreams come true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Apr 22, 2009

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Food was great but you have to get out at least one night and try something else in the "city". You have to get down there early in the morning to make reservations for supper or eat the same buffet every night. It's really good food, but something different is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

GO to Playa and shop and eat

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NLAV
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Amazing!!

We enjoy staying at the RIU hotel chain and the Riu Palace Mexico in Playa Del Carmen exceeded our usual RIU expectations. The staff was great, the beach was amazing, and the peacefulness was incomparable. We ate at the steak house restaurant and at Krystal and had a great experience at both. Each morning we walked either up and down the beach our went out to the main road and walked through the neighborhood. There is a small shopping center across from the Palace and some small ruins down the road. We also went to town a few times and walked 5th Avenue, which was very nice. It is a 15 block road for pedestrians only with shops, restaurants, bars, ice cream shops, etc. Next door at the Yucatan there is a family of Howler monkeys living in the trees-fun to watch. We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalerosset
New Orleans, LA
Mar 9, 2009

Very Relaxing

We met up with friends also staying at the resort and just relaxed by the beach and by the pool and enjoyed the ambiance (food and drink). The beach was very nice. One of the nicer beaches that we've been to. Although it was unusually cool while we were there in March and did not go in the pool or the ocean. It was disappointing that the hot tub was not heated. It was nice that this resort was located in the Playacar section and so we were able to walk to other resorts (some of which were other Riu resorts) and to 5th Avenue for some shopping. This was our only outing outside the resort. The food at the restaurants for dining was mixed. The "gourmet" dining experience was a little "out there," but the other restaurants were very good. The best buffet was the main buffet. The smaller buffets did not compare. The entertainment that we experienced was mediocre except for the dancers from Cuba who were very good. The only thing I did not like about the resort was that the tap water in the rooms was not potable and the bathroom smelled of sewage. The hotel did try to fix the smell problem but not completely successfully. The staff was friendly and helpful even if there was a language barrier. It did give me an opportunity to practice my Spanish. We stayed in a junior suite which consisted of two double beds pushed together. A queen bed would have been more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 28, 2008

Very Unhappy customer

I was on my honeymoon. Everytime we would ask for something the answer was always no. The food wasn't very good. In order to eat had one of the restaurants u had to make reservations in person between 8 and 10. So if you were going on an excursion you were SOL. I have to say this vacation was a nightmare. I could not wait to get back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 6, 2008

Our first Riu Experience

Our first visit to Riu Mexico in Riviera Maya was very enjoyable for the whole family. The staff from room sevice to entertainment was top notch. We would reccomend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa de Carmen was 30 min walking and was a full day of site seeing.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bismarck, ND
Oct 6, 2008

Great Place

I had no problems with this place at all. The food can get a little redundant after eating buffet style. I would be sure to get up early and make nightly reservations at the restaurants if I was to go back. The beach and pool are great. The staff is very friendly and will make sure you have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a $5 cab downtown to mix things up.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search