$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent RIU Fans
Business
Sarasota, FL
Apr 18, 2013

Return to RIU Palace Mexico

We just returned from a visit to the RIU Palace Mexico. The renovations result in vast improvements especially in the outdoor areas, pools and restaurants. The 4 pools separated by function with the largest heated serve well. It was nice to have the bar pool totally separated from the area where balls are thrown and children play. The lunch restaurant is huge with a plethora of choices. If you arrive as they open you can have a very nice ocean front table and service is fabulous. The additional dinner restaurants were most welcome. We enjoyed the new Italian the best. They served a stuffed chicken breast that was better than you could get at most restaurants and kudos to their grouper and plentiful tuna appetizer at the Oriental. Also, bottles of wine served at the Krystal were a nice touch. All of the food was excellent and every restaurant employed a unique method of demonstrating personalized and attentive service. The staff was the very best at simply wanting to please. Congratulations to all but especially Yamir, Marieley, Elena, Nando, Daniel, Abraham and German! They made our vacation week very special. Also, take the time to introduce yourself to the assistant manager Ildiko Polgar. She was extremely accommodating granting us the best room she could and on the upper floor as we had requested. Lastly, do not miss David. He plays piano every Monday through Friday in the lobby before and immediately after dinner. Even if you are not a piano bar fan, you will enjoy his varied and entertaining selections. The beach, pools, ocean water, location and access to the other 4 RIU hotels complete the reason why this hotel is the best overall in the area. The staff at the RIU Palace Mexico made this a particularly wonderful vacation leaving us no choice but to plan a prompt return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sun Worshipers
Business
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2013

Area of possible improvement

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. It would be nice if they could provide a more private hospitality suite. At least refrain from having the employees use the suite for their bathroom needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hscriv
Business
Mountain View, California
Aug 25, 2013

Great Week in PDC

Just got back from a week at the RIU Mexico in PDC. We found the hotel to be a great value for us. We are 2 ~25ish professionals. Pros: amazing location access to 4 other RIU PDC resorts nice friendly staff good breakfast & lunch nice coffee bar (not found at other RIU in area) bathroom/shower gym Cons: were not many other folks our age at resort. Mostly families and older couples in-resort bars: pretty dead, watered down mixed drinks (to be expected at all-inclusive), poor beer selection restaurants: very small, difficult to get a reservation, small menus, not much variety had to report ants in our room numerous times water stopped working in room for about an hour Overall - I would stay at RIU Mexico again due to its great value. We really used the hotel as a launching point for 5th avenue which we went to almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Ula Gula on 5th avenue for some of the best food in PDC!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Muy nice
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2013

It was great

Overall a great experience. Check the weather for the months you book in order to make sure there is no rain/storm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KPSB2
Business
Michigan
Oct 28, 2013

Great place to visit

First of all the beach was one of the best we've ever been too, food was good but not great, staff was extremely helpful, shows a bit corny and not that great. We had a lot of rain and there were a few leaks in the building. Modern décor is not our style. Showers were awesome Water closet too small though. Over all a good value for the $'s.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4ftFury!
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 29, 2010

Great for the money!

The hotel was great for the $, and I'm a picky traveller! Big rooms, beautiful resort, great food, always somebody looking to hand you a drink, super-friendly staff! Only complaints were: The bed was very hard and stiff; plus, we asked for 2 double-beds b/c we were traveling as a couple + 1 friend - the 2 double-beds were pushed together like they were one bed. And regarding dinner: the dress code is strictly enforced, so men must wear long pants at all restuarants except dinner buffet; my husband didn't have dress pants b/c the temp was 100+ for our entire stay, so he got by wearing his CK pajama pants - good trick! Plus, had to make dinner reservations in-person by going to the theater each day; didn't like that. But overall, great vacation, great price! P.S. Note that tops were optional for ladies around the pool and on the beach, so be cognizant if you're thinking of taking kids; this wasn't a resort geared towards kids, anyway, so don't bring them - everyone here was adult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort set-up shopping vendors at the hotel a couple of times a week; the t-shirt vendors were a rip-off. BUT NOTE: The artisan vendors at the hotel were GREAT bargains! So DO buy from the artists at the hotel, but not the t-shirt vendors. For $5, take a 5-minute cab ride up to the main downtown Playa Del Carmen area where you can get cheesey tourist stuff like mass-produced "art" and t-shirts from big drug store-looking shops for great prices.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel from Mexico
Business
Mexico
Sep 20, 2011

Nice hotel lots of food

The hotel is nice, a very nice lobby, there are a few hotels that you can also visit and use with the same pass, so over all there are lots of amenities. There are lots of food, many restaurants and over all it's good value, I can not say that the restaurants are gourmet, mainly is a lot of food, decent quality but you can not expect to be amazed by the food, For me I feel this is the last time I use an all inclusive as I prefer to eat less but to enjoy a better quality restaurant. so if you are very special with food, this is not for you, if you have kids and want to forget about paying all the time and leave them go freely around the place this is a very good choice to enjoy a good holiday at a good value. so over all, I give 4 out of 5 of what I was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese was not so good, but I heard the steak house was better even I did not have the chance to eat there.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Dec 18, 2010

FANTASTIC VACATION

BEACH WALKING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
Nov 16, 2010

A great all inclusive

Our second trip to RPM...and it remains one of our favorite AI's. We love the location in Playacar....there are numerous resorts close by that you can venture into and compare. Playa de Carmen is only a $5 taxi. The shows at the resort, the entertainment staff, and the pool are OK or pretty good. The beach and food are excellent. The guests are terrific. On both trips we managed to meet the most interesting guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilya555
Business
New Jersey
Nov 20, 2010

Best of all the RIUs in the area

This hotel truly is a "palace" and makes you feel like you've arrived in paradise. Our favorite parts were the beautiful ocean water, the beach bar, the swim-up pool bar, and the specialty restaurants. The only negatives were the lack of decent entertainment (always a bit of an issue with RIU properties) and the sometimes "wet dog" smell of our room after it was made up. For the most part, that wasn't a big issue since we spent most of the day at the pool and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to go out to eat EVER when staying here...plenty of food in the specialty restaurants and if you just want casual the buffet is great too.

Back to menu Return to top