$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
118 reviews
Excellent getaway.

Very, very clean hotel and beach. Excellent buffet every day. Great personnels and services. See full review

  • SlyLou
  • Sep 8, 2014
Fantastic Anniversary gift for my wife!

My wife is from Guadalajara but had never been to this part of Mexico. She moved to the US about 35... See full review

  • Pietrowski
  • Sep 8, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leningradka
Minnesota
Jun 2, 2012

Perfect vacation!

We stayed at RIU Palace for 6 days and it was fantastic! The beach is simply the best! Food, service, intertaiment - everything as 5 star hotel. Will come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 28, 2008

Very Unhappy customer

I was on my honeymoon. Everytime we would ask for something the answer was always no. The food wasn't very good. In order to eat had one of the restaurants u had to make reservations in person between 8 and 10. So if you were going on an excursion you were SOL. I have to say this vacation was a nightmare. I could not wait to get back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed mex traveler
Mexico City
Feb 4, 2013

Bad service, bad food, terrible drinks!

I've been several times at Playa del Carmen and Cancun and I've never been so dissapointed! The Riu Hotel is pretty but they have no idea of what means a customer experience: Food is average but, drinks were really awful, they have no idea of how to make a cocktail. There are no restrooms near the beach and the rooms are really noicy, you can hear the cleaning people talking at the hallways at 7 am! Front desk people were completely useless and careless: they refused to give me my check out receipt! It didn't worth what I payed. My recomendation: avoid Riu Hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston texas
Jun 25, 2009

moved hotels

I moved to rui palace riveria maya. My mistake in picking rui mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy12754
Usa
Apr 10, 2012

Not so great

Too many kids and no separation. Hotel is very musty smelling and room service is awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stay girl
San antonio
May 14, 2012

Get away

The pool was not very deep and needs floats ! Also the restaurants were not very good and they gave small food portions ! And it was to be all inclusive also there was a small time frame to make reservations ! The refrig was not restocked every day like they said ! Need more towels n the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Oct 26, 2009

October RIU Palace-Mexico

We sat at pool, took ferry to Cozumel & shopped in Playa Del Carmen. Food at buffet was way better than in the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservations actually start at 7:30 when they give out numbers. Then you have to go back at 8:30 to pick your restaurant.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
toothhound
york, pa
Jul 5, 2009

Not what we expected

Overall, we had a nice vacation & the resort was nice. Having stayed at other resorts you automatically start to compare the differences. We arrived around 11:30 am-tired & starving( i am 4mo pregnant). We were told that there we could only get a continental breakfast & we had to quickly "run" down to the place before they closed in 20 minutes. Breakfast stopped being served @ 10:30 & lunch wasnt served until 12:30. And since we didnt have a room avail yet we couldnt order room service. Then, we were told that ALL of the rest. required long pants except for 1. & you HAD to make a resv for dinner & could only make it in the AM between the hrs of 8-10:30 & you couldnt call, you had to actually go down to the theater to make them. Also, you only have 2 dinner time options. I have never been to a resort where i was only allowed to choose 2 times to eat. & i am on vacation, the last thing i want to worry about is waking up @ 8 so i can get the resv for the rest we want at & get the time we want since there are only 2 dinner times. So the first nite of course we were unable to get a dinnner resv becuase it was after 10:30.We have been to other resorts who have a dress code but it is usually 1 maybe 2 rest that require long pants but this resort req long pants at all except for 1 rest. You can eat at the buffet any time but who wants the buffet every nite? The buffet req long pants also. We had 2 rooms, our kids had there own 2 doors down, the first nite, they tried to get a shower, the shower didnt work. The resort was very prompt in repairing it but still an inconvenience. Also the phone in their room didnt work, again, they were prompt in fixing but the phone broke again by the last day. The shower had no light in it- had the fixtures but no lights.Our rooms were directly beside the neighboring resorts disco & the music was soo loud we were unable to sleep. This really wasnt much of a nusiance until our last nite when we had to get up @ 5am to leave because all the other nites we were out enjoying the nitely enetrtainment. We did love the beach, the pool, the nitely entertainment & the closeness to shopping & downtown. My stepson utilized the gym everyday & said it was ok, he also got a massage & said it was great. Most of the staff was friendly & somewhat accomodating but, again, having stayed at some other resorts it was not exceptional. On the first day we were quite upset & tried to talk to a manager around 5pm but we told there isnt one on duty until 6:30- we were ready to stay at another resort. But the sales team wasnt avail on sat to say wether or not i could get a refund so we stayed. We did have a nice time overall but i dont know if i would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking a taxi to 5th ave in playa del carmen was only $5 us one way. Very quick & worth it to get downtown.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uncle Tim
U.C New Jersey
Jul 28, 2014

Far from a 5 more like 2

The hotel rooms had a musty smell and the toilet was in a closet with no exhaust fan. When you took a shower the water had a sewer smell to it . The food and staff (not the front desk) were great , this is no 5 star hotel . We stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya last year and that was rated at a 4 star and this one was rated a 5 star . Made the best of the vacation but the rating is miss leading.Looking forward to next year ….we'll be going back to The Riu Palace Riviera Maya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalerosset
New Orleans, LA
Mar 9, 2009

Very Relaxing

We met up with friends also staying at the resort and just relaxed by the beach and by the pool and enjoyed the ambiance (food and drink). The beach was very nice. One of the nicer beaches that we've been to. Although it was unusually cool while we were there in March and did not go in the pool or the ocean. It was disappointing that the hot tub was not heated. It was nice that this resort was located in the Playacar section and so we were able to walk to other resorts (some of which were other Riu resorts) and to 5th Avenue for some shopping. This was our only outing outside the resort. The food at the restaurants for dining was mixed. The "gourmet" dining experience was a little "out there," but the other restaurants were very good. The best buffet was the main buffet. The smaller buffets did not compare. The entertainment that we experienced was mediocre except for the dancers from Cuba who were very good. The only thing I did not like about the resort was that the tap water in the rooms was not potable and the bathroom smelled of sewage. The hotel did try to fix the smell problem but not completely successfully. The staff was friendly and helpful even if there was a language barrier. It did give me an opportunity to practice my Spanish. We stayed in a junior suite which consisted of two double beds pushed together. A queen bed would have been more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gil Rod
Houston, Texas
Aug 1, 2014

Something Differnent

In my opinion the hotel stay was ok...could use more friendlier staff...probably would not stay at this Riu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search