$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 13, 2009

Riu Palace - Warm with Wonderful Staff

The RIU Palace Mexico is an older established hotel. It has a lobby that is similar to a 1st class hotel in New York and just knocks you off your feet when you walk in. It has a beautiful chapel, dark hard wood everywhere, a classic brass and dark wook bar, piano lounge and gorgeous chandeliars. It is air conditioned and a respite from the heat anytime of the day. The staff are warm and generous. They are there to serve you in every way just as long as you are courteous to them. They are people and if you are rude, they may not want to give you the service you feel you should get. We have been to the RIU more than 7 times and never have we ever encountered an unpleasant experience. In fact we genuinely look forward to seeing the staff and they appear to genuinely look forward to seeing us. The food is the most excellent we have ever had at an all-inclusive resort. Dinner reservations are a bit of a pain but you can always dine at the buffet if you don't want to bother. For us, I show up a few minutes before 8 in the morning, take a number, saunter down to the pool or beach and return at 8:30 to quickly make whatever reservation I desire. Being that I am there early I get a first or second number and so there is little to no wait or interference in my morning. The Krystal is truly first class. Try the tuna appetizer. The Miyagi is also well done and the sushi is very good - for an all inclusive resort. The breakfasts are wonderful. Excellent choice and very well prepared. Lunch is varied and could be steak, chicken or hamburger. Your choice depending upon the restaurant you choose to use. Pool is a pool lunch but large selection and convenient. Buffet is just about anything you want - and good. Drinks are whatever you ask for and they are plentiful. We have a special cocktail we ask for every evening and it is made to perfection. More importantly, the staff truly seems to enjoy making it for us. Rooms are just right - large enough and clean enough for all of the guests that come in and out. Again, the staff accomodates us with the best room they have and if possible allows for early and late check-in. The pool(s) are not the more modern large and infinity. But the quiet side is quiet and the bar side is the typical bar / fun time atmosphere. They are both beautfully decorated with tile floral freezes on the bottom. The quiet side is perfect for a calm finish to the day after the ocean playing or for a swim without having to bump into rowdy crowds and tons of children playing with balls. The ocean is an ocean so it can be wavy or like a lake. It is clear abd clean with no seaweed and could not be any nicer if it was the Bahamas or Cayman - blue as the sky. Sand as white as pearls. The place to be. Can not say anymore except that we travel very often - everywhere - and this hotel and location are definitely in the top 3 of our choices. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is a $5 (american) taxi ride away. Playacar is across the street.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nebraska
May 9, 2010

Great beach and very relaxing atmosphere

If your looking for an extremely quiet and relaxing place with great service and a friendly staff this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga CA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic value, 5 star quality

We were extremely pleased with our one week stay there. The staff go out of their way to make you happy, from front desk to restaurant staff as well as activities members, beach staff etc... The rooms are large, comfy and very clean, the food excellent, it was the best vacation , most relaxing we've ever had. We're looking up other Riu hotels around the world to book our next vacation, and will definitely come back to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the show nightly and all the activities the hotel offers : aerobic class in the pool, dancing classes, stretching

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MariaSimon
Business
New York City, New York
Aug 15, 2014

Perfection!

You MUST stay at the RIU Palace Mexico! Perfection in all aspects. The Staff was incredibly gracious. The food and beverages were delicious and the daily variety was endless. Our room was immaculate as were the four pools, dining rooms and lounges. The property itself is a genuine reflection of its name. Beautiful, serene and spacious. One day my husband and I returned to our room after enjoying a scrumptious breakfast and to our surprise the Staff had decorated our room with balloons, a birthday cake, flowers and a gift for his birthday. We were overwhelmed. We had not said a word to anyone about his upcoming birthday. How did they know? They just did :) Words can not express how grateful and delighted we were. We took tons of photos which we will cherish forever. We are already making plans to return in a few months and have recommended the RIU Palace Mexico to everyone we know. Thank you to the entire Staff at the RIU Palace Mexico :) See you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try everything! The food is delicious and the variety is endless. Fresh, scrumptious and always something different. The Chefs are very creative with their recipes and presentation.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel H.
Business
Reseda, California
Aug 25, 2014

Happy Group

One week of total relaxation. The hotel staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcomed. This is the third time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better and better. Huge variety of the best tasting food, including authentic Mexican food, and european cuisine. The beach was immaculate with plenty of shade for me and lots of sun for my wife. Truly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pull yourselves out of the hotel and visit Xcaret for a day.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SlyLou
Business
Comox, British Columbia
Sep 8, 2014

Excellent getaway.

Very, very clean hotel and beach. Excellent buffet every day. Great personnels and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Xcaret.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pietrowski
Business
San Fernando California
Sep 8, 2014

Fantastic Anniversary gift for my wife!

My wife is from Guadalajara but had never been to this part of Mexico. She moved to the US about 35 years ago when she was in elementary. I'm from Seattle. This was my first trip to Mexico with my wife.....we LOVED IT!!!! We want to come back next year. I didn't know Mexico could feel so safe, loved it, loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you forget your bathing suit, suntan lotion or any other personal items "DO NOT BUY THEM AT THE LOCAL MARKET....GO TO WALMART:) Mexico has a Walmart.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary l ohio
Business
ohio
Nov 10, 2014

beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is absolutely gorgeous. Couldn't ask for better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Birthday Girl
Business
New York
Nov 27, 2014

Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the morning! The staff was friendly and engaging. We went to Tulum, an underwater cavern and snorkeling. The visibility was not great, but still a good trip. A bunch of kelp washed up on the beach for most of the trip, but the staff did what they could to sweep it up. All in all, the trip was a fantastic value. Bring small bills if you would like to tip anyone. The front desk cannot change large USD bills into smaller ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary l ohio
Business
strongsville
Feb 4, 2015

riu palace fantastic

We had such a beautiful trip. The hotel was clean grounds were beautiful and staff was wonderful. There was a little plaza with a Starbucks up the street. Great place out front to take morning run. Beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top