$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, Virginia
Jun 17, 2011

How soon can I go back?

Before traveling, I exhaustively researched this hotel, Playa del Carmen, all-inclusive resorts, and anything else that I can think of, online. After returning from a sun-soaked, laid-back week at the RIU Palace Mexico, I can only conclude that for anybody who doesn't like it there, this type of vacation just isn't for them. Food: I think of it and salivate. I had to restrain myself at breakfast so I could later immerse myself in the vast variety of great food, along with many surprises, prepared by a squadron of chefs. The four specialty restaurants are each magnificent, with exquisitely conceived and prepared food that broadened my horizons (more octopus ceviche, please...) Meals of that caliber would otherwise have cost me the entire hotel bill—but they came included. The all-inclusive drink aspect gets a lot of press. I'm not one to drink myself under the table, but the alcohol was flowing. If you insist on being a liquor snob, stay home with your $100 cognac. You won't find that, but you won't be disappointed. Minimum wage in Mexico is low, and the staff obviously works very hard. Tips (I always kept a few $1 and $5 bills in my pocket) for exemplary service were REALLY appreciated. Few reviews mention the entertainment. Every night a mariachi or dance performance, from Latin dances to Mayan tribal reenactments, brought the place to life. Some choreography was really superlative. It was always a great way to end the day. Furthermore, a very eager entertainment staff rounds up folks for water aerobics, horseshoes, bingo, etc. It's easy to say no and go back to reading, but its a great way to meet other folks from around the world and have a brief diversion. I met some pretty cool folks across the water volleyball net. The beach and pools were beautiful. I enjoyed being able to move from beachside chair in the sun to pool deck chair under an umbrella to hammock beneath the palm trees. In June, low (hot!) season, I guess its not too crowded. With all this, why spend time in my room? Applying sunscreen, mostly. But the facilities were well equipped and well maintained. I couldn't think of anything else I would have wanted in a room. Caution: hard services are easier to clean in that humidity, so nothing much absorbs sound. I don't mind an occasional screaming kid in the corridor that much, but they echo through the ENTIRE corridor! I went for a buffet lunch at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya one day. I had no service at all—I left without even had a glass of water. It was EXTREMELY crowded, maybe I picked a bad day. So I'll stay with the slightly classier, slightly less expensive, slightly more relaxed, slightly more romantic RIU Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Various $60-90 van services, etc., connect Cancun airport to Playa del Carmen. Unless your group can fill a van by itself, avoid them. At both terminals an ADO desk sells $10-11 (depending on the exchange rate) bus tickets, on an air-conditioned motor coach to downtown Playa del Carmen. From there, an easy $7-8 cab ride lands you at the hotel doorstep. Save $50 p/p without spending extra time.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond, va
Oct 20, 2009

Heaven on Earth

this hotel and the area are wonderful. we stayed in October and it was HOT. but the lobby was air conditioned and as beautiful -- more -- than anything you see in New York. the restaurants - 4 of 5 were air conditioned and 2 were gourmet -- not NY gourmet but great for an island and an all-inclusive. the staff --- there are no words to describe the excellence, friendliness, courtesy and professionalism of service. ocean --- fabulous - no more to say and beach equal. many places to walk -- outside the hotel and on the beach. shopping - if you want it. the hotel and beach were just too good to leave. 4 additional hotels of the same chain to visit anytime you wanted and enjoy meals there or at this RIU -- all except for dinner -- but who would need or want to go elsewhere? try the Krystal restaurant - as gourmet as it gets -- for an all-inclusive. have the tuna appetizer - melt in your mouth. it couldn't have been any better and we can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jun 12, 2010

awesome place

All I did was eat great food, sleep, drink, and swim. amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Sep 16, 2010

Great get away

Great beach with a good balance of shade & sun. We used the Hobie Cats, windsurfer and kayaks - all were in good shape and the beach staff is very helpfull and friendly. The only thing missing from our stay was more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NLAV
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Amazing!!

We enjoy staying at the RIU hotel chain and the Riu Palace Mexico in Playa Del Carmen exceeded our usual RIU expectations. The staff was great, the beach was amazing, and the peacefulness was incomparable. We ate at the steak house restaurant and at Krystal and had a great experience at both. Each morning we walked either up and down the beach our went out to the main road and walked through the neighborhood. There is a small shopping center across from the Palace and some small ruins down the road. We also went to town a few times and walked 5th Avenue, which was very nice. It is a 15 block road for pedestrians only with shops, restaurants, bars, ice cream shops, etc. Next door at the Yucatan there is a family of Howler monkeys living in the trees-fun to watch. We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico dreamin'
Business
Texas
Jun 22, 2009

First class in Mexico

The Riu Palace Mexico was all I expected from other reviews and so much more. It was more sophisticated and had a European flare. The grounds were gorgeous and I especially enjoyed the old world feel. My husband and I opted for 4 nights 5 days without children. We are in the 35 to 45 range. Mostly we spent our days on the beach. We did take a taxi to Playa Del Carmen to shop. Then we walked down to the newest Riu, Riu Palace Rivera Maya. In comparison the Riu Palace Mexico was the best for us. Although the pool is smaller the beach is by far the best out of all the hotels on the strip. Since most of our experience has been to travel by cruise we enjoyed the all inclusive package with tips and alcohol included!! The service was better than on our cruises and there were plenty of activities to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Choose the speciality restaurants when you can. Monday-Thursday we were able to get any choice and the reservation number system did not bother us. Unfortunately the restuarants were not even half full at our settings??? People missed out. Krystals was by far the best.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Jun 8, 2009

Upgraded to RIU Riviera Maya

I came to Playa Del Carmen for a friends wedding. Total of 28 ppl on the trip. The trip was originally booked at RIU palace Mexico, but due to swine flu scare the location was closed b/c of low booking. We were upgraded to RIU palce riviera maya. The hotel is so beautiful. Staff is always smiling. Room is always clean, even turn down service! Always serving your needs. Great bars and restaurants to choose from. Many fun things to do...kayaking, scuba/snorkel, parasailing, adventurous trips to jungle for ATV and zip cord fun, TULUM, and many other fun things to do. Fun shopping in Playa Del Carmen. Laying on the beach, or by pool. Swim up bar. Or you can even go back to room for a nap. Wedding was beautiful and loving. Mexico does it right!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Penfield, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic, did not want to leave!

This was our second time to the Riu Palace Mexico and am looking forward to the third. From check-in to check-out, everything was superb. [...] [...], and the rest of the staff went above and beyond duty to accommodate our needs. We have yet to find this type of service anywhere else. The food was outstanding and fresh everyday, with more than enough choices to choose from. Plenty of activities to choose from, poolside or water sports. Highly recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 5, 2010

Always Wonderful

Have been to the RIU Palace multiple times. Why? The pool area is quiet - unless you are on the bar side - and even then it is social but not overdone. Secondly, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is such as you see in a major city and is air conditioned with deep mahogany furniture. There is a piano bar in the evenings that can not be beat anywhere. Older crowd but nice. Lastly, all meals are fantastic. Reservations for the a la cartes are annoying each day but what else do i have to do? All in all, great place and the ability to visit and enjoy the other 4 RIU hotels makes it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen by beach or street, Playacar, all other RIUs make for an interesting and varied vaca.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Creek, Michigan
Feb 15, 2011

wonderful family vacation and wedding

An amazing vacation and wedding. Everything I could have asked for and more. Accomadated to every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top