$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
121 reviews
Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the... See full review

  • NYC Birthday Girl
  • Nov 27, 2014
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Sep 16, 2010

Great get away

Great beach with a good balance of shade & sun. We used the Hobie Cats, windsurfer and kayaks - all were in good shape and the beach staff is very helpfull and friendly. The only thing missing from our stay was more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NLAV
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Amazing!!

We enjoy staying at the RIU hotel chain and the Riu Palace Mexico in Playa Del Carmen exceeded our usual RIU expectations. The staff was great, the beach was amazing, and the peacefulness was incomparable. We ate at the steak house restaurant and at Krystal and had a great experience at both. Each morning we walked either up and down the beach our went out to the main road and walked through the neighborhood. There is a small shopping center across from the Palace and some small ruins down the road. We also went to town a few times and walked 5th Avenue, which was very nice. It is a 15 block road for pedestrians only with shops, restaurants, bars, ice cream shops, etc. Next door at the Yucatan there is a family of Howler monkeys living in the trees-fun to watch. We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico dreamin'
Business
Texas
Jun 22, 2009

First class in Mexico

The Riu Palace Mexico was all I expected from other reviews and so much more. It was more sophisticated and had a European flare. The grounds were gorgeous and I especially enjoyed the old world feel. My husband and I opted for 4 nights 5 days without children. We are in the 35 to 45 range. Mostly we spent our days on the beach. We did take a taxi to Playa Del Carmen to shop. Then we walked down to the newest Riu, Riu Palace Rivera Maya. In comparison the Riu Palace Mexico was the best for us. Although the pool is smaller the beach is by far the best out of all the hotels on the strip. Since most of our experience has been to travel by cruise we enjoyed the all inclusive package with tips and alcohol included!! The service was better than on our cruises and there were plenty of activities to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Choose the speciality restaurants when you can. Monday-Thursday we were able to get any choice and the reservation number system did not bother us. Unfortunately the restuarants were not even half full at our settings??? People missed out. Krystals was by far the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Jun 8, 2009

Upgraded to RIU Riviera Maya

I came to Playa Del Carmen for a friends wedding. Total of 28 ppl on the trip. The trip was originally booked at RIU palace Mexico, but due to swine flu scare the location was closed b/c of low booking. We were upgraded to RIU palce riviera maya. The hotel is so beautiful. Staff is always smiling. Room is always clean, even turn down service! Always serving your needs. Great bars and restaurants to choose from. Many fun things to do...kayaking, scuba/snorkel, parasailing, adventurous trips to jungle for ATV and zip cord fun, TULUM, and many other fun things to do. Fun shopping in Playa Del Carmen. Laying on the beach, or by pool. Swim up bar. Or you can even go back to room for a nap. Wedding was beautiful and loving. Mexico does it right!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Penfield, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic, did not want to leave!

This was our second time to the Riu Palace Mexico and am looking forward to the third. From check-in to check-out, everything was superb. [...] [...], and the rest of the staff went above and beyond duty to accommodate our needs. We have yet to find this type of service anywhere else. The food was outstanding and fresh everyday, with more than enough choices to choose from. Plenty of activities to choose from, poolside or water sports. Highly recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 5, 2010

Always Wonderful

Have been to the RIU Palace multiple times. Why? The pool area is quiet - unless you are on the bar side - and even then it is social but not overdone. Secondly, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is such as you see in a major city and is air conditioned with deep mahogany furniture. There is a piano bar in the evenings that can not be beat anywhere. Older crowd but nice. Lastly, all meals are fantastic. Reservations for the a la cartes are annoying each day but what else do i have to do? All in all, great place and the ability to visit and enjoy the other 4 RIU hotels makes it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen by beach or street, Playacar, all other RIUs make for an interesting and varied vaca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Creek, Michigan
Feb 15, 2011

wonderful family vacation and wedding

An amazing vacation and wedding. Everything I could have asked for and more. Accomadated to every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 13, 2009

Riu Palace - Warm with Wonderful Staff

The RIU Palace Mexico is an older established hotel. It has a lobby that is similar to a 1st class hotel in New York and just knocks you off your feet when you walk in. It has a beautiful chapel, dark hard wood everywhere, a classic brass and dark wook bar, piano lounge and gorgeous chandeliars. It is air conditioned and a respite from the heat anytime of the day. The staff are warm and generous. They are there to serve you in every way just as long as you are courteous to them. They are people and if you are rude, they may not want to give you the service you feel you should get. We have been to the RIU more than 7 times and never have we ever encountered an unpleasant experience. In fact we genuinely look forward to seeing the staff and they appear to genuinely look forward to seeing us. The food is the most excellent we have ever had at an all-inclusive resort. Dinner reservations are a bit of a pain but you can always dine at the buffet if you don't want to bother. For us, I show up a few minutes before 8 in the morning, take a number, saunter down to the pool or beach and return at 8:30 to quickly make whatever reservation I desire. Being that I am there early I get a first or second number and so there is little to no wait or interference in my morning. The Krystal is truly first class. Try the tuna appetizer. The Miyagi is also well done and the sushi is very good - for an all inclusive resort. The breakfasts are wonderful. Excellent choice and very well prepared. Lunch is varied and could be steak, chicken or hamburger. Your choice depending upon the restaurant you choose to use. Pool is a pool lunch but large selection and convenient. Buffet is just about anything you want - and good. Drinks are whatever you ask for and they are plentiful. We have a special cocktail we ask for every evening and it is made to perfection. More importantly, the staff truly seems to enjoy making it for us. Rooms are just right - large enough and clean enough for all of the guests that come in and out. Again, the staff accomodates us with the best room they have and if possible allows for early and late check-in. The pool(s) are not the more modern large and infinity. But the quiet side is quiet and the bar side is the typical bar / fun time atmosphere. They are both beautfully decorated with tile floral freezes on the bottom. The quiet side is perfect for a calm finish to the day after the ocean playing or for a swim without having to bump into rowdy crowds and tons of children playing with balls. The ocean is an ocean so it can be wavy or like a lake. It is clear abd clean with no seaweed and could not be any nicer if it was the Bahamas or Cayman - blue as the sky. Sand as white as pearls. The place to be. Can not say anymore except that we travel very often - everywhere - and this hotel and location are definitely in the top 3 of our choices. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is a $5 (american) taxi ride away. Playacar is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nebraska
May 9, 2010

Great beach and very relaxing atmosphere

If your looking for an extremely quiet and relaxing place with great service and a friendly staff this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga CA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic value, 5 star quality

We were extremely pleased with our one week stay there. The staff go out of their way to make you happy, from front desk to restaurant staff as well as activities members, beach staff etc... The rooms are large, comfy and very clean, the food excellent, it was the best vacation , most relaxing we've ever had. We're looking up other Riu hotels around the world to book our next vacation, and will definitely come back to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the show nightly and all the activities the hotel offers : aerobic class in the pool, dancing classes, stretching

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top