$280 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
180 reviews
Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind... See full review

  • Mama 3 Cusick
  • May 19, 2014
Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the... See full review

  • Alabama Rolltide
  • May 18, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Penfield, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic, did not want to leave!

This was our second time to the Riu Palace Mexico and am looking forward to the third. From check-in to check-out, everything was superb. [...] [...], and the rest of the staff went above and beyond duty to accommodate our needs. We have yet to find this type of service anywhere else. The food was outstanding and fresh everyday, with more than enough choices to choose from. Plenty of activities to choose from, poolside or water sports. Highly recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeker of warm and sunny locations
Central Illinois
Feb 27, 2011

Best resort we have stayed at!

Food: **Best food we have had compared to 3 other Mexico resorts stayed at previously **Japanese and Brazilian were excellent specialty restaurants and the steak house was "ok." **Breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were all great. **There was food and snacks available all times of the day via restaurants and room service. **Lots of outdoor dining seating with ceiling fans. Staff: **Staff were friendly and everyone was treated equally. There was no need to tip because guests were not treated any better after the fact. **Requests were typically honored in a very timely manner. Hotel ammenities: **Very clean hotel and quite beautiful. **Large resort but not too big to go from one location to the other. **Daily planned activities including water aerobics, water and beach volleyball, target shooting, horseshoes, etc. **Very quiet - not a lot of kids or teenagers at this resort while we were there. **Appears to be geared towards middle aged adults which we liked. **All-inclusive included premimum alcohol in the room and the mini bar. **There are 6 RIU resorts in close proximity and guests at the RIU palaces are able to utilize all resorts with the exception of the restaurants requiring reservations. **Beach area is awesome with lots of lounge chairs and palm trees for shade. **Swim-up bar and pool area is wonderful. It is a nice size and lots of sitting area in the main pool. It would have been better if there was a water feature flowing from the bar roof to the water in the pool. **Beds were comfortable and huge. We had two full-size beds pushed together to form one bed! **The lobby had somewhat of a musty smell, but the rooms did not nor did the restaurants. **The outdoor tile walking paths became slippery with a small amount of moisture. Overall, this was a great resort and felt very upscale compared to the other resorts we have stayed at (Sandos Playacar, Crown Paradise Cancun, Gran Melia Cancun). This is the first place we stayed at that we thought we could consider returning too because it was so good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel starts taking reservations at the specialty reservations daily at 8:30 a.m., but ticket numbers are issued at 8:00 a.m. You want to be sure and get a number early and go back at 8:30 a.m. if you want a specific restaurant at a specific time for the evening.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2007

Excellent Honeymoon

This resort was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent shooping nearby with a short taxi ride that cost $5 each way. Well worth the money!!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Rafael, CA
Sep 16, 2010

Great get away

Great beach with a good balance of shade & sun. We used the Hobie Cats, windsurfer and kayaks - all were in good shape and the beach staff is very helpfull and friendly. The only thing missing from our stay was more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mawky Boy
Seattle, WA
Jan 25, 2011

Amazing Resort and Staff!

The hotel grounds are some of the most beautiful and well kept you will ever see. Huge resort, with lots to do. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Beachfront location was prime. Very happy with our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Would recommend booking a direct shuttle from the airport to the hotel, rather than a shared shuttle with other passengers. You can get there in under an hour with a direct shuttle. And it will take a good 2 hours most likely if you go with a shared shuttle.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent Spot for a relaxing honeymoon.

This was a great spot for a casual sailing couple. We took the hobie cats out every day. They always had a boat available We wanted to take an evening or a day cruise on a charter, but the hotel was so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't want to leave. We were also told to sample some of the local fare in Playa Del Carmen. We never bothered to, the food at the hotel was so good and there was always something new to try. It was a very good honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay cool, take a taxi into town. $7 is not a bad price.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pawleys Island, SC
Jan 14, 2011

Great Escape!

The service was wonderful....food was wonderful too! We did an excursion and had a great experience at Sian Kan. The jeep tour was terrific! The only complaint we have is that we requested a wake up call one day and did not get one. We lost power in our room two days in a row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jazzluvr4u
Chicago, IL
Sep 12, 2011

Riu Palace Mexico in Riviera Maya (Playa del Carmen)

From the get go my fiancee and I felt at home. The staff treated us like family in every aspect of our stay. The room was always cleaned spotless with the maid service always adding a special touch each day. One day we came in to find flowers spread out threw out the room. Breakfast was always the best for us with fresh fruit juices, made right there, omelettes to order at your liking and a staff that treated us like family. The pools and beach were always clean and the bar staff always accomodating. The dinner restaurants were very good except for La Bodega (Brazilian style steakhouse). Aside from that, our stay here was magnificent. We are more than likely going to have our wedding there. Riu has five other hotels there, in which you can use their pools and buffets for breakfast and lunch, all within walking distance of each other. Can't beat the price we got for a complete week's stay. In addition, many of the tourist attractions are within minutes of there (i.e. Xcaret, Xplor, Xel Ha, along with their downtown area). The Mayan pyramids are forty minutes and an hour and a half rspectively (Tullum and Coba).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of doing tours through the hotel or other agencies, you can do them yourself by using the ADO bus system. They all take you to the main attractions like Xcaret, Xplor, Xel Ha, Tullum, Coba and many more at a fraction of what a tour agency pays. You're also not rushed to see the attractions and can go at your own pace.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown
Jun 10, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

The RIU Palace Mexico was very nice. The hotel itself is beautiful with pretty manicured lawns/gardens. The rooms are all suites - which is a plus, the beds are the usual Mexico hard beds, but the pillows are comfortable, the bathroom is very nice - the tub fixtures seemed a bit old, but no big deal. We thought the food was very good also. There was a large variety of foods, fruits, and vegetables that even the pickest eaters (like me) had no problem finding things to eat. The beach was very enjoyable despite the large sand bags in front of the beach (nothing they can do about that), and plenty of beach chairs. The resort was also close to the shopping district. It could be reached by cab in probably 5/10 minutes, but we took a nice walk (very safe) into town after dinner and it took us about 30 minutes - leisurely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tulum tour (on our own) was really neat. If you go, take your swim suit as you can go swimming there.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Apr 5, 2010

Always Wonderful

Have been to the RIU Palace multiple times. Why? The pool area is quiet - unless you are on the bar side - and even then it is social but not overdone. Secondly, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is such as you see in a major city and is air conditioned with deep mahogany furniture. There is a piano bar in the evenings that can not be beat anywhere. Older crowd but nice. Lastly, all meals are fantastic. Reservations for the a la cartes are annoying each day but what else do i have to do? All in all, great place and the ability to visit and enjoy the other 4 RIU hotels makes it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen by beach or street, Playacar, all other RIUs make for an interesting and varied vaca.

Back to menu Return to top