$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
Happy Group

One week of total relaxation. The hotel staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcomed.... See full review

  • Miguel H.
  • Aug 25, 2014
Perfection!

You MUST stay at the RIU Palace Mexico! Perfection in all aspects. The Staff was incredibly... See full review

  • MariaSimon
  • Aug 15, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pacifica, CA
Jun 13, 2010

I will be back, again!

We stayed in this hotel several times. The beach front area had been completely restored compared to our last visit two years ago and looked simply amazing.We spent most of our time at the beach. The air conditioning was not working properly first two days of our stay, otherwise the rooms were clean and very nicely arranged. Food quality was outstanding, but lacked usual variety, especially at the beach front restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed the quality of food and service at steakhouse and fusion restaurant in the resort.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
germany
Apr 4, 2011

excellent stay

all good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

swim with the dolphis

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super jack
denver, co
Apr 1, 2011

hotel mexico RIU

good, went to park explor, no missing, good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not know

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZKat
Athens, GA
Aug 15, 2014

Very nice, relaxing stay in beautiful area

* A lovely facility in a fantastic beach front location * Extraordinarily friendly and enthusiastic service * Reasonable rate/value * Wonderful variety and solid quality in the main restaurant/buffet * Mediocre results at higher level cuisine themes in specialty restaurants * Surprisingly high quality bar/drink service * Above average nightly entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The half day excursion to the ruins at Tulum was well worth the price/effort. The inclusion of a stop off for snorkeling (equipment provided) at one of the nearby cenotes put the trip over the top.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hoiy
New York, NY, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Fantastic Time at RIU Palace Mexico

We just returned yesterday from our trip to PDC and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was so nice and accommodating (for the most part), the location is great, and the food was very good. Some of the few things that I found frustrating though were 1) the use of real keys for your room keys, not a card, and 2) that I emailed the hotel requesting certain things be ready upon arrival since it's no longer peak season and none of my requests were taken into consideration. 1) The keys they give you are etched with your room number. Generally I felt safe and comfortable leaving my belongings around the pool, but if I lost this key I may as well have provided someone a map and key to my room. In this day and age, they need keycards. Real keys are unacceptable. 2) I read other reviews that the beds were extremely uncomfortable and to request an extra mattress topper. I emailed the hotel a week before my arrival and made this request, in addition to a request that our room face the fountains. None of them were considered and we were randomly assigned a room. In the end, the RIU's beds are the worst beds I've ever slept in. Also, I know for a fact the hotel was not full, but they told us it was full and if I wanted a room facing the fountains, it'd cost $120 extra per night. That is outrageous. Anyway, overall the entire vacation was great. We would definitely return. And PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE tip. These people work so hard and it's unfortunate to see people not tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent RIU Fans
Sarasota, FL
Apr 18, 2013

Return to RIU Palace Mexico

We just returned from a visit to the RIU Palace Mexico. The renovations result in vast improvements especially in the outdoor areas, pools and restaurants. The 4 pools separated by function with the largest heated serve well. It was nice to have the bar pool totally separated from the area where balls are thrown and children play. The lunch restaurant is huge with a plethora of choices. If you arrive as they open you can have a very nice ocean front table and service is fabulous. The additional dinner restaurants were most welcome. We enjoyed the new Italian the best. They served a stuffed chicken breast that was better than you could get at most restaurants and kudos to their grouper and plentiful tuna appetizer at the Oriental. Also, bottles of wine served at the Krystal were a nice touch. All of the food was excellent and every restaurant employed a unique method of demonstrating personalized and attentive service. The staff was the very best at simply wanting to please. Congratulations to all but especially Yamir, Marieley, Elena, Nando, Daniel, Abraham and German! They made our vacation week very special. Also, take the time to introduce yourself to the assistant manager Ildiko Polgar. She was extremely accommodating granting us the best room she could and on the upper floor as we had requested. Lastly, do not miss David. He plays piano every Monday through Friday in the lobby before and immediately after dinner. Even if you are not a piano bar fan, you will enjoy his varied and entertaining selections. The beach, pools, ocean water, location and access to the other 4 RIU hotels complete the reason why this hotel is the best overall in the area. The staff at the RIU Palace Mexico made this a particularly wonderful vacation leaving us no choice but to plan a prompt return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sun Worshipers
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2013

Area of possible improvement

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. It would be nice if they could provide a more private hospitality suite. At least refrain from having the employees use the suite for their bathroom needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4ftFury!
Richmond, VA
Mar 29, 2010

Great for the money!

The hotel was great for the $, and I'm a picky traveller! Big rooms, beautiful resort, great food, always somebody looking to hand you a drink, super-friendly staff! Only complaints were: The bed was very hard and stiff; plus, we asked for 2 double-beds b/c we were traveling as a couple + 1 friend - the 2 double-beds were pushed together like they were one bed. And regarding dinner: the dress code is strictly enforced, so men must wear long pants at all restuarants except dinner buffet; my husband didn't have dress pants b/c the temp was 100+ for our entire stay, so he got by wearing his CK pajama pants - good trick! Plus, had to make dinner reservations in-person by going to the theater each day; didn't like that. But overall, great vacation, great price! P.S. Note that tops were optional for ladies around the pool and on the beach, so be cognizant if you're thinking of taking kids; this wasn't a resort geared towards kids, anyway, so don't bring them - everyone here was adult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort set-up shopping vendors at the hotel a couple of times a week; the t-shirt vendors were a rip-off. BUT NOTE: The artisan vendors at the hotel were GREAT bargains! So DO buy from the artists at the hotel, but not the t-shirt vendors. For $5, take a 5-minute cab ride up to the main downtown Playa Del Carmen area where you can get cheesey tourist stuff like mass-produced "art" and t-shirts from big drug store-looking shops for great prices.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 15, 2007

Great location

The RIU Palace Mexico is a beautiful resort in a great location. Although the humidity was higher than expected for this time of year, we had a great time. Food was very good in the restaurants - loads of choices and reasonably easy to get reservations in the finer dining locations. Frankly though, the main buffet style restaurant had excellent choices. Lastly, and not their fault, heavy storms washed away a large part of their beach - I was told 50 yards washed away!! Still, they were trying to deal with the issues. It was unfortunate as it made use of the on-site water sports activities impossible requirinag that we went next door to the RIU Yucatan. Better luck next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the $25 per person snorkle activity from the RIU Palace Mexico through Scuba Caribe - Excellent!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DGK
Excelsior MN
Jul 28, 2009

Nice vacation

The staff was great. I never felt they were expectiong tips. They worked very hard and were always friendly. The grounds and pools were very clean. The rooms could be updated. The food was good. There was always a nice variety of all different foods. The specialty restaurants offered good food with exceptional service. Very quiet low key family resort. If you like nightlife and an active pool this it not it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Palace Mexico does not offer nightlife other than a family oriented shows that end by 11:00pm. This hotel does not have a dance club(disco); however, there are clubs at the adjacent RIU hotels.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search