RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
118 reviews
Excellent getaway.

Very, very clean hotel and beach. Excellent buffet every day. Great personnels and services. See full review

  • SlyLou
  • Sep 8, 2014
Fantastic Anniversary gift for my wife!

My wife is from Guadalajara but had never been to this part of Mexico. She moved to the US about 35... See full review

  • Pietrowski
  • Sep 8, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 18, 2008

My review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Only two comments. I found it very unpleasant for women to take of their tops on the beach. Most of them were fat or old anyway I dont see the need for this. The food was pretty good but could have more of a mexican flair. like spicy salsas and more traditional mexican food with the spice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Aug 31, 2008

Outstanding Service, truly!!!

Staff is amazingly friendly, service is incredible. A complaint: you have to book your dining option between 8 and 10 AM and there are not many options. Great location, excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car, it is very unexpensive and you can vistit many places on your leisure. Visit Tulu, Coba, cenotes, and even Chichen Itza. Make sure you revise your insurance options if you rent a car (insurance is far more expensive that the car rental itself).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico dreamin'
Texas
Jun 22, 2009

First class in Mexico

The Riu Palace Mexico was all I expected from other reviews and so much more. It was more sophisticated and had a European flare. The grounds were gorgeous and I especially enjoyed the old world feel. My husband and I opted for 4 nights 5 days without children. We are in the 35 to 45 range. Mostly we spent our days on the beach. We did take a taxi to Playa Del Carmen to shop. Then we walked down to the newest Riu, Riu Palace Rivera Maya. In comparison the Riu Palace Mexico was the best for us. Although the pool is smaller the beach is by far the best out of all the hotels on the strip. Since most of our experience has been to travel by cruise we enjoyed the all inclusive package with tips and alcohol included!! The service was better than on our cruises and there were plenty of activities to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Choose the speciality restaurants when you can. Monday-Thursday we were able to get any choice and the reservation number system did not bother us. Unfortunately the restuarants were not even half full at our settings??? People missed out. Krystals was by far the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Royal Oak, MI
Jun 8, 2009

Upgraded to RIU Riviera Maya

I came to Playa Del Carmen for a friends wedding. Total of 28 ppl on the trip. The trip was originally booked at RIU palace Mexico, but due to swine flu scare the location was closed b/c of low booking. We were upgraded to RIU palce riviera maya. The hotel is so beautiful. Staff is always smiling. Room is always clean, even turn down service! Always serving your needs. Great bars and restaurants to choose from. Many fun things to do...kayaking, scuba/snorkel, parasailing, adventurous trips to jungle for ATV and zip cord fun, TULUM, and many other fun things to do. Fun shopping in Playa Del Carmen. Laying on the beach, or by pool. Swim up bar. Or you can even go back to room for a nap. Wedding was beautiful and loving. Mexico does it right!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel family2012
Ohio
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent hotel

It was a pleasure to stay in Riu Palace Mexico. The room, the lobby, the swimming pool area are new and modern looking, the food is variable and delicious, the staff is more than friendly, they cleaned the room twice a day. Music was every night in the upper bar and outside in the court. I loved everything about my trip, we walked a lot and took a trip to Chichen Itza and IkKill cave lake. Unbelievable! I would definitely return to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 6, 2008

Our first Riu Experience

Our first visit to Riu Mexico in Riviera Maya was very enjoyable for the whole family. The staff from room sevice to entertainment was top notch. We would reccomend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa de Carmen was 30 min walking and was a full day of site seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosiebear
Oklahoma CITY
Dec 20, 2013

Exellent Vacation

We love this place and have returned to the same properety for the past 4 years. The warm greeting from the doorman welcoming us home again just sets the tone for the entire stay. The dining room staff remembers guests from past visits and all possible to make one welcome and comfortable. Our room was always cleanede promptly and was spotlessas usual. The front desk staff really tries to accomodate all your needa promptly. Lastly, the smiling faces and cheeful "HOLA" keeps a smile on our faces as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in the town of Playa del Carmen and don't forget to negotiate, negotiate.negotiate!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Doss
CT USA
Apr 30, 2014

Beautiful Place Beautiful Beaches

We loved staying here. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The rooms are so clean and unique. The staff was so friendly and always wanted to please you. The food was amazing and delicious. So many choses. Many restaurants to choose from. The pools were clean and not over crowed. The beach was beautiful! We loved sitting under the palm trees in the sand. The music bands at night were nice but the evening shows could be higher quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Steak House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dona Carolina
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Nov 4, 2013

I love riu palace Mexico !!!

I love the wonderful employees, beach , food and accommodations . Everyone is so kind. Especially Santiago who serves cafecitos con carino in the morning and lunch with a smile I will definitely return despite the redecorating. I loved the former Spanish colonial design. Everything is so wonderful I can overlook the pink and purple new decor. It's not for me but riu palace Mexico is excellent !!!! I have traveled to many beaches and playacar is one of the best I have ever seen. I have never stayed at a hotel with nicer employees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mayan adventures for atv, zip lining and snorkeling adventures. Ask for Horacio and angel aka chela Also try Xcaret for snorkeling. Lots of fish. Great fun and food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Jun 23, 2008

Great all-inclusive hotel

The Riu Palace Mexico was the perfect place for my vacation, which also happened to be for a wedding. The rooms are spacious, the staff was friendly and for the most part, the food was tasty. The room had a sitting area which was nice for after a long day in the sun to relax. It was nice not to have to sit on the bad. The bathroom is big enough for two and has a separate toilet area. I will definitely be going back to the Riu. I already have the next trip booked in November for another wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The massages on the beach was fantastic. At first I was a little hesitant about it being outside with other people around but the waves of the ocean were so relaxing. I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top