RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
126 reviews
Excellent Vacation - Superb Service - Great Drinks - Very Good Food

I recommend the Rio Palace Mexico. It was a great resort. The staff could not have been more... See full review

  • Meeting Planner
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful stay!

We just came back from a wonderful stay at the RIU Palace Mexico, and it was a great trip! This was... See full review

  • athacker
  • Mar 1, 2015
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kitkat67
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Feb 21, 2014

Honeymoon

This trip couldn't have been any better. The resort was fantastic! The food was excellent, rooms and hotel super clean. Staff was friendly and courteous. Very safe location. You can walk off the resort and head into Playa Del Carmen where you can shop for local items and enjoy the nightlife. Plenty of beach chairs at the pool and beach. There's nightly entertainment with live music and they also have entertainment for the kids. This resort offers something for everyone. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking into Playa is around 55 minutes. If you walk by the beach into Playa, it's only 35 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimauz
Business
Beverly, MA
Mar 31, 2014

Riviera Maya at its best

Overall experience great! This was a R&R, so the beach, sun and the ocean were excellent. The walking close distance to Playa del Carmen 5th avenue is a good option for those who like to do something different. The hotel staff is a plus always ready to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

All what is needed is in it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy with RIU
Business
Wyoming, MN
Apr 3, 2014

Great place and Fabulous people

We truly enjoyed our stay at the RIU Palace Mexico. I can't say enough about how great the staff are. They are so friendly, helpful and hardworking. The food was more than we could imagined, my husband loved the grilled lobster down on the beach. The bands that came in for the evening entertainment were great and much better than we thought we would hear. My only complaint is that the bed was firmer than at home so it took some getting used too, although the room was clean even with sand coming in with us from the beach. We chose the RIU because we had stayed at one of the other RIU's in the area and then at a competitor the two prior times we had been to the area and preferred the RIU, we were happy with the choice and you can utilize services at the other RIU's in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If going into Playa Del Carmen for shopping, find a way to hide your wrist bands so that the vendors don't identify you as easily. Also walking with purpose helps to keep them at bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Luvr
Business
St. George, UT
Apr 28, 2014

Amazing

The staff, food, service, entertainment, beach and activities were all amazing! The only thing I did not like much was the purple trim on everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and see the ruins on your on schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allandp
Business
N.J.
Apr 30, 2014

great for all ages

very good amenities. great location. small resort size. two min. walk to a beautiful beach. lots of shade for people who prefer it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

food is good but can use some improvement in quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Doss
Business
CT USA
Apr 30, 2014

Beautiful Place Beautiful Beaches

We loved staying here. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The rooms are so clean and unique. The staff was so friendly and always wanted to please you. The food was amazing and delicious. So many choses. Many restaurants to choose from. The pools were clean and not over crowed. The beach was beautiful! We loved sitting under the palm trees in the sand. The music bands at night were nice but the evening shows could be higher quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Steak House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 9, 2008

Great Staff at this Hotel

We enjoyed our stay very much but did not appreciate all of the smoking that went on at the hotel. There should be at least one smoke-free hotel. The staff was stupendous and made the stay a success.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a public phone that you can use with your prepaid phone card.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim & Pam
Business
Columbus,Ohio
Feb 2, 2010

This was my best all inclusive trip

Fantastic grounds ( gardens ) Great selection of restruants Exceptional staff Helpful ,freindly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

catch a cab only 50 peso's or Five dollars U.S.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brigpana
Business
Sussex, NJ
May 15, 2011

Amazing Vacation!!!!

We just returned from RPM Friday - had a wonderful vacation. Met so many nice people, would return in a heartbeat! RPM is a 10 min walk by street from RPRM, a little longer by beach. All the other RIU properties are across the street or right next door. If I returned, would consider staying at the Yucatan next door. Very nice property, more of a tropical feel with the monkeys and other wildlife running around, better coffee and more of a social crowd. Important note for the older or handicap vacationers - the pool at RPM does not have walk in stairs. Only one of those silver ladders on the deeper end. You can get in by stepping down to the poolside bench, taking a seat and then ease into the water that way, but might not be an easy move for the older or handicap crowd. The RPM was on the quiet side and the RPRM seemed to have the same vibe. Just depends on what you prefer. We had breakfast at the RPRM and the service was much better there as well as the coffee! Don't get me wrong, the service at RPM was very good, the staff at RPRM just seemed a little more on their game. We checked out the disco at Tequila a couple of nights - was very fun. I'm not a huge fan of club music, but we had fun. We found the food very good at RPM - could always find something at the buffet and on the last day discovered sweet & sour grouper at the beach buffet at the Yucata - OMG!!! It was to die for - never saw it at either buffet at RPM. We found the steak at the Steakhouse very tender and yummy and we also liked the Japanese specialty restaurant very much. All in all, would absolutely return - my recommendation would be to stay at the Yucatan - cheaper by about $300 per couple and we liked the atmosphere a little more. Again, it's a personal preference. Btw - the beaches are AMAZING!!!!! Absolutely AMAZING!!!! Don't hesitate to book - you won't be disappointed if you stay at a RIU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHARA
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Aug 17, 2011

great experience!

great experience, staff was friendly and always ready for needs. Excellent food with good variety, I enjoy staying at riu palace mexico, I will definitely back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top