RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel family2012
Ohio
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent hotel

It was a pleasure to stay in Riu Palace Mexico. The room, the lobby, the swimming pool area are new and modern looking, the food is variable and delicious, the staff is more than friendly, they cleaned the room twice a day. Music was every night in the upper bar and outside in the court. I loved everything about my trip, we walked a lot and took a trip to Chichen Itza and IkKill cave lake. Unbelievable! I would definitely return to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pawleys Island, SC
Jan 14, 2011

Great Escape!

The service was wonderful....food was wonderful too! We did an excursion and had a great experience at Sian Kan. The jeep tour was terrific! The only complaint we have is that we requested a wake up call one day and did not get one. We lost power in our room two days in a row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2009

RIU Palace Mexico

Comfortable quiet hotel with well trained personnel. Excellent food. I had more expectations for entertainment:sometime it was simply boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Nov 21, 2009

Great Hotel

This is a great all inclusive...the food was wonderful...and the beach is beautiful. Every day there were kayaks, catamarans, scuba diving boats, parasailing, and jetskis...not to mention tens of people in the gulf enjoying the warm waters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jul 5, 2008

Friendly staff and good food

The Rui Palace Mexico was a very good experience,they are cleaning all the time and the details are very surprising. We stayed for one week and we have some complains. The matress and the sheets were very hard,they try to solved the problem changing the sheets, but, they did not have better ones. The bufet was amazing and the others restaurants were not very good, the food in the brazilian restaurant was a really bad one. I did not eat anything but my husband did it, he have got sick for a day! The beach used to be very beautiful and now it looks not so nice because of the sand bags. We understand it,but they need to do something soon! They have two places for massage on the beach, but the rates are very high and they were empty almost all the time. Those spaces would be more useful to have a bar or more beach available. The restaurant on the beach is very nice,but, unfortunally the smell of drains was very strong. The constant gasoline smell and the noise on the beach caused by the water-motocycles are not very good. We felt we were on a bussy New York street! The hotel needs some improvements to continue being a 4 stars hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shopping area just a few blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Feb 27, 2011

Destination Wedding

My wife and I flew out for a destination wedding in mid December; staff, hotel and food made the our 7 day stay magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your shuttle through Hertz Rental when you fly into Cancun... it is 40 per person each way normally but if you pay up front you pay 80 total... A cab is about 100 bucks each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeker of warm and sunny locations
Business
Central Illinois
Feb 27, 2011

Best resort we have stayed at!

Food: **Best food we have had compared to 3 other Mexico resorts stayed at previously **Japanese and Brazilian were excellent specialty restaurants and the steak house was "ok." **Breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were all great. **There was food and snacks available all times of the day via restaurants and room service. **Lots of outdoor dining seating with ceiling fans. Staff: **Staff were friendly and everyone was treated equally. There was no need to tip because guests were not treated any better after the fact. **Requests were typically honored in a very timely manner. Hotel ammenities: **Very clean hotel and quite beautiful. **Large resort but not too big to go from one location to the other. **Daily planned activities including water aerobics, water and beach volleyball, target shooting, horseshoes, etc. **Very quiet - not a lot of kids or teenagers at this resort while we were there. **Appears to be geared towards middle aged adults which we liked. **All-inclusive included premimum alcohol in the room and the mini bar. **There are 6 RIU resorts in close proximity and guests at the RIU palaces are able to utilize all resorts with the exception of the restaurants requiring reservations. **Beach area is awesome with lots of lounge chairs and palm trees for shade. **Swim-up bar and pool area is wonderful. It is a nice size and lots of sitting area in the main pool. It would have been better if there was a water feature flowing from the bar roof to the water in the pool. **Beds were comfortable and huge. We had two full-size beds pushed together to form one bed! **The lobby had somewhat of a musty smell, but the rooms did not nor did the restaurants. **The outdoor tile walking paths became slippery with a small amount of moisture. Overall, this was a great resort and felt very upscale compared to the other resorts we have stayed at (Sandos Playacar, Crown Paradise Cancun, Gran Melia Cancun). This is the first place we stayed at that we thought we could consider returning too because it was so good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel starts taking reservations at the specialty reservations daily at 8:30 a.m., but ticket numbers are issued at 8:00 a.m. You want to be sure and get a number early and go back at 8:30 a.m. if you want a specific restaurant at a specific time for the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alabama Rolltide
Business
Boston Mass
May 18, 2014

Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the entertainment staff. Is the music that they play at the pool is depressing they need party type music to be played I would love to burn the CD and mail it to him. And I might just do that great staff their were funny and friendly and made me laugh but the music at the pool has got to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When reserving a restaurant get in line by 12 o'clock because the reservations fill up fast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jun 23, 2008

Great all-inclusive hotel

The Riu Palace Mexico was the perfect place for my vacation, which also happened to be for a wedding. The rooms are spacious, the staff was friendly and for the most part, the food was tasty. The room had a sitting area which was nice for after a long day in the sun to relax. It was nice not to have to sit on the bad. The bathroom is big enough for two and has a separate toilet area. I will definitely be going back to the Riu. I already have the next trip booked in November for another wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The massages on the beach was fantastic. At first I was a little hesitant about it being outside with other people around but the waves of the ocean were so relaxing. I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2008

My review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Only two comments. I found it very unpleasant for women to take of their tops on the beach. Most of them were fat or old anyway I dont see the need for this. The food was pretty good but could have more of a mexican flair. like spicy salsas and more traditional mexican food with the spice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bismarck, ND
Oct 6, 2008

Great Place

I had no problems with this place at all. The food can get a little redundant after eating buffet style. I would be sure to get up early and make nightly reservations at the restaurants if I was to go back. The beach and pool are great. The staff is very friendly and will make sure you have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a $5 cab downtown to mix things up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top