$272 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
119 reviews
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
Excellent getaway.

Very, very clean hotel and beach. Excellent buffet every day. Great personnels and services. See full review

  • SlyLou
  • Sep 8, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leningradka
Minnesota
Jun 2, 2012

Perfect vacation!

We stayed at RIU Palace for 6 days and it was fantastic! The beach is simply the best! Food, service, intertaiment - everything as 5 star hotel. Will come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Feb 27, 2011

Destination Wedding

My wife and I flew out for a destination wedding in mid December; staff, hotel and food made the our 7 day stay magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your shuttle through Hertz Rental when you fly into Cancun... it is 40 per person each way normally but if you pay up front you pay 80 total... A cab is about 100 bucks each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeker of warm and sunny locations
Business
Central Illinois
Feb 27, 2011

Best resort we have stayed at!

Food: **Best food we have had compared to 3 other Mexico resorts stayed at previously **Japanese and Brazilian were excellent specialty restaurants and the steak house was "ok." **Breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were all great. **There was food and snacks available all times of the day via restaurants and room service. **Lots of outdoor dining seating with ceiling fans. Staff: **Staff were friendly and everyone was treated equally. There was no need to tip because guests were not treated any better after the fact. **Requests were typically honored in a very timely manner. Hotel ammenities: **Very clean hotel and quite beautiful. **Large resort but not too big to go from one location to the other. **Daily planned activities including water aerobics, water and beach volleyball, target shooting, horseshoes, etc. **Very quiet - not a lot of kids or teenagers at this resort while we were there. **Appears to be geared towards middle aged adults which we liked. **All-inclusive included premimum alcohol in the room and the mini bar. **There are 6 RIU resorts in close proximity and guests at the RIU palaces are able to utilize all resorts with the exception of the restaurants requiring reservations. **Beach area is awesome with lots of lounge chairs and palm trees for shade. **Swim-up bar and pool area is wonderful. It is a nice size and lots of sitting area in the main pool. It would have been better if there was a water feature flowing from the bar roof to the water in the pool. **Beds were comfortable and huge. We had two full-size beds pushed together to form one bed! **The lobby had somewhat of a musty smell, but the rooms did not nor did the restaurants. **The outdoor tile walking paths became slippery with a small amount of moisture. Overall, this was a great resort and felt very upscale compared to the other resorts we have stayed at (Sandos Playacar, Crown Paradise Cancun, Gran Melia Cancun). This is the first place we stayed at that we thought we could consider returning too because it was so good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel starts taking reservations at the specialty reservations daily at 8:30 a.m., but ticket numbers are issued at 8:00 a.m. You want to be sure and get a number early and go back at 8:30 a.m. if you want a specific restaurant at a specific time for the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alabama Rolltide
Business
Boston Mass
May 18, 2014

Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the entertainment staff. Is the music that they play at the pool is depressing they need party type music to be played I would love to burn the CD and mail it to him. And I might just do that great staff their were funny and friendly and made me laugh but the music at the pool has got to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When reserving a restaurant get in line by 12 o'clock because the reservations fill up fast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jun 23, 2008

Great all-inclusive hotel

The Riu Palace Mexico was the perfect place for my vacation, which also happened to be for a wedding. The rooms are spacious, the staff was friendly and for the most part, the food was tasty. The room had a sitting area which was nice for after a long day in the sun to relax. It was nice not to have to sit on the bad. The bathroom is big enough for two and has a separate toilet area. I will definitely be going back to the Riu. I already have the next trip booked in November for another wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The massages on the beach was fantastic. At first I was a little hesitant about it being outside with other people around but the waves of the ocean were so relaxing. I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2008

My review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Only two comments. I found it very unpleasant for women to take of their tops on the beach. Most of them were fat or old anyway I dont see the need for this. The food was pretty good but could have more of a mexican flair. like spicy salsas and more traditional mexican food with the spice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bismarck, ND
Oct 6, 2008

Great Place

I had no problems with this place at all. The food can get a little redundant after eating buffet style. I would be sure to get up early and make nightly reservations at the restaurants if I was to go back. The beach and pool are great. The staff is very friendly and will make sure you have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a $5 cab downtown to mix things up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent Spot for a relaxing honeymoon.

This was a great spot for a casual sailing couple. We took the hobie cats out every day. They always had a boat available We wanted to take an evening or a day cruise on a charter, but the hotel was so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't want to leave. We were also told to sample some of the local fare in Playa Del Carmen. We never bothered to, the food at the hotel was so good and there was always something new to try. It was a very good honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay cool, take a taxi into town. $7 is not a bad price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrap
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2007

Best beach in Playa

This hotel is beutiful inside and out. The room was very nice, deserved 5 stars. The beach was absolutely beautiful - lots of sun and shade for everyone, lots of loungers and several hammocks. The drinks are being served on the beach, but didn't have much alcohol. I constantly kept asking them to make the drinks strong, but could barely taste the alcohol, but the drinks tasted great and are made with fresh juices. The check-in was perfect and we got there at noon - the room was ready. Breakfast buffet was awesome, lunch - so so, dinner buffet was not impressive, but you can always find something to eat. We tried 3 speciality restaurants. The SteakHouse was OK but not impressive at all. The Brazilian restaurant was good, and the French restaurant (Sir Edward) was amazing. Never had problems getting reservations. If I go back I will eat at the French place as much as possible. Only two out of four restaraunts are open per day, so you can't eat at one restaurant every day. The nightly shows were great, but too short - about 45min. They also had live music in the courtyard all night. There are a lot of europeans at this hotel so expect to see a lot of topless women (young, old, and very old) on the beach. The young ones were worth putting up with grandmas. Very adult-oriented hotel, I only saw 3 kids the whole time I was therel. Overall a great vacation and I will definetely be back to the Riu Palace Mexico!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night club is at Riu Tequil aright across the little street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlanJS
Business
Victoria, BC
Feb 14, 2008

Excellent group of hotels

We enjoyed the ability to walk to a companion hotel for breakfast, cocktails, etc. The staff at the RIU Palace Mexico were truly excellent; always cheerful and helpful. The room was large and beautifully appointed. The Courtyard View rooms are well worth the small extra cost as watching the world go by within the hotel grounds was very enjoyable. The RIU Palace Mexico is fortunate in that there is a large area of beach planted with palm trees above the high tide mark. Much of the beach in the tidal zone has been severely eroded by the 2005 and 2007 hurricanes, such that hotels built close to the beach have ended up with very little beach room for their guests. The hotel location is a comfortable 20-minute walk from Playa Del Carmen, along a well landscaped road with full sidewalks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The small shopping plaza across the road includes a kiosk selling guided tours for less than the hotels charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown
Jun 10, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

The RIU Palace Mexico was very nice. The hotel itself is beautiful with pretty manicured lawns/gardens. The rooms are all suites - which is a plus, the beds are the usual Mexico hard beds, but the pillows are comfortable, the bathroom is very nice - the tub fixtures seemed a bit old, but no big deal. We thought the food was very good also. There was a large variety of foods, fruits, and vegetables that even the pickest eaters (like me) had no problem finding things to eat. The beach was very enjoyable despite the large sand bags in front of the beach (nothing they can do about that), and plenty of beach chairs. The resort was also close to the shopping district. It could be reached by cab in probably 5/10 minutes, but we took a nice walk (very safe) into town after dinner and it took us about 30 minutes - leisurely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tulum tour (on our own) was really neat. If you go, take your swim suit as you can go swimming there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top