$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bismarck, ND
Oct 6, 2008

Great Place

I had no problems with this place at all. The food can get a little redundant after eating buffet style. I would be sure to get up early and make nightly reservations at the restaurants if I was to go back. The beach and pool are great. The staff is very friendly and will make sure you have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a $5 cab downtown to mix things up.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent Spot for a relaxing honeymoon.

This was a great spot for a casual sailing couple. We took the hobie cats out every day. They always had a boat available We wanted to take an evening or a day cruise on a charter, but the hotel was so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't want to leave. We were also told to sample some of the local fare in Playa Del Carmen. We never bothered to, the food at the hotel was so good and there was always something new to try. It was a very good honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay cool, take a taxi into town. $7 is not a bad price.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrap
Couples
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2007

Best beach in Playa

This hotel is beutiful inside and out. The room was very nice, deserved 5 stars. The beach was absolutely beautiful - lots of sun and shade for everyone, lots of loungers and several hammocks. The drinks are being served on the beach, but didn't have much alcohol. I constantly kept asking them to make the drinks strong, but could barely taste the alcohol, but the drinks tasted great and are made with fresh juices. The check-in was perfect and we got there at noon - the room was ready. Breakfast buffet was awesome, lunch - so so, dinner buffet was not impressive, but you can always find something to eat. We tried 3 speciality restaurants. The SteakHouse was OK but not impressive at all. The Brazilian restaurant was good, and the French restaurant (Sir Edward) was amazing. Never had problems getting reservations. If I go back I will eat at the French place as much as possible. Only two out of four restaraunts are open per day, so you can't eat at one restaurant every day. The nightly shows were great, but too short - about 45min. They also had live music in the courtyard all night. There are a lot of europeans at this hotel so expect to see a lot of topless women (young, old, and very old) on the beach. The young ones were worth putting up with grandmas. Very adult-oriented hotel, I only saw 3 kids the whole time I was therel. Overall a great vacation and I will definetely be back to the Riu Palace Mexico!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night club is at Riu Tequil aright across the little street.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlanJS
Couples
Victoria, BC
Feb 14, 2008

Excellent group of hotels

We enjoyed the ability to walk to a companion hotel for breakfast, cocktails, etc. The staff at the RIU Palace Mexico were truly excellent; always cheerful and helpful. The room was large and beautifully appointed. The Courtyard View rooms are well worth the small extra cost as watching the world go by within the hotel grounds was very enjoyable. The RIU Palace Mexico is fortunate in that there is a large area of beach planted with palm trees above the high tide mark. Much of the beach in the tidal zone has been severely eroded by the 2005 and 2007 hurricanes, such that hotels built close to the beach have ended up with very little beach room for their guests. The hotel location is a comfortable 20-minute walk from Playa Del Carmen, along a well landscaped road with full sidewalks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The small shopping plaza across the road includes a kiosk selling guided tours for less than the hotels charge.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Middletown
Jun 10, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

The RIU Palace Mexico was very nice. The hotel itself is beautiful with pretty manicured lawns/gardens. The rooms are all suites - which is a plus, the beds are the usual Mexico hard beds, but the pillows are comfortable, the bathroom is very nice - the tub fixtures seemed a bit old, but no big deal. We thought the food was very good also. There was a large variety of foods, fruits, and vegetables that even the pickest eaters (like me) had no problem finding things to eat. The beach was very enjoyable despite the large sand bags in front of the beach (nothing they can do about that), and plenty of beach chairs. The resort was also close to the shopping district. It could be reached by cab in probably 5/10 minutes, but we took a nice walk (very safe) into town after dinner and it took us about 30 minutes - leisurely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tulum tour (on our own) was really neat. If you go, take your swim suit as you can go swimming there.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama 3 Cusick
Couples
Tennessee
May 19, 2014

Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind and always there to accommodate our every need! The food was excellent and drinks never ending! We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2007

Excellent Honeymoon

This resort was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent shooping nearby with a short taxi ride that cost $5 each way. Well worth the money!!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
May 23, 2008

Great place for any age group

This hotel was by far the best that we have stayed at, from the time we check in until the time we left,All the staff went out of there way to help you with any of the things that you asked for.The rooms were all ways clean and well stocked every day,the grounds looked like a park there was not a thing out of place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

shoping was two blocks away,Golf course is close by

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Miami
Aug 31, 2008

Outstanding Service, truly!!!

Staff is amazingly friendly, service is incredible. A complaint: you have to book your dining option between 8 and 10 AM and there are not many options. Great location, excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car, it is very unexpensive and you can vistit many places on your leisure. Visit Tulu, Coba, cenotes, and even Chichen Itza. Make sure you revise your insurance options if you rent a car (insurance is far more expensive that the car rental itself).

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 26, 2007

Beautiful Hotel

This resort is wonderful. beautiful in every stretch of the word. Wonderful rooms. beautiful beach and ocean and overall my G/F gave this resort a 9 out of 10. Only complaint is they need better choice in buffet dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top