$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel family2012
Couples
Ohio
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent hotel

It was a pleasure to stay in Riu Palace Mexico. The room, the lobby, the swimming pool area are new and modern looking, the food is variable and delicious, the staff is more than friendly, they cleaned the room twice a day. Music was every night in the upper bar and outside in the court. I loved everything about my trip, we walked a lot and took a trip to Chichen Itza and IkKill cave lake. Unbelievable! I would definitely return to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
nebraska
May 9, 2010

Great beach and very relaxing atmosphere

If your looking for an extremely quiet and relaxing place with great service and a friendly staff this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, VA
Apr 5, 2010

Always Wonderful

Have been to the RIU Palace multiple times. Why? The pool area is quiet - unless you are on the bar side - and even then it is social but not overdone. Secondly, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is such as you see in a major city and is air conditioned with deep mahogany furniture. There is a piano bar in the evenings that can not be beat anywhere. Older crowd but nice. Lastly, all meals are fantastic. Reservations for the a la cartes are annoying each day but what else do i have to do? All in all, great place and the ability to visit and enjoy the other 4 RIU hotels makes it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen by beach or street, Playacar, all other RIUs make for an interesting and varied vaca.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4ftFury!
Friends
Richmond, VA
Mar 29, 2010

Great for the money!

The hotel was great for the $, and I'm a picky traveller! Big rooms, beautiful resort, great food, always somebody looking to hand you a drink, super-friendly staff! Only complaints were: The bed was very hard and stiff; plus, we asked for 2 double-beds b/c we were traveling as a couple + 1 friend - the 2 double-beds were pushed together like they were one bed. And regarding dinner: the dress code is strictly enforced, so men must wear long pants at all restuarants except dinner buffet; my husband didn't have dress pants b/c the temp was 100+ for our entire stay, so he got by wearing his CK pajama pants - good trick! Plus, had to make dinner reservations in-person by going to the theater each day; didn't like that. But overall, great vacation, great price! P.S. Note that tops were optional for ladies around the pool and on the beach, so be cognizant if you're thinking of taking kids; this wasn't a resort geared towards kids, anyway, so don't bring them - everyone here was adult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort set-up shopping vendors at the hotel a couple of times a week; the t-shirt vendors were a rip-off. BUT NOTE: The artisan vendors at the hotel were GREAT bargains! So DO buy from the artists at the hotel, but not the t-shirt vendors. For $5, take a 5-minute cab ride up to the main downtown Playa Del Carmen area where you can get cheesey tourist stuff like mass-produced "art" and t-shirts from big drug store-looking shops for great prices.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2009

RIU Palace Mexico

Comfortable quiet hotel with well trained personnel. Excellent food. I had more expectations for entertainment:sometime it was simply boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mucho Tequila for me
Friends
Michigan
Nov 22, 2009

As always a great time

Thoroughly enjoyed the palace. Went to the Tequila for entertainment though. More fun and upbeat. The food, rooms phenomenal, and location is beautiful! Not the happiest as far as having to leave so early to get back to the airport. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Tequila for night life.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston MA
Nov 21, 2009

Great Hotel

This is a great all inclusive...the food was wonderful...and the beach is beautiful. Every day there were kayaks, catamarans, scuba diving boats, parasailing, and jetskis...not to mention tens of people in the gulf enjoying the warm waters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Illinois
Oct 26, 2009

October RIU Palace-Mexico

We sat at pool, took ferry to Cozumel & shopped in Playa Del Carmen. Food at buffet was way better than in the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservations actually start at 7:30 when they give out numbers. Then you have to go back at 8:30 to pick your restaurant.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
richmond, va
Oct 20, 2009

Heaven on Earth

this hotel and the area are wonderful. we stayed in October and it was HOT. but the lobby was air conditioned and as beautiful -- more -- than anything you see in New York. the restaurants - 4 of 5 were air conditioned and 2 were gourmet -- not NY gourmet but great for an island and an all-inclusive. the staff --- there are no words to describe the excellence, friendliness, courtesy and professionalism of service. ocean --- fabulous - no more to say and beach equal. many places to walk -- outside the hotel and on the beach. shopping - if you want it. the hotel and beach were just too good to leave. 4 additional hotels of the same chain to visit anytime you wanted and enjoy meals there or at this RIU -- all except for dinner -- but who would need or want to go elsewhere? try the Krystal restaurant - as gourmet as it gets -- for an all-inclusive. have the tuna appetizer - melt in your mouth. it couldn't have been any better and we can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron S.
Couples
Amherst, Ohio
Sep 24, 2009

Best for your Money !!

Second time staying there, still Very NICE !! Best FOOD, location AWSOME...... downside....starting to get Quite a few small Kids ........Very noisy at times , when I wanted to Relax !!!! (POOL)...The staff .... the Best !! Go back in a HEARTBEAT !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, VA
Sep 13, 2009

Riu Palace - Warm with Wonderful Staff

The RIU Palace Mexico is an older established hotel. It has a lobby that is similar to a 1st class hotel in New York and just knocks you off your feet when you walk in. It has a beautiful chapel, dark hard wood everywhere, a classic brass and dark wook bar, piano lounge and gorgeous chandeliars. It is air conditioned and a respite from the heat anytime of the day. The staff are warm and generous. They are there to serve you in every way just as long as you are courteous to them. They are people and if you are rude, they may not want to give you the service you feel you should get. We have been to the RIU more than 7 times and never have we ever encountered an unpleasant experience. In fact we genuinely look forward to seeing the staff and they appear to genuinely look forward to seeing us. The food is the most excellent we have ever had at an all-inclusive resort. Dinner reservations are a bit of a pain but you can always dine at the buffet if you don't want to bother. For us, I show up a few minutes before 8 in the morning, take a number, saunter down to the pool or beach and return at 8:30 to quickly make whatever reservation I desire. Being that I am there early I get a first or second number and so there is little to no wait or interference in my morning. The Krystal is truly first class. Try the tuna appetizer. The Miyagi is also well done and the sushi is very good - for an all inclusive resort. The breakfasts are wonderful. Excellent choice and very well prepared. Lunch is varied and could be steak, chicken or hamburger. Your choice depending upon the restaurant you choose to use. Pool is a pool lunch but large selection and convenient. Buffet is just about anything you want - and good. Drinks are whatever you ask for and they are plentiful. We have a special cocktail we ask for every evening and it is made to perfection. More importantly, the staff truly seems to enjoy making it for us. Rooms are just right - large enough and clean enough for all of the guests that come in and out. Again, the staff accomodates us with the best room they have and if possible allows for early and late check-in. The pool(s) are not the more modern large and infinity. But the quiet side is quiet and the bar side is the typical bar / fun time atmosphere. They are both beautfully decorated with tile floral freezes on the bottom. The quiet side is perfect for a calm finish to the day after the ocean playing or for a swim without having to bump into rowdy crowds and tons of children playing with balls. The ocean is an ocean so it can be wavy or like a lake. It is clear abd clean with no seaweed and could not be any nicer if it was the Bahamas or Cayman - blue as the sky. Sand as white as pearls. The place to be. Can not say anymore except that we travel very often - everywhere - and this hotel and location are definitely in the top 3 of our choices. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is a $5 (american) taxi ride away. Playacar is across the street.

Back to menu Return to top