$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
Perfection!

You MUST stay at the RIU Palace Mexico! Perfection in all aspects. The Staff was incredibly... See full review

  • MariaSimon
  • Aug 15, 2014
Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind... See full review

  • Mama 3 Cusick
  • May 19, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
richmond, va
Oct 20, 2009

Heaven on Earth

this hotel and the area are wonderful. we stayed in October and it was HOT. but the lobby was air conditioned and as beautiful -- more -- than anything you see in New York. the restaurants - 4 of 5 were air conditioned and 2 were gourmet -- not NY gourmet but great for an island and an all-inclusive. the staff --- there are no words to describe the excellence, friendliness, courtesy and professionalism of service. ocean --- fabulous - no more to say and beach equal. many places to walk -- outside the hotel and on the beach. shopping - if you want it. the hotel and beach were just too good to leave. 4 additional hotels of the same chain to visit anytime you wanted and enjoy meals there or at this RIU -- all except for dinner -- but who would need or want to go elsewhere? try the Krystal restaurant - as gourmet as it gets -- for an all-inclusive. have the tuna appetizer - melt in your mouth. it couldn't have been any better and we can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron S.
Amherst, Ohio
Sep 24, 2009

Best for your Money !!

Second time staying there, still Very NICE !! Best FOOD, location AWSOME...... downside....starting to get Quite a few small Kids ........Very noisy at times , when I wanted to Relax !!!! (POOL)...The staff .... the Best !! Go back in a HEARTBEAT !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Sep 13, 2009

Riu Palace - Warm with Wonderful Staff

The RIU Palace Mexico is an older established hotel. It has a lobby that is similar to a 1st class hotel in New York and just knocks you off your feet when you walk in. It has a beautiful chapel, dark hard wood everywhere, a classic brass and dark wook bar, piano lounge and gorgeous chandeliars. It is air conditioned and a respite from the heat anytime of the day. The staff are warm and generous. They are there to serve you in every way just as long as you are courteous to them. They are people and if you are rude, they may not want to give you the service you feel you should get. We have been to the RIU more than 7 times and never have we ever encountered an unpleasant experience. In fact we genuinely look forward to seeing the staff and they appear to genuinely look forward to seeing us. The food is the most excellent we have ever had at an all-inclusive resort. Dinner reservations are a bit of a pain but you can always dine at the buffet if you don't want to bother. For us, I show up a few minutes before 8 in the morning, take a number, saunter down to the pool or beach and return at 8:30 to quickly make whatever reservation I desire. Being that I am there early I get a first or second number and so there is little to no wait or interference in my morning. The Krystal is truly first class. Try the tuna appetizer. The Miyagi is also well done and the sushi is very good - for an all inclusive resort. The breakfasts are wonderful. Excellent choice and very well prepared. Lunch is varied and could be steak, chicken or hamburger. Your choice depending upon the restaurant you choose to use. Pool is a pool lunch but large selection and convenient. Buffet is just about anything you want - and good. Drinks are whatever you ask for and they are plentiful. We have a special cocktail we ask for every evening and it is made to perfection. More importantly, the staff truly seems to enjoy making it for us. Rooms are just right - large enough and clean enough for all of the guests that come in and out. Again, the staff accomodates us with the best room they have and if possible allows for early and late check-in. The pool(s) are not the more modern large and infinity. But the quiet side is quiet and the bar side is the typical bar / fun time atmosphere. They are both beautfully decorated with tile floral freezes on the bottom. The quiet side is perfect for a calm finish to the day after the ocean playing or for a swim without having to bump into rowdy crowds and tons of children playing with balls. The ocean is an ocean so it can be wavy or like a lake. It is clear abd clean with no seaweed and could not be any nicer if it was the Bahamas or Cayman - blue as the sky. Sand as white as pearls. The place to be. Can not say anymore except that we travel very often - everywhere - and this hotel and location are definitely in the top 3 of our choices. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is a $5 (american) taxi ride away. Playacar is across the street.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston , Texas
Sep 8, 2009

Dream Vacation

This was our second trip to Playa in four months. Last time we stayed at RIU Palace Riviera - a great experience. They say the sequal isn't equal - but here it surpassed the original. This RIU was even warmer and friendlier than the Riviera. Bu noon we knew the front desk staff by name - and it was mutual. Sure - the time of year resulted in about a 50% full hotel - but the staff and service were excellent. I called one night for a wake up call at 6:30 - and at 6:30 AM - a desk clerk knocked on our door to say good morning!I asked if there was any decaf coffee provided in the room. The PR Director said she'd check and let us know. A bit later - there was a hand written note apologizing and explaining how I can get it from room service. I travel a lot - never seen this level of service. The property and location - beyond belief. Its like spending a week inside of a brochure! The Palace Mexico is known for its beach front - the Palace Riviera seems to have a better (more contemp) pool area - for those who don't prefer the beach. next time we plan to stay at Palace Mexico and visit the Palace Riviera pool. For the $$$ - can't beat the service, property or food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 10, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I have been to other resorts, and will return to a Riu in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DGK
Excelsior MN
Jul 28, 2009

Nice vacation

The staff was great. I never felt they were expectiong tips. They worked very hard and were always friendly. The grounds and pools were very clean. The rooms could be updated. The food was good. There was always a nice variety of all different foods. The specialty restaurants offered good food with exceptional service. Very quiet low key family resort. If you like nightlife and an active pool this it not it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Palace Mexico does not offer nightlife other than a family oriented shows that end by 11:00pm. This hotel does not have a dance club(disco); however, there are clubs at the adjacent RIU hotels.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
toothhound
york, pa
Jul 5, 2009

Not what we expected

Overall, we had a nice vacation & the resort was nice. Having stayed at other resorts you automatically start to compare the differences. We arrived around 11:30 am-tired & starving( i am 4mo pregnant). We were told that there we could only get a continental breakfast & we had to quickly "run" down to the place before they closed in 20 minutes. Breakfast stopped being served @ 10:30 & lunch wasnt served until 12:30. And since we didnt have a room avail yet we couldnt order room service. Then, we were told that ALL of the rest. required long pants except for 1. & you HAD to make a resv for dinner & could only make it in the AM between the hrs of 8-10:30 & you couldnt call, you had to actually go down to the theater to make them. Also, you only have 2 dinner time options. I have never been to a resort where i was only allowed to choose 2 times to eat. & i am on vacation, the last thing i want to worry about is waking up @ 8 so i can get the resv for the rest we want at & get the time we want since there are only 2 dinner times. So the first nite of course we were unable to get a dinnner resv becuase it was after 10:30.We have been to other resorts who have a dress code but it is usually 1 maybe 2 rest that require long pants but this resort req long pants at all except for 1 rest. You can eat at the buffet any time but who wants the buffet every nite? The buffet req long pants also. We had 2 rooms, our kids had there own 2 doors down, the first nite, they tried to get a shower, the shower didnt work. The resort was very prompt in repairing it but still an inconvenience. Also the phone in their room didnt work, again, they were prompt in fixing but the phone broke again by the last day. The shower had no light in it- had the fixtures but no lights.Our rooms were directly beside the neighboring resorts disco & the music was soo loud we were unable to sleep. This really wasnt much of a nusiance until our last nite when we had to get up @ 5am to leave because all the other nites we were out enjoying the nitely enetrtainment. We did love the beach, the pool, the nitely entertainment & the closeness to shopping & downtown. My stepson utilized the gym everyday & said it was ok, he also got a massage & said it was great. Most of the staff was friendly & somewhat accomodating but, again, having stayed at some other resorts it was not exceptional. On the first day we were quite upset & tried to talk to a manager around 5pm but we told there isnt one on duty until 6:30- we were ready to stay at another resort. But the sales team wasnt avail on sat to say wether or not i could get a refund so we stayed. We did have a nice time overall but i dont know if i would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking a taxi to 5th ave in playa del carmen was only $5 us one way. Very quick & worth it to get downtown.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston texas
Jun 25, 2009

moved hotels

I moved to rui palace riveria maya. My mistake in picking rui mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico dreamin'
Texas
Jun 22, 2009

First class in Mexico

The Riu Palace Mexico was all I expected from other reviews and so much more. It was more sophisticated and had a European flare. The grounds were gorgeous and I especially enjoyed the old world feel. My husband and I opted for 4 nights 5 days without children. We are in the 35 to 45 range. Mostly we spent our days on the beach. We did take a taxi to Playa Del Carmen to shop. Then we walked down to the newest Riu, Riu Palace Rivera Maya. In comparison the Riu Palace Mexico was the best for us. Although the pool is smaller the beach is by far the best out of all the hotels on the strip. Since most of our experience has been to travel by cruise we enjoyed the all inclusive package with tips and alcohol included!! The service was better than on our cruises and there were plenty of activities to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Choose the speciality restaurants when you can. Monday-Thursday we were able to get any choice and the reservation number system did not bother us. Unfortunately the restuarants were not even half full at our settings??? People missed out. Krystals was by far the best.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 19, 2009

hotel review

My vacation stay was very good, except for the bad smell that lingered throughout the entire facility. I believe it was mildew that must have formed from the extreme humidity of the region. No mildew or dirt or mold was visible, but the odor was EXTREME. So because of the smell I cannot recommend this location to my friends, eventhough the staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search