RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rapid City, SD
Aug 13, 2010

Relaxation at its Best

We went to the RIU Palace for a relaxing, all-inclusive getaway and were not disappointed! The resort is beautiful, in a great location, has an awesome beach and has wonderful activities to do. We rented jet skiis and went scuba diving. The rooms are nice suites. The service is excellent. The waiters and staff really work hard to give good services to their guests. These are things that I wanted to note that could be improved: I didn't like the enclosed bathroom area with the badet (too small), I didn't like that we had to get up early everyday on our vacation (8:30am) so we could get dinner reservations, the initial greeting by staff when we got to the hotel could have been friendlier and I saw some waiters checking their cells phones while working in the restaurants, there were a few roaches we saw in the hotel but I know that's to be expected in a tropical climate, there wasn't a bathroom on the beach so you had to walk up to the restaurant or pool, the ocean isn't as clear as in Cancun, the fitness room didn't have AC and it was like a sauna when you were working out and there was no nightclub at the Palace, you had to go to the RIU Tequila. This resort is an hour south of Cancun and it seemed to be frequented by older people. I have been to other RIU resorts and this one is great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norman, Oklahoma
Aug 2, 2010

Rui Placace Mexico

The Riu Place Mexico was great! The rooms were big and clean. They kept the mini-bar stocked really well. The rooms were also very cold, which was really nice. The only complaint is that the beach is a long walk from the rooms. I liked how everything was included, even the sail boats and the snorkeling stuff. The food was also really good for an all-inclusive resort. The places you could eat dinner at were also very good. Just remember that the men have to wear pants or jeans for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacifica, CA
Jun 13, 2010

I will be back, again!

We stayed in this hotel several times. The beach front area had been completely restored compared to our last visit two years ago and looked simply amazing.We spent most of our time at the beach. The air conditioning was not working properly first two days of our stay, otherwise the rooms were clean and very nicely arranged. Food quality was outstanding, but lacked usual variety, especially at the beach front restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed the quality of food and service at steakhouse and fusion restaurant in the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jun 12, 2010

awesome place

All I did was eat great food, sleep, drink, and swim. amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New RIU hotel fan
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 30, 2010

EXCELLENT TRIP!!

Riu Palace Mexico was an absolutely beautiful hotel. The staff was amazing; anything you needed, they provided with a smile. Everyone was so helpful and kind. The pool with the swim-up bar was excellent. The beach was beautiful with soft white sand. The hotel offered entertainment nightly and it is only a 5 minute cab ride from 5th street in Playa Del Carmen. Don't be afraid to leave the resort, we went to town twice and saw dozens of other tourists around us everywhere. We also took tours of the Mayan ruins Chichen Itza and Tulum-book those once you get to your hotel, not online (its about 1/2 the price). Get out and enjoy Mexico when you're not living the catered life at the Palace Mexico. The food at the resort was yummy. We had so many options for all meal times. No complaints at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Anyone remotely interested in sight seeing MUST go to Chichen Itza (Mayan Ruins). It is one of the new wonders of the world. It's about a 2 hour drive from the hotel, but you go on an air conditioned tour bus with other tourists. Book it with an [...] rep ONCE YOU GET TO THE HOTEL when you set up your transportation back to the airport, booking online is more expensive. Definitely worth the $50 a person. You'll never see anything like it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gtrbt
Business
dfw
May 17, 2010

fantastic

very quiet with great beach and fabulous restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nebraska
May 9, 2010

Great beach and very relaxing atmosphere

If your looking for an extremely quiet and relaxing place with great service and a friendly staff this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 5, 2010

Always Wonderful

Have been to the RIU Palace multiple times. Why? The pool area is quiet - unless you are on the bar side - and even then it is social but not overdone. Secondly, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is such as you see in a major city and is air conditioned with deep mahogany furniture. There is a piano bar in the evenings that can not be beat anywhere. Older crowd but nice. Lastly, all meals are fantastic. Reservations for the a la cartes are annoying each day but what else do i have to do? All in all, great place and the ability to visit and enjoy the other 4 RIU hotels makes it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen by beach or street, Playacar, all other RIUs make for an interesting and varied vaca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4ftFury!
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 29, 2010

Great for the money!

The hotel was great for the $, and I'm a picky traveller! Big rooms, beautiful resort, great food, always somebody looking to hand you a drink, super-friendly staff! Only complaints were: The bed was very hard and stiff; plus, we asked for 2 double-beds b/c we were traveling as a couple + 1 friend - the 2 double-beds were pushed together like they were one bed. And regarding dinner: the dress code is strictly enforced, so men must wear long pants at all restuarants except dinner buffet; my husband didn't have dress pants b/c the temp was 100+ for our entire stay, so he got by wearing his CK pajama pants - good trick! Plus, had to make dinner reservations in-person by going to the theater each day; didn't like that. But overall, great vacation, great price! P.S. Note that tops were optional for ladies around the pool and on the beach, so be cognizant if you're thinking of taking kids; this wasn't a resort geared towards kids, anyway, so don't bring them - everyone here was adult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort set-up shopping vendors at the hotel a couple of times a week; the t-shirt vendors were a rip-off. BUT NOTE: The artisan vendors at the hotel were GREAT bargains! So DO buy from the artists at the hotel, but not the t-shirt vendors. For $5, take a 5-minute cab ride up to the main downtown Playa Del Carmen area where you can get cheesey tourist stuff like mass-produced "art" and t-shirts from big drug store-looking shops for great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim & Pam
Business
Columbus,Ohio
Feb 2, 2010

This was my best all inclusive trip

Fantastic grounds ( gardens ) Great selection of restruants Exceptional staff Helpful ,freindly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

catch a cab only 50 peso's or Five dollars U.S.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top