$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA USA
Dec 5, 2010

Welcome Home Message

My husband and I have been to RIU Palaces in Dominican Republic, Jamaica and Mexico many times. This RIU Palace Mexico is by far our favorite. Why? They treat you like family. They just don't say it, they do it. This time around we brought our son, his girlfried and our married daughter and her new baby. We were a bit concerned that with the baby we could not have our usual lovely time. But the staff, management and all in general went out of their ways to make our stay wonderful. It worked and all was just fantastic. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach - unbelievably white sand, blue water and no rocks! Very short walk - no hotels, and the most clear water -- Bahamas-like! Playacar across the street; Playa Del Carmen 5 minute cab / 15 minute walk. 5 HOTELS For you to visit - 24 hr sports bar at 2! Very quiet pool; swim-up bar pool - short walk to brand new (but not as warm in service) but GREAT infinity pool at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. Golf course within 5 minutes.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilya555
Business
New Jersey
Nov 20, 2010

Best of all the RIUs in the area

This hotel truly is a "palace" and makes you feel like you've arrived in paradise. Our favorite parts were the beautiful ocean water, the beach bar, the swim-up pool bar, and the specialty restaurants. The only negatives were the lack of decent entertainment (always a bit of an issue with RIU properties) and the sometimes "wet dog" smell of our room after it was made up. For the most part, that wasn't a big issue since we spent most of the day at the pool and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to go out to eat EVER when staying here...plenty of food in the specialty restaurants and if you just want casual the buffet is great too.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
Nov 16, 2010

A great all inclusive

Our second trip to RPM...and it remains one of our favorite AI's. We love the location in Playacar....there are numerous resorts close by that you can venture into and compare. Playa de Carmen is only a $5 taxi. The shows at the resort, the entertainment staff, and the pool are OK or pretty good. The beach and food are excellent. The guests are terrific. On both trips we managed to meet the most interesting guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Sep 16, 2010

Great get away

Great beach with a good balance of shade & sun. We used the Hobie Cats, windsurfer and kayaks - all were in good shape and the beach staff is very helpfull and friendly. The only thing missing from our stay was more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rapid City, SD
Aug 13, 2010

Relaxation at its Best

We went to the RIU Palace for a relaxing, all-inclusive getaway and were not disappointed! The resort is beautiful, in a great location, has an awesome beach and has wonderful activities to do. We rented jet skiis and went scuba diving. The rooms are nice suites. The service is excellent. The waiters and staff really work hard to give good services to their guests. These are things that I wanted to note that could be improved: I didn't like the enclosed bathroom area with the badet (too small), I didn't like that we had to get up early everyday on our vacation (8:30am) so we could get dinner reservations, the initial greeting by staff when we got to the hotel could have been friendlier and I saw some waiters checking their cells phones while working in the restaurants, there were a few roaches we saw in the hotel but I know that's to be expected in a tropical climate, there wasn't a bathroom on the beach so you had to walk up to the restaurant or pool, the ocean isn't as clear as in Cancun, the fitness room didn't have AC and it was like a sauna when you were working out and there was no nightclub at the Palace, you had to go to the RIU Tequila. This resort is an hour south of Cancun and it seemed to be frequented by older people. I have been to other RIU resorts and this one is great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norman, Oklahoma
Aug 2, 2010

Rui Placace Mexico

The Riu Place Mexico was great! The rooms were big and clean. They kept the mini-bar stocked really well. The rooms were also very cold, which was really nice. The only complaint is that the beach is a long walk from the rooms. I liked how everything was included, even the sail boats and the snorkeling stuff. The food was also really good for an all-inclusive resort. The places you could eat dinner at were also very good. Just remember that the men have to wear pants or jeans for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacifica, CA
Jun 13, 2010

I will be back, again!

We stayed in this hotel several times. The beach front area had been completely restored compared to our last visit two years ago and looked simply amazing.We spent most of our time at the beach. The air conditioning was not working properly first two days of our stay, otherwise the rooms were clean and very nicely arranged. Food quality was outstanding, but lacked usual variety, especially at the beach front restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed the quality of food and service at steakhouse and fusion restaurant in the resort.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jun 12, 2010

awesome place

All I did was eat great food, sleep, drink, and swim. amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New RIU hotel fan
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 30, 2010

EXCELLENT TRIP!!

Riu Palace Mexico was an absolutely beautiful hotel. The staff was amazing; anything you needed, they provided with a smile. Everyone was so helpful and kind. The pool with the swim-up bar was excellent. The beach was beautiful with soft white sand. The hotel offered entertainment nightly and it is only a 5 minute cab ride from 5th street in Playa Del Carmen. Don't be afraid to leave the resort, we went to town twice and saw dozens of other tourists around us everywhere. We also took tours of the Mayan ruins Chichen Itza and Tulum-book those once you get to your hotel, not online (its about 1/2 the price). Get out and enjoy Mexico when you're not living the catered life at the Palace Mexico. The food at the resort was yummy. We had so many options for all meal times. No complaints at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Anyone remotely interested in sight seeing MUST go to Chichen Itza (Mayan Ruins). It is one of the new wonders of the world. It's about a 2 hour drive from the hotel, but you go on an air conditioned tour bus with other tourists. Book it with an [...] rep ONCE YOU GET TO THE HOTEL when you set up your transportation back to the airport, booking online is more expensive. Definitely worth the $50 a person. You'll never see anything like it!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gtrbt
Business
dfw
May 17, 2010

fantastic

very quiet with great beach and fabulous restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top