$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leningradka
Minnesota
Jun 2, 2012

Perfect vacation!

We stayed at RIU Palace for 6 days and it was fantastic! The beach is simply the best! Food, service, intertaiment - everything as 5 star hotel. Will come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosiebear
Business
Oklahoma CITY
Dec 16, 2011

A really wonderful vacation

This hotel has every thing one could reasonably expect from a five star hotel. The hotel staff beginning with the doorman and the front desk all the way to the room stewards and cleaning staff were exellent! The dining was exellent with a great variety every day, The head waiters and all waitstaff are the best. The beach and rec staff are second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the variety and prices at the nearby shopping mall Their prices are very competative with those found in town.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gnat824
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 15, 2012

Relaxing Holiday Getaway

I went to this resort solo the week before Christmas and had a great time. The grounds and rooms are beautiful, the staff extremely attentive and the beach was all that I expected. I very much enjoyed the food and drinks, all pretty high quality. This was my first trip to an all inclusive so I really didn't know what to expected. Make sure you check out Krystal! The location is Playacar was also great. I loved that it was a gated resort community (with homes and condos in addition to large hotels) so I had no qualms about going out for a run or just exploring. You can also take a long walk down the beach to get to Playa del Carmen (or just take a cab but I thought the beach was a nicer route....) Not an ideal place for a solo traveler, though, as everyone was there with SOs or families. Also, my room was overlooking the central courtyard and over the main lounge, so there was entertainment going on every night. I was fine with being right in the heart of the action and they're good at cutting it off at 11 PM each night, but if you want to go to bed early, make sure you ask for a location that's a little farther out on each of the wings. The pool area also felt a bit smaller than some of the other resorts, but I preferred the beach anyway. Overall, I had a great, relaxing week, which is exactly what I was going for. I would definitely recommend this particular RUI and I briefly visited the Palace Riviera Maya (stunning lobby!) and the RUI Tequilla (right across the street), which both seemed pretty nice. All five Playacar RUIs are pretty close together and it really expands your options if you take advantage of the others. Would definitely recommend and there's a very good chance I'll be back to one of the Playacar RIUs in the future (although I might try something different to mix it up, not because I didn't love the Palace Mexico!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend a small group excursion or two- I very much enjoyed my trip to Mayan ruins and coral reef snorkeling and the small group (rather than large bus) enhanced both experiences.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel family2012
Business
Ohio
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent hotel

It was a pleasure to stay in Riu Palace Mexico. The room, the lobby, the swimming pool area are new and modern looking, the food is variable and delicious, the staff is more than friendly, they cleaned the room twice a day. Music was every night in the upper bar and outside in the court. I loved everything about my trip, we walked a lot and took a trip to Chichen Itza and IkKill cave lake. Unbelievable! I would definitely return to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flash81314
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 14, 2013

Relaxed Atmosphere

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating from the moment of our arrival. We were able to check in early and immediately start enjoying the many amenities. The room was spacious and clean. The food was great and the menu at the buffet varied nightly so we only made reservations one night at one of the other restaurants which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a shopping area a short walk from the resort and the town with a myriad of shopping and retail options is well within walking distance about a mile away accessible by walking along the sidewalk in front of the resort or by the walking along the beach.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retiree13
Business
Frisco, Texas
Oct 29, 2013

Great Remodel

Have stayed at this property two times before. Really like the remodel. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Specialty restaurants were outstanding. Make sure you make a reservation at 8:30am for that evening's meal.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosiebear
Business
Oklahoma CITY
Dec 20, 2013

Exellent Vacation

We love this place and have returned to the same properety for the past 4 years. The warm greeting from the doorman welcoming us home again just sets the tone for the entire stay. The dining room staff remembers guests from past visits and all possible to make one welcome and comfortable. Our room was always cleanede promptly and was spotlessas usual. The front desk staff really tries to accomodate all your needa promptly. Lastly, the smiling faces and cheeful "HOLA" keeps a smile on our faces as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in the town of Playa del Carmen and don't forget to negotiate, negotiate.negotiate!!!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norman, Oklahoma
Aug 2, 2010

Rui Placace Mexico

The Riu Place Mexico was great! The rooms were big and clean. They kept the mini-bar stocked really well. The rooms were also very cold, which was really nice. The only complaint is that the beach is a long walk from the rooms. I liked how everything was included, even the sail boats and the snorkeling stuff. The food was also really good for an all-inclusive resort. The places you could eat dinner at were also very good. Just remember that the men have to wear pants or jeans for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA USA
Dec 5, 2010

Welcome Home Message

My husband and I have been to RIU Palaces in Dominican Republic, Jamaica and Mexico many times. This RIU Palace Mexico is by far our favorite. Why? They treat you like family. They just don't say it, they do it. This time around we brought our son, his girlfried and our married daughter and her new baby. We were a bit concerned that with the baby we could not have our usual lovely time. But the staff, management and all in general went out of their ways to make our stay wonderful. It worked and all was just fantastic. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach - unbelievably white sand, blue water and no rocks! Very short walk - no hotels, and the most clear water -- Bahamas-like! Playacar across the street; Playa Del Carmen 5 minute cab / 15 minute walk. 5 HOTELS For you to visit - 24 hr sports bar at 2! Very quiet pool; swim-up bar pool - short walk to brand new (but not as warm in service) but GREAT infinity pool at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. Golf course within 5 minutes.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 6, 2008

Our first Riu Experience

Our first visit to Riu Mexico in Riviera Maya was very enjoyable for the whole family. The staff from room sevice to entertainment was top notch. We would reccomend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa de Carmen was 30 min walking and was a full day of site seeing.

Back to menu Return to top