RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
118 reviews
Excellent getaway.

Very, very clean hotel and beach. Excellent buffet every day. Great personnels and services. See full review

  • SlyLou
  • Sep 8, 2014
Fantastic Anniversary gift for my wife!

My wife is from Guadalajara but had never been to this part of Mexico. She moved to the US about 35... See full review

  • Pietrowski
  • Sep 8, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Jun 23, 2008

Great all-inclusive hotel

The Riu Palace Mexico was the perfect place for my vacation, which also happened to be for a wedding. The rooms are spacious, the staff was friendly and for the most part, the food was tasty. The room had a sitting area which was nice for after a long day in the sun to relax. It was nice not to have to sit on the bad. The bathroom is big enough for two and has a separate toilet area. I will definitely be going back to the Riu. I already have the next trip booked in November for another wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The massages on the beach was fantastic. At first I was a little hesitant about it being outside with other people around but the waves of the ocean were so relaxing. I would highly recommend it!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NLAV
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Amazing!!

We enjoy staying at the RIU hotel chain and the Riu Palace Mexico in Playa Del Carmen exceeded our usual RIU expectations. The staff was great, the beach was amazing, and the peacefulness was incomparable. We ate at the steak house restaurant and at Krystal and had a great experience at both. Each morning we walked either up and down the beach our went out to the main road and walked through the neighborhood. There is a small shopping center across from the Palace and some small ruins down the road. We also went to town a few times and walked 5th Avenue, which was very nice. It is a 15 block road for pedestrians only with shops, restaurants, bars, ice cream shops, etc. Next door at the Yucatan there is a family of Howler monkeys living in the trees-fun to watch. We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy with RIU
Wyoming, MN
Apr 3, 2014

Great place and Fabulous people

We truly enjoyed our stay at the RIU Palace Mexico. I can't say enough about how great the staff are. They are so friendly, helpful and hardworking. The food was more than we could imagined, my husband loved the grilled lobster down on the beach. The bands that came in for the evening entertainment were great and much better than we thought we would hear. My only complaint is that the bed was firmer than at home so it took some getting used too, although the room was clean even with sand coming in with us from the beach. We chose the RIU because we had stayed at one of the other RIU's in the area and then at a competitor the two prior times we had been to the area and preferred the RIU, we were happy with the choice and you can utilize services at the other RIU's in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If going into Playa Del Carmen for shopping, find a way to hide your wrist bands so that the vendors don't identify you as easily. Also walking with purpose helps to keep them at bay.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 26, 2007

Beautiful Hotel

This resort is wonderful. beautiful in every stretch of the word. Wonderful rooms. beautiful beach and ocean and overall my G/F gave this resort a 9 out of 10. Only complaint is they need better choice in buffet dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA USA
Dec 5, 2010

Welcome Home Message

My husband and I have been to RIU Palaces in Dominican Republic, Jamaica and Mexico many times. This RIU Palace Mexico is by far our favorite. Why? They treat you like family. They just don't say it, they do it. This time around we brought our son, his girlfried and our married daughter and her new baby. We were a bit concerned that with the baby we could not have our usual lovely time. But the staff, management and all in general went out of their ways to make our stay wonderful. It worked and all was just fantastic. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach - unbelievably white sand, blue water and no rocks! Very short walk - no hotels, and the most clear water -- Bahamas-like! Playacar across the street; Playa Del Carmen 5 minute cab / 15 minute walk. 5 HOTELS For you to visit - 24 hr sports bar at 2! Very quiet pool; swim-up bar pool - short walk to brand new (but not as warm in service) but GREAT infinity pool at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. Golf course within 5 minutes.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chesterfield
Sep 6, 2008

RIU Palace is a Palace

The RIU Palace Mexico is plush, air conditioned, has gourmet dining and the most wonderful staff that can not do enough to please you. We were treated like royalty from the time we arrived. Of course this last stay was our 5th and we have come to know the staff and management. Regardless, the entertainment, service, air conditioned lobby and beautiful surroundings are unsurpassed. The pool is not as modern as the newer RIU Palace Riviera Maya but it is charming and comfortable. It was never crowded and was as warm as could be. The swim-up bar pool is more noisy and lots of things going on. But the other side it is quiet and we could play ball or just relax. The staff really made us feel at home to the point of decorated dinner tables most every evening. Great service including room service. It was timely and more than we ordered was always brougbt back to us without us asking. The service requested was cerbeza and they couldn't bring enough. That supplemented the in-room bar. There was nothing to want for the entire time we stayed. Breakfast was fabulous and always opened and fully stocked at 7 am. Dinners were truly luxurious - first class. Just a wonderful hotel with warm and friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minute cab ride or a 25 minute walk to Playa del Carmen. Playacar - just as much fun but smaller across the street. Ruins 10 minute walk away.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Apr 5, 2010

Always Wonderful

Have been to the RIU Palace multiple times. Why? The pool area is quiet - unless you are on the bar side - and even then it is social but not overdone. Secondly, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is such as you see in a major city and is air conditioned with deep mahogany furniture. There is a piano bar in the evenings that can not be beat anywhere. Older crowd but nice. Lastly, all meals are fantastic. Reservations for the a la cartes are annoying each day but what else do i have to do? All in all, great place and the ability to visit and enjoy the other 4 RIU hotels makes it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen by beach or street, Playacar, all other RIUs make for an interesting and varied vaca.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alabama Rolltide
Boston Mass
May 18, 2014

Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the entertainment staff. Is the music that they play at the pool is depressing they need party type music to be played I would love to burn the CD and mail it to him. And I might just do that great staff their were funny and friendly and made me laugh but the music at the pool has got to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

When reserving a restaurant get in line by 12 o'clock because the reservations fill up fast

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allandp
N.J.
Apr 30, 2014

great for all ages

very good amenities. great location. small resort size. two min. walk to a beautiful beach. lots of shade for people who prefer it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

food is good but can use some improvement in quality.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Penfield, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic, did not want to leave!

This was our second time to the Riu Palace Mexico and am looking forward to the third. From check-in to check-out, everything was superb. [...] [...], and the rest of the staff went above and beyond duty to accommodate our needs. We have yet to find this type of service anywhere else. The food was outstanding and fresh everyday, with more than enough choices to choose from. Plenty of activities to choose from, poolside or water sports. Highly recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top