RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
Perfection!

You MUST stay at the RIU Palace Mexico! Perfection in all aspects. The Staff was incredibly... See full review

  • MariaSimon
  • Aug 15, 2014
Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind... See full review

  • Mama 3 Cusick
  • May 19, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHARA
El Paso, TX, USA
Aug 17, 2011

great experience!

great experience, staff was friendly and always ready for needs. Excellent food with good variety, I enjoy staying at riu palace mexico, I will definitely back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IgorV
New Jersey, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Great vacation even during hurricane Irene

It was a perfect vacation even hurricane Irene could not spoil vacation. Especially we like the beach, the water was very warm. Just paradise, we enjoy it very much. However, at the end of the trip we could not leave hotel, all airports were closed. We could not rebook the flight, it took us almost 4 days to get a separate flight. We would like to express our appreciation to stuff of Riu Palace Mexico, especial thank you to Adrian, Karola and Ricky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy buffet, it is every night different cuisine.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love riu
usa
Oct 23, 2011

Great vacation!

riu palace was such a great place to stay in and relax!!!!!!! I loved the staff, the attention, and best of all,the food! I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Quinta avenida is such a nice 25 minute walk from the hotel. Check every store before buying....prices vary.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amesbury John
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Our favorite Riviera Maya Resort

We've been to the Riviera Maya 8 times and this is our favorite resort. The food was great...especially breakfast and lunch. Their beach is terrific. We would swim for two hours every day. The lounge bar is like going to a Ritz Carlton. Its rich and elegant. The staff is tremendous. The entertainment staff is only so so...but they did have dancing everynight outdoors with live music. We had the time of our lives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Playa del Carmen. Its maybe 1.5 miles away.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosiebear
Oklahoma CITY
Dec 16, 2011

A really wonderful vacation

This hotel has every thing one could reasonably expect from a five star hotel. The hotel staff beginning with the doorman and the front desk all the way to the room stewards and cleaning staff were exellent! The dining was exellent with a great variety every day, The head waiters and all waitstaff are the best. The beach and rec staff are second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the variety and prices at the nearby shopping mall Their prices are very competative with those found in town.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gnat824
Washington, DC
Jan 15, 2012

Relaxing Holiday Getaway

I went to this resort solo the week before Christmas and had a great time. The grounds and rooms are beautiful, the staff extremely attentive and the beach was all that I expected. I very much enjoyed the food and drinks, all pretty high quality. This was my first trip to an all inclusive so I really didn't know what to expected. Make sure you check out Krystal! The location is Playacar was also great. I loved that it was a gated resort community (with homes and condos in addition to large hotels) so I had no qualms about going out for a run or just exploring. You can also take a long walk down the beach to get to Playa del Carmen (or just take a cab but I thought the beach was a nicer route....) Not an ideal place for a solo traveler, though, as everyone was there with SOs or families. Also, my room was overlooking the central courtyard and over the main lounge, so there was entertainment going on every night. I was fine with being right in the heart of the action and they're good at cutting it off at 11 PM each night, but if you want to go to bed early, make sure you ask for a location that's a little farther out on each of the wings. The pool area also felt a bit smaller than some of the other resorts, but I preferred the beach anyway. Overall, I had a great, relaxing week, which is exactly what I was going for. I would definitely recommend this particular RUI and I briefly visited the Palace Riviera Maya (stunning lobby!) and the RUI Tequilla (right across the street), which both seemed pretty nice. All five Playacar RUIs are pretty close together and it really expands your options if you take advantage of the others. Would definitely recommend and there's a very good chance I'll be back to one of the Playacar RIUs in the future (although I might try something different to mix it up, not because I didn't love the Palace Mexico!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend a small group excursion or two- I very much enjoyed my trip to Mayan ruins and coral reef snorkeling and the small group (rather than large bus) enhanced both experiences.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leningradka
Minnesota
Jun 2, 2012

Perfect vacation!

We stayed at RIU Palace for 6 days and it was fantastic! The beach is simply the best! Food, service, intertaiment - everything as 5 star hotel. Will come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel family2012
Ohio
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent hotel

It was a pleasure to stay in Riu Palace Mexico. The room, the lobby, the swimming pool area are new and modern looking, the food is variable and delicious, the staff is more than friendly, they cleaned the room twice a day. Music was every night in the upper bar and outside in the court. I loved everything about my trip, we walked a lot and took a trip to Chichen Itza and IkKill cave lake. Unbelievable! I would definitely return to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flash81314
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 14, 2013

Relaxed Atmosphere

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating from the moment of our arrival. We were able to check in early and immediately start enjoying the many amenities. The room was spacious and clean. The food was great and the menu at the buffet varied nightly so we only made reservations one night at one of the other restaurants which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a shopping area a short walk from the resort and the town with a myriad of shopping and retail options is well within walking distance about a mile away accessible by walking along the sidewalk in front of the resort or by the walking along the beach.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dona Carolina
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Nov 4, 2013

I love riu palace Mexico !!!

I love the wonderful employees, beach , food and accommodations . Everyone is so kind. Especially Santiago who serves cafecitos con carino in the morning and lunch with a smile I will definitely return despite the redecorating. I loved the former Spanish colonial design. Everything is so wonderful I can overlook the pink and purple new decor. It's not for me but riu palace Mexico is excellent !!!! I have traveled to many beaches and playacar is one of the best I have ever seen. I have never stayed at a hotel with nicer employees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mayan adventures for atv, zip lining and snorkeling adventures. Ask for Horacio and angel aka chela Also try Xcaret for snorkeling. Lots of fish. Great fun and food

Back to menu Return to top