$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
121 reviews
Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the... See full review

  • NYC Birthday Girl
  • Nov 27, 2014
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
The Riu Palace Mexico is a modern five-star all inclusive hotel located on the beach in the Playacar section of Playa Del Carmen. It is part of an elegant development wich includes a modern 18-hole championship golf course and is located near at our own "Calle Mexicana" or "Mexican Street" wich features a variety of boutiques for you shopping pleasure,gym, shops, jewelry, beauty salon, photo studio and lab, medical center, spa services(body and beauty treatments massages). In addition, there are several restaurants and bars located within the complex offering a variety of choices for your dinning pleasures. 24-hour Room Service free of charge.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel. FREE WEDDING PACKAGE
Validity: until Dec 31st, 2010

Free wedding packages include:
-On-site wedding coordinator to help plan the special day
-Decoration set up for the ceremony location
-Bridal Bouquet and matching boutonniere for the groom
-CD or recorded music during the ceremony
-Semi private dinner for the wedding group at one of our specialty restaurants
-Wedding cake for 10 people
-Sparkling wine for 10 people (during the main toast only)
-Surprise spa gift
-Ten percent discount on all spa services for the bride and the groom (restrictions apply)

MINISTER OR JUDGE SERVICE, LEGAL DOCUMENTATION & FEES ARE NOT INCLUDED (Restrictions apply).

IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A FREE WEDDING PACKAGE YOU MUST BOOK 5 OR MORE ROOMS ON THIS SITE. (Restrictions apply).

-In order to have a wedding at our RIU Hotels & Resorts, the couple and the 80 percent of the total amount of the wedding guest must stay at the RIU Hotel where the wedding will be performed. This is a strict Riu policy we must follow.

-Wedding guest who are not staying at the resort must purchase a Day Pass. The cost of day passes ranges between $50 and $100 US dollars.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Penfield, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic, did not want to leave!

This was our second time to the Riu Palace Mexico and am looking forward to the third. From check-in to check-out, everything was superb. [...] [...], and the rest of the staff went above and beyond duty to accommodate our needs. We have yet to find this type of service anywhere else. The food was outstanding and fresh everyday, with more than enough choices to choose from. Plenty of activities to choose from, poolside or water sports. Highly recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Feb 27, 2011

Destination Wedding

My wife and I flew out for a destination wedding in mid December; staff, hotel and food made the our 7 day stay magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your shuttle through Hertz Rental when you fly into Cancun... it is 40 per person each way normally but if you pay up front you pay 80 total... A cab is about 100 bucks each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeker of warm and sunny locations
Business
Central Illinois
Feb 27, 2011

Best resort we have stayed at!

Food: **Best food we have had compared to 3 other Mexico resorts stayed at previously **Japanese and Brazilian were excellent specialty restaurants and the steak house was "ok." **Breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were all great. **There was food and snacks available all times of the day via restaurants and room service. **Lots of outdoor dining seating with ceiling fans. Staff: **Staff were friendly and everyone was treated equally. There was no need to tip because guests were not treated any better after the fact. **Requests were typically honored in a very timely manner. Hotel ammenities: **Very clean hotel and quite beautiful. **Large resort but not too big to go from one location to the other. **Daily planned activities including water aerobics, water and beach volleyball, target shooting, horseshoes, etc. **Very quiet - not a lot of kids or teenagers at this resort while we were there. **Appears to be geared towards middle aged adults which we liked. **All-inclusive included premimum alcohol in the room and the mini bar. **There are 6 RIU resorts in close proximity and guests at the RIU palaces are able to utilize all resorts with the exception of the restaurants requiring reservations. **Beach area is awesome with lots of lounge chairs and palm trees for shade. **Swim-up bar and pool area is wonderful. It is a nice size and lots of sitting area in the main pool. It would have been better if there was a water feature flowing from the bar roof to the water in the pool. **Beds were comfortable and huge. We had two full-size beds pushed together to form one bed! **The lobby had somewhat of a musty smell, but the rooms did not nor did the restaurants. **The outdoor tile walking paths became slippery with a small amount of moisture. Overall, this was a great resort and felt very upscale compared to the other resorts we have stayed at (Sandos Playacar, Crown Paradise Cancun, Gran Melia Cancun). This is the first place we stayed at that we thought we could consider returning too because it was so good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel starts taking reservations at the specialty reservations daily at 8:30 a.m., but ticket numbers are issued at 8:00 a.m. You want to be sure and get a number early and go back at 8:30 a.m. if you want a specific restaurant at a specific time for the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Creek, Michigan
Feb 15, 2011

wonderful family vacation and wedding

An amazing vacation and wedding. Everything I could have asked for and more. Accomadated to every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mawky Boy
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 25, 2011

Amazing Resort and Staff!

The hotel grounds are some of the most beautiful and well kept you will ever see. Huge resort, with lots to do. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Beachfront location was prime. Very happy with our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Would recommend booking a direct shuttle from the airport to the hotel, rather than a shared shuttle with other passengers. You can get there in under an hour with a direct shuttle. And it will take a good 2 hours most likely if you go with a shared shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pawleys Island, SC
Jan 14, 2011

Great Escape!

The service was wonderful....food was wonderful too! We did an excursion and had a great experience at Sian Kan. The jeep tour was terrific! The only complaint we have is that we requested a wake up call one day and did not get one. We lost power in our room two days in a row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RIU Bound
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 31, 2010

Great Vacation & Highly Recommended

A great hotel in a nice safe location. Rooms are large and spacious. An all-inclusive vacation is definitely the way to go. The beaches were nice with plenty of beach chairs for guests. We were a little disappointed with their work-out facility. The equipment were dated and old. Overall, I would definitely return to the RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Dec 18, 2010

FANTASTIC VACATION

BEACH WALKING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA USA
Dec 5, 2010

Welcome Home Message

My husband and I have been to RIU Palaces in Dominican Republic, Jamaica and Mexico many times. This RIU Palace Mexico is by far our favorite. Why? They treat you like family. They just don't say it, they do it. This time around we brought our son, his girlfried and our married daughter and her new baby. We were a bit concerned that with the baby we could not have our usual lovely time. But the staff, management and all in general went out of their ways to make our stay wonderful. It worked and all was just fantastic. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach - unbelievably white sand, blue water and no rocks! Very short walk - no hotels, and the most clear water -- Bahamas-like! Playacar across the street; Playa Del Carmen 5 minute cab / 15 minute walk. 5 HOTELS For you to visit - 24 hr sports bar at 2! Very quiet pool; swim-up bar pool - short walk to brand new (but not as warm in service) but GREAT infinity pool at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. Golf course within 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilya555
Business
New Jersey
Nov 20, 2010

Best of all the RIUs in the area

This hotel truly is a "palace" and makes you feel like you've arrived in paradise. Our favorite parts were the beautiful ocean water, the beach bar, the swim-up pool bar, and the specialty restaurants. The only negatives were the lack of decent entertainment (always a bit of an issue with RIU properties) and the sometimes "wet dog" smell of our room after it was made up. For the most part, that wasn't a big issue since we spent most of the day at the pool and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to go out to eat EVER when staying here...plenty of food in the specialty restaurants and if you just want casual the buffet is great too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top