$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
121 reviews
Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the... See full review

  • NYC Birthday Girl
  • Nov 27, 2014
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
The Riu Palace Mexico is a modern five-star all inclusive hotel located on the beach in the Playacar section of Playa Del Carmen. It is part of an elegant development wich includes a modern 18-hole championship golf course and is located near at our own "Calle Mexicana" or "Mexican Street" wich features a variety of boutiques for you shopping pleasure,gym, shops, jewelry, beauty salon, photo studio and lab, medical center, spa services(body and beauty treatments massages). In addition, there are several restaurants and bars located within the complex offering a variety of choices for your dinning pleasures. 24-hour Room Service free of charge.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel. FREE WEDDING PACKAGE
Validity: until Dec 31st, 2010

Free wedding packages include:
-On-site wedding coordinator to help plan the special day
-Decoration set up for the ceremony location
-Bridal Bouquet and matching boutonniere for the groom
-CD or recorded music during the ceremony
-Semi private dinner for the wedding group at one of our specialty restaurants
-Wedding cake for 10 people
-Sparkling wine for 10 people (during the main toast only)
-Surprise spa gift
-Ten percent discount on all spa services for the bride and the groom (restrictions apply)

MINISTER OR JUDGE SERVICE, LEGAL DOCUMENTATION & FEES ARE NOT INCLUDED (Restrictions apply).

IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A FREE WEDDING PACKAGE YOU MUST BOOK 5 OR MORE ROOMS ON THIS SITE. (Restrictions apply).

-In order to have a wedding at our RIU Hotels & Resorts, the couple and the 80 percent of the total amount of the wedding guest must stay at the RIU Hotel where the wedding will be performed. This is a strict Riu policy we must follow.

-Wedding guest who are not staying at the resort must purchase a Day Pass. The cost of day passes ranges between $50 and $100 US dollars.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leningradka
Minnesota
Jun 2, 2012

Perfect vacation!

We stayed at RIU Palace for 6 days and it was fantastic! The beach is simply the best! Food, service, intertaiment - everything as 5 star hotel. Will come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga CA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic value, 5 star quality

We were extremely pleased with our one week stay there. The staff go out of their way to make you happy, from front desk to restaurant staff as well as activities members, beach staff etc... The rooms are large, comfy and very clean, the food excellent, it was the best vacation , most relaxing we've ever had. We're looking up other Riu hotels around the world to book our next vacation, and will definitely come back to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the show nightly and all the activities the hotel offers : aerobic class in the pool, dancing classes, stretching

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHARA
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Aug 17, 2011

great experience!

great experience, staff was friendly and always ready for needs. Excellent food with good variety, I enjoy staying at riu palace mexico, I will definitely back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent Spot for a relaxing honeymoon.

This was a great spot for a casual sailing couple. We took the hobie cats out every day. They always had a boat available We wanted to take an evening or a day cruise on a charter, but the hotel was so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't want to leave. We were also told to sample some of the local fare in Playa Del Carmen. We never bothered to, the food at the hotel was so good and there was always something new to try. It was a very good honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay cool, take a taxi into town. $7 is not a bad price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, Virginia
Jun 17, 2011

How soon can I go back?

Before traveling, I exhaustively researched this hotel, Playa del Carmen, all-inclusive resorts, and anything else that I can think of, online. After returning from a sun-soaked, laid-back week at the RIU Palace Mexico, I can only conclude that for anybody who doesn't like it there, this type of vacation just isn't for them. Food: I think of it and salivate. I had to restrain myself at breakfast so I could later immerse myself in the vast variety of great food, along with many surprises, prepared by a squadron of chefs. The four specialty restaurants are each magnificent, with exquisitely conceived and prepared food that broadened my horizons (more octopus ceviche, please...) Meals of that caliber would otherwise have cost me the entire hotel bill—but they came included. The all-inclusive drink aspect gets a lot of press. I'm not one to drink myself under the table, but the alcohol was flowing. If you insist on being a liquor snob, stay home with your $100 cognac. You won't find that, but you won't be disappointed. Minimum wage in Mexico is low, and the staff obviously works very hard. Tips (I always kept a few $1 and $5 bills in my pocket) for exemplary service were REALLY appreciated. Few reviews mention the entertainment. Every night a mariachi or dance performance, from Latin dances to Mayan tribal reenactments, brought the place to life. Some choreography was really superlative. It was always a great way to end the day. Furthermore, a very eager entertainment staff rounds up folks for water aerobics, horseshoes, bingo, etc. It's easy to say no and go back to reading, but its a great way to meet other folks from around the world and have a brief diversion. I met some pretty cool folks across the water volleyball net. The beach and pools were beautiful. I enjoyed being able to move from beachside chair in the sun to pool deck chair under an umbrella to hammock beneath the palm trees. In June, low (hot!) season, I guess its not too crowded. With all this, why spend time in my room? Applying sunscreen, mostly. But the facilities were well equipped and well maintained. I couldn't think of anything else I would have wanted in a room. Caution: hard services are easier to clean in that humidity, so nothing much absorbs sound. I don't mind an occasional screaming kid in the corridor that much, but they echo through the ENTIRE corridor! I went for a buffet lunch at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya one day. I had no service at all—I left without even had a glass of water. It was EXTREMELY crowded, maybe I picked a bad day. So I'll stay with the slightly classier, slightly less expensive, slightly more relaxed, slightly more romantic RIU Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Various $60-90 van services, etc., connect Cancun airport to Playa del Carmen. Unless your group can fill a van by itself, avoid them. At both terminals an ADO desk sells $10-11 (depending on the exchange rate) bus tickets, on an air-conditioned motor coach to downtown Playa del Carmen. From there, an easy $7-8 cab ride lands you at the hotel doorstep. Save $50 p/p without spending extra time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrenceburg Indiana
Jun 11, 2011

fantastic, had a great time

We just relaxed on beach, did a little shopping and ate very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take cab to playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brigpana
Business
Sussex, NJ
May 15, 2011

Amazing Vacation!!!!

We just returned from RPM Friday - had a wonderful vacation. Met so many nice people, would return in a heartbeat! RPM is a 10 min walk by street from RPRM, a little longer by beach. All the other RIU properties are across the street or right next door. If I returned, would consider staying at the Yucatan next door. Very nice property, more of a tropical feel with the monkeys and other wildlife running around, better coffee and more of a social crowd. Important note for the older or handicap vacationers - the pool at RPM does not have walk in stairs. Only one of those silver ladders on the deeper end. You can get in by stepping down to the poolside bench, taking a seat and then ease into the water that way, but might not be an easy move for the older or handicap crowd. The RPM was on the quiet side and the RPRM seemed to have the same vibe. Just depends on what you prefer. We had breakfast at the RPRM and the service was much better there as well as the coffee! Don't get me wrong, the service at RPM was very good, the staff at RPRM just seemed a little more on their game. We checked out the disco at Tequila a couple of nights - was very fun. I'm not a huge fan of club music, but we had fun. We found the food very good at RPM - could always find something at the buffet and on the last day discovered sweet & sour grouper at the beach buffet at the Yucata - OMG!!! It was to die for - never saw it at either buffet at RPM. We found the steak at the Steakhouse very tender and yummy and we also liked the Japanese specialty restaurant very much. All in all, would absolutely return - my recommendation would be to stay at the Yucatan - cheaper by about $300 per couple and we liked the atmosphere a little more. Again, it's a personal preference. Btw - the beaches are AMAZING!!!!! Absolutely AMAZING!!!! Don't hesitate to book - you won't be disappointed if you stay at a RIU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
germany
Apr 4, 2011

excellent stay

all good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

swim with the dolphis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super jack
Business
denver, co
Apr 1, 2011

hotel mexico RIU

good, went to park explor, no missing, good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not know

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Apr 1, 2011

ill

Unfortunately I was ill with a severe cough. The front desk arranged for a doctor to visit my room and prescribe antibiotics which could be picked up at by another hotel close by. Not much of a vacation, but good to know just in case. Hopefully, you will have better luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh NC
Mar 31, 2011

Good trip until we tried to get back

Hotel and everything about it was as advertised.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top