$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel from Mexico
Business
Mexico
Sep 20, 2011

Nice hotel lots of food

The hotel is nice, a very nice lobby, there are a few hotels that you can also visit and use with the same pass, so over all there are lots of amenities. There are lots of food, many restaurants and over all it's good value, I can not say that the restaurants are gourmet, mainly is a lot of food, decent quality but you can not expect to be amazed by the food, For me I feel this is the last time I use an all inclusive as I prefer to eat less but to enjoy a better quality restaurant. so if you are very special with food, this is not for you, if you have kids and want to forget about paying all the time and leave them go freely around the place this is a very good choice to enjoy a good holiday at a good value. so over all, I give 4 out of 5 of what I was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese was not so good, but I heard the steak house was better even I did not have the chance to eat there.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jazzluvr4u
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 12, 2011

Riu Palace Mexico in Riviera Maya (Playa del Carmen)

From the get go my fiancee and I felt at home. The staff treated us like family in every aspect of our stay. The room was always cleaned spotless with the maid service always adding a special touch each day. One day we came in to find flowers spread out threw out the room. Breakfast was always the best for us with fresh fruit juices, made right there, omelettes to order at your liking and a staff that treated us like family. The pools and beach were always clean and the bar staff always accomodating. The dinner restaurants were very good except for La Bodega (Brazilian style steakhouse). Aside from that, our stay here was magnificent. We are more than likely going to have our wedding there. Riu has five other hotels there, in which you can use their pools and buffets for breakfast and lunch, all within walking distance of each other. Can't beat the price we got for a complete week's stay. In addition, many of the tourist attractions are within minutes of there (i.e. Xcaret, Xplor, Xel Ha, along with their downtown area). The Mayan pyramids are forty minutes and an hour and a half rspectively (Tullum and Coba).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of doing tours through the hotel or other agencies, you can do them yourself by using the ADO bus system. They all take you to the main attractions like Xcaret, Xplor, Xel Ha, Tullum, Coba and many more at a fraction of what a tour agency pays. You're also not rushed to see the attractions and can go at your own pace.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga CA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic value, 5 star quality

We were extremely pleased with our one week stay there. The staff go out of their way to make you happy, from front desk to restaurant staff as well as activities members, beach staff etc... The rooms are large, comfy and very clean, the food excellent, it was the best vacation , most relaxing we've ever had. We're looking up other Riu hotels around the world to book our next vacation, and will definitely come back to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the show nightly and all the activities the hotel offers : aerobic class in the pool, dancing classes, stretching

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHARA
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Aug 17, 2011

great experience!

great experience, staff was friendly and always ready for needs. Excellent food with good variety, I enjoy staying at riu palace mexico, I will definitely back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHARA
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Aug 17, 2011

great experience!

great experience, staff was friendly and always ready for needs. Excellent food with good variety, I enjoy staying at riu palace mexico, I will definitely back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent Spot for a relaxing honeymoon.

This was a great spot for a casual sailing couple. We took the hobie cats out every day. They always had a boat available We wanted to take an evening or a day cruise on a charter, but the hotel was so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't want to leave. We were also told to sample some of the local fare in Playa Del Carmen. We never bothered to, the food at the hotel was so good and there was always something new to try. It was a very good honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay cool, take a taxi into town. $7 is not a bad price.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, Virginia
Jun 17, 2011

How soon can I go back?

Before traveling, I exhaustively researched this hotel, Playa del Carmen, all-inclusive resorts, and anything else that I can think of, online. After returning from a sun-soaked, laid-back week at the RIU Palace Mexico, I can only conclude that for anybody who doesn't like it there, this type of vacation just isn't for them. Food: I think of it and salivate. I had to restrain myself at breakfast so I could later immerse myself in the vast variety of great food, along with many surprises, prepared by a squadron of chefs. The four specialty restaurants are each magnificent, with exquisitely conceived and prepared food that broadened my horizons (more octopus ceviche, please...) Meals of that caliber would otherwise have cost me the entire hotel bill—but they came included. The all-inclusive drink aspect gets a lot of press. I'm not one to drink myself under the table, but the alcohol was flowing. If you insist on being a liquor snob, stay home with your $100 cognac. You won't find that, but you won't be disappointed. Minimum wage in Mexico is low, and the staff obviously works very hard. Tips (I always kept a few $1 and $5 bills in my pocket) for exemplary service were REALLY appreciated. Few reviews mention the entertainment. Every night a mariachi or dance performance, from Latin dances to Mayan tribal reenactments, brought the place to life. Some choreography was really superlative. It was always a great way to end the day. Furthermore, a very eager entertainment staff rounds up folks for water aerobics, horseshoes, bingo, etc. It's easy to say no and go back to reading, but its a great way to meet other folks from around the world and have a brief diversion. I met some pretty cool folks across the water volleyball net. The beach and pools were beautiful. I enjoyed being able to move from beachside chair in the sun to pool deck chair under an umbrella to hammock beneath the palm trees. In June, low (hot!) season, I guess its not too crowded. With all this, why spend time in my room? Applying sunscreen, mostly. But the facilities were well equipped and well maintained. I couldn't think of anything else I would have wanted in a room. Caution: hard services are easier to clean in that humidity, so nothing much absorbs sound. I don't mind an occasional screaming kid in the corridor that much, but they echo through the ENTIRE corridor! I went for a buffet lunch at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya one day. I had no service at all—I left without even had a glass of water. It was EXTREMELY crowded, maybe I picked a bad day. So I'll stay with the slightly classier, slightly less expensive, slightly more relaxed, slightly more romantic RIU Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Various $60-90 van services, etc., connect Cancun airport to Playa del Carmen. Unless your group can fill a van by itself, avoid them. At both terminals an ADO desk sells $10-11 (depending on the exchange rate) bus tickets, on an air-conditioned motor coach to downtown Playa del Carmen. From there, an easy $7-8 cab ride lands you at the hotel doorstep. Save $50 p/p without spending extra time.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrenceburg Indiana
Jun 11, 2011

fantastic, had a great time

We just relaxed on beach, did a little shopping and ate very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take cab to playa del carmen

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
germany
Apr 4, 2011

excellent stay

all good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

swim with the dolphis

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super jack
Business
denver, co
Apr 1, 2011

hotel mexico RIU

good, went to park explor, no missing, good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not know

Back to menu Return to top