$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
121 reviews
Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the... See full review

  • NYC Birthday Girl
  • Nov 27, 2014
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
The Riu Palace Mexico is a modern five-star all inclusive hotel located on the beach in the Playacar section of Playa Del Carmen. It is part of an elegant development wich includes a modern 18-hole championship golf course and is located near at our own "Calle Mexicana" or "Mexican Street" wich features a variety of boutiques for you shopping pleasure,gym, shops, jewelry, beauty salon, photo studio and lab, medical center, spa services(body and beauty treatments massages). In addition, there are several restaurants and bars located within the complex offering a variety of choices for your dinning pleasures. 24-hour Room Service free of charge.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel. FREE WEDDING PACKAGE
Validity: until Dec 31st, 2010

Free wedding packages include:
-On-site wedding coordinator to help plan the special day
-Decoration set up for the ceremony location
-Bridal Bouquet and matching boutonniere for the groom
-CD or recorded music during the ceremony
-Semi private dinner for the wedding group at one of our specialty restaurants
-Wedding cake for 10 people
-Sparkling wine for 10 people (during the main toast only)
-Surprise spa gift
-Ten percent discount on all spa services for the bride and the groom (restrictions apply)

MINISTER OR JUDGE SERVICE, LEGAL DOCUMENTATION & FEES ARE NOT INCLUDED (Restrictions apply).

IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A FREE WEDDING PACKAGE YOU MUST BOOK 5 OR MORE ROOMS ON THIS SITE. (Restrictions apply).

-In order to have a wedding at our RIU Hotels & Resorts, the couple and the 80 percent of the total amount of the wedding guest must stay at the RIU Hotel where the wedding will be performed. This is a strict Riu policy we must follow.

-Wedding guest who are not staying at the resort must purchase a Day Pass. The cost of day passes ranges between $50 and $100 US dollars.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was very good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the United States. As a true 3 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 4 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosiebear
Business
Oklahoma CITY
Dec 16, 2011

A really wonderful vacation

This hotel has every thing one could reasonably expect from a five star hotel. The hotel staff beginning with the doorman and the front desk all the way to the room stewards and cleaning staff were exellent! The dining was exellent with a great variety every day, The head waiters and all waitstaff are the best. The beach and rec staff are second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the variety and prices at the nearby shopping mall Their prices are very competative with those found in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amesbury John
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Our favorite Riviera Maya Resort

We've been to the Riviera Maya 8 times and this is our favorite resort. The food was great...especially breakfast and lunch. Their beach is terrific. We would swim for two hours every day. The lounge bar is like going to a Ritz Carlton. Its rich and elegant. The staff is tremendous. The entertainment staff is only so so...but they did have dancing everynight outdoors with live music. We had the time of our lives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Playa del Carmen. Its maybe 1.5 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schlonky
Business
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Great Retreat aLL INCLUSIVE

Riu has been our preferred resort for the All inclusive experiences. Limited Beer selection (3), but great selection of specialty drinks and cocktails...plus they will make you just about anything. Very consistent service and amenities. Really enjoy the dinning option at the specialty restaurants. Krystal is a must do!! Only downfall was you have to sign up daily for one of the seating's (begins at 8am). Stay at one of the Riu Palaces and you have access to all the other adjacent properties. Riu Palace Mexico is a more "mature" location, Riu tequilla (just a short walk across the Street) is the younger "party" place. Riu Palace Rivera Maya (looked to be the newer palace was nice as well - had a sports themed bar). Bottom Line, you cant go wrong with Riu...No Hustles, hassles and an extremely friendly, motivated staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the airport transfer in advance and simply bypass the "time share, excursion hustles in the airport" Literally ignore EVERYONE who tries to help you until you get out of the airport doors...Once outside look for your transfer companies signage and uniforms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love riu
Business
usa
Oct 23, 2011

Great vacation!

riu palace was such a great place to stay in and relax!!!!!!! I loved the staff, the attention, and best of all,the food! I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Quinta avenida is such a nice 25 minute walk from the hotel. Check every store before buying....prices vary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hoiy
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Fantastic Time at RIU Palace Mexico

We just returned yesterday from our trip to PDC and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was so nice and accommodating (for the most part), the location is great, and the food was very good. Some of the few things that I found frustrating though were 1) the use of real keys for your room keys, not a card, and 2) that I emailed the hotel requesting certain things be ready upon arrival since it's no longer peak season and none of my requests were taken into consideration. 1) The keys they give you are etched with your room number. Generally I felt safe and comfortable leaving my belongings around the pool, but if I lost this key I may as well have provided someone a map and key to my room. In this day and age, they need keycards. Real keys are unacceptable. 2) I read other reviews that the beds were extremely uncomfortable and to request an extra mattress topper. I emailed the hotel a week before my arrival and made this request, in addition to a request that our room face the fountains. None of them were considered and we were randomly assigned a room. In the end, the RIU's beds are the worst beds I've ever slept in. Also, I know for a fact the hotel was not full, but they told us it was full and if I wanted a room facing the fountains, it'd cost $120 extra per night. That is outrageous. Anyway, overall the entire vacation was great. We would definitely return. And PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE tip. These people work so hard and it's unfortunate to see people not tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel from Mexico
Business
Mexico
Sep 20, 2011

Nice hotel lots of food

The hotel is nice, a very nice lobby, there are a few hotels that you can also visit and use with the same pass, so over all there are lots of amenities. There are lots of food, many restaurants and over all it's good value, I can not say that the restaurants are gourmet, mainly is a lot of food, decent quality but you can not expect to be amazed by the food, For me I feel this is the last time I use an all inclusive as I prefer to eat less but to enjoy a better quality restaurant. so if you are very special with food, this is not for you, if you have kids and want to forget about paying all the time and leave them go freely around the place this is a very good choice to enjoy a good holiday at a good value. so over all, I give 4 out of 5 of what I was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese was not so good, but I heard the steak house was better even I did not have the chance to eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IgorV
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Great vacation even during hurricane Irene

It was a perfect vacation even hurricane Irene could not spoil vacation. Especially we like the beach, the water was very warm. Just paradise, we enjoy it very much. However, at the end of the trip we could not leave hotel, all airports were closed. We could not rebook the flight, it took us almost 4 days to get a separate flight. We would like to express our appreciation to stuff of Riu Palace Mexico, especial thank you to Adrian, Karola and Ricky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy buffet, it is every night different cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jazzluvr4u
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 12, 2011

Riu Palace Mexico in Riviera Maya (Playa del Carmen)

From the get go my fiancee and I felt at home. The staff treated us like family in every aspect of our stay. The room was always cleaned spotless with the maid service always adding a special touch each day. One day we came in to find flowers spread out threw out the room. Breakfast was always the best for us with fresh fruit juices, made right there, omelettes to order at your liking and a staff that treated us like family. The pools and beach were always clean and the bar staff always accomodating. The dinner restaurants were very good except for La Bodega (Brazilian style steakhouse). Aside from that, our stay here was magnificent. We are more than likely going to have our wedding there. Riu has five other hotels there, in which you can use their pools and buffets for breakfast and lunch, all within walking distance of each other. Can't beat the price we got for a complete week's stay. In addition, many of the tourist attractions are within minutes of there (i.e. Xcaret, Xplor, Xel Ha, along with their downtown area). The Mayan pyramids are forty minutes and an hour and a half rspectively (Tullum and Coba).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of doing tours through the hotel or other agencies, you can do them yourself by using the ADO bus system. They all take you to the main attractions like Xcaret, Xplor, Xel Ha, Tullum, Coba and many more at a fraction of what a tour agency pays. You're also not rushed to see the attractions and can go at your own pace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kerriz9
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 18, 2011

honeymooners

We went for our honeymoon and had a great relaxing time. The hotel was very nice. We hung out by the beach the whole time. The only thing that was ok was the food. But Im sure its hard making amazing food for that many of people. Krystal was our favorite restaurant for dinner. We went to 5th Ave one night which was cool it only was a $7 cab ride each way. We booked with Cancun Shuttle to take us to and from the airport which was $90 round trip for the 2 of us. We parasailed ($60 each) was fun but next time would like to scuba dive ($100 each). The no pants at dinner for men really wasn't that big of a deal jeans were acceptable. We took our own thermal cups for drinks the staff didn't mind at all filling them up. Oh and take cheap rafts for the ocean :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The "free" stuff ex: windsurfing, sailing isn't free. They make you pay for the lesson($25 & $40) then its free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top