$336 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
179 reviews
Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind... See full review

  • Mama 3 Cusick
  • May 19, 2014
Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the... See full review

  • Alabama Rolltide
  • May 18, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kerriz9
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 18, 2011

honeymooners

We went for our honeymoon and had a great relaxing time. The hotel was very nice. We hung out by the beach the whole time. The only thing that was ok was the food. But Im sure its hard making amazing food for that many of people. Krystal was our favorite restaurant for dinner. We went to 5th Ave one night which was cool it only was a $7 cab ride each way. We booked with Cancun Shuttle to take us to and from the airport which was $90 round trip for the 2 of us. We parasailed ($60 each) was fun but next time would like to scuba dive ($100 each). The no pants at dinner for men really wasn't that big of a deal jeans were acceptable. We took our own thermal cups for drinks the staff didn't mind at all filling them up. Oh and take cheap rafts for the ocean :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The "free" stuff ex: windsurfing, sailing isn't free. They make you pay for the lesson($25 & $40) then its free.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saratoga CA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic value, 5 star quality

We were extremely pleased with our one week stay there. The staff go out of their way to make you happy, from front desk to restaurant staff as well as activities members, beach staff etc... The rooms are large, comfy and very clean, the food excellent, it was the best vacation , most relaxing we've ever had. We're looking up other Riu hotels around the world to book our next vacation, and will definitely come back to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the show nightly and all the activities the hotel offers : aerobic class in the pool, dancing classes, stretching

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saratoga CA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic value, 5 star quality

We were extremely pleased with our one week stay there. The staff go out of their way to make you happy, from front desk to restaurant staff as well as activities members, beach staff etc... The rooms are large, comfy and very clean, the food excellent, it was the best vacation , most relaxing we've ever had. We're looking up other Riu hotels around the world to book our next vacation, and will definitely come back to Riu Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the show nightly and all the activities the hotel offers : aerobic class in the pool, dancing classes, stretching

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHARA
El Paso, TX, USA
Aug 17, 2011

great experience!

great experience, staff was friendly and always ready for needs. Excellent food with good variety, I enjoy staying at riu palace mexico, I will definitely back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent Spot for a relaxing honeymoon.

This was a great spot for a casual sailing couple. We took the hobie cats out every day. They always had a boat available We wanted to take an evening or a day cruise on a charter, but the hotel was so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't want to leave. We were also told to sample some of the local fare in Playa Del Carmen. We never bothered to, the food at the hotel was so good and there was always something new to try. It was a very good honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay cool, take a taxi into town. $7 is not a bad price.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent Spot for a relaxing honeymoon.

This was a great spot for a casual sailing couple. We took the hobie cats out every day. They always had a boat available We wanted to take an evening or a day cruise on a charter, but the hotel was so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't want to leave. We were also told to sample some of the local fare in Playa Del Carmen. We never bothered to, the food at the hotel was so good and there was always something new to try. It was a very good honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay cool, take a taxi into town. $7 is not a bad price.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portsmouth, Virginia
Jun 17, 2011

How soon can I go back?

Before traveling, I exhaustively researched this hotel, Playa del Carmen, all-inclusive resorts, and anything else that I can think of, online. After returning from a sun-soaked, laid-back week at the RIU Palace Mexico, I can only conclude that for anybody who doesn't like it there, this type of vacation just isn't for them. Food: I think of it and salivate. I had to restrain myself at breakfast so I could later immerse myself in the vast variety of great food, along with many surprises, prepared by a squadron of chefs. The four specialty restaurants are each magnificent, with exquisitely conceived and prepared food that broadened my horizons (more octopus ceviche, please...) Meals of that caliber would otherwise have cost me the entire hotel bill—but they came included. The all-inclusive drink aspect gets a lot of press. I'm not one to drink myself under the table, but the alcohol was flowing. If you insist on being a liquor snob, stay home with your $100 cognac. You won't find that, but you won't be disappointed. Minimum wage in Mexico is low, and the staff obviously works very hard. Tips (I always kept a few $1 and $5 bills in my pocket) for exemplary service were REALLY appreciated. Few reviews mention the entertainment. Every night a mariachi or dance performance, from Latin dances to Mayan tribal reenactments, brought the place to life. Some choreography was really superlative. It was always a great way to end the day. Furthermore, a very eager entertainment staff rounds up folks for water aerobics, horseshoes, bingo, etc. It's easy to say no and go back to reading, but its a great way to meet other folks from around the world and have a brief diversion. I met some pretty cool folks across the water volleyball net. The beach and pools were beautiful. I enjoyed being able to move from beachside chair in the sun to pool deck chair under an umbrella to hammock beneath the palm trees. In June, low (hot!) season, I guess its not too crowded. With all this, why spend time in my room? Applying sunscreen, mostly. But the facilities were well equipped and well maintained. I couldn't think of anything else I would have wanted in a room. Caution: hard services are easier to clean in that humidity, so nothing much absorbs sound. I don't mind an occasional screaming kid in the corridor that much, but they echo through the ENTIRE corridor! I went for a buffet lunch at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya one day. I had no service at all—I left without even had a glass of water. It was EXTREMELY crowded, maybe I picked a bad day. So I'll stay with the slightly classier, slightly less expensive, slightly more relaxed, slightly more romantic RIU Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Various $60-90 van services, etc., connect Cancun airport to Playa del Carmen. Unless your group can fill a van by itself, avoid them. At both terminals an ADO desk sells $10-11 (depending on the exchange rate) bus tickets, on an air-conditioned motor coach to downtown Playa del Carmen. From there, an easy $7-8 cab ride lands you at the hotel doorstep. Save $50 p/p without spending extra time.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portsmouth, Virginia
Jun 17, 2011

How soon can I go back?

Before traveling, I exhaustively researched this hotel, Playa del Carmen, all-inclusive resorts, and anything else that I can think of, online. After returning from a sun-soaked, laid-back week at the RIU Palace Mexico, I can only conclude that for anybody who doesn't like it there, this type of vacation just isn't for them. Food: I think of it and salivate. I had to restrain myself at breakfast so I could later immerse myself in the vast variety of great food, along with many surprises, prepared by a squadron of chefs. The four specialty restaurants are each magnificent, with exquisitely conceived and prepared food that broadened my horizons (more octopus ceviche, please...) Meals of that caliber would otherwise have cost me the entire hotel bill—but they came included. The all-inclusive drink aspect gets a lot of press. I'm not one to drink myself under the table, but the alcohol was flowing. If you insist on being a liquor snob, stay home with your $100 cognac. You won't find that, but you won't be disappointed. Minimum wage in Mexico is low, and the staff obviously works very hard. Tips (I always kept a few $1 and $5 bills in my pocket) for exemplary service were REALLY appreciated. Few reviews mention the entertainment. Every night a mariachi or dance performance, from Latin dances to Mayan tribal reenactments, brought the place to life. Some choreography was really superlative. It was always a great way to end the day. Furthermore, a very eager entertainment staff rounds up folks for water aerobics, horseshoes, bingo, etc. It's easy to say no and go back to reading, but its a great way to meet other folks from around the world and have a brief diversion. I met some pretty cool folks across the water volleyball net. The beach and pools were beautiful. I enjoyed being able to move from beachside chair in the sun to pool deck chair under an umbrella to hammock beneath the palm trees. In June, low (hot!) season, I guess its not too crowded. With all this, why spend time in my room? Applying sunscreen, mostly. But the facilities were well equipped and well maintained. I couldn't think of anything else I would have wanted in a room. Caution: hard services are easier to clean in that humidity, so nothing much absorbs sound. I don't mind an occasional screaming kid in the corridor that much, but they echo through the ENTIRE corridor! I went for a buffet lunch at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya one day. I had no service at all—I left without even had a glass of water. It was EXTREMELY crowded, maybe I picked a bad day. So I'll stay with the slightly classier, slightly less expensive, slightly more relaxed, slightly more romantic RIU Palace Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Various $60-90 van services, etc., connect Cancun airport to Playa del Carmen. Unless your group can fill a van by itself, avoid them. At both terminals an ADO desk sells $10-11 (depending on the exchange rate) bus tickets, on an air-conditioned motor coach to downtown Playa del Carmen. From there, an easy $7-8 cab ride lands you at the hotel doorstep. Save $50 p/p without spending extra time.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lawrenceburg Indiana
Jun 11, 2011

fantastic, had a great time

We just relaxed on beach, did a little shopping and ate very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take cab to playa del carmen

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lawrenceburg Indiana
Jun 11, 2011

fantastic, had a great time

We just relaxed on beach, did a little shopping and ate very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take cab to playa del carmen

Back to menu Return to top